We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious spot of lunch”
Review of The West Bay Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bridport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The West Bay Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Bridport
Certificate of Excellence
Finchampstead
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious spot of lunch”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stopped into The West Bay Hotel when visiting West Bay for the afternoon. We were after some lunch and everywhere else was either full or didn't have enough menu choice.
We had the dog with us so needed shade, the option of brollies in the garden or him being allowed in the bar area was a great start!
We sat in the shade outside and enjoyed a really lovely, good quality lunch. I had scampi and salad and my partner had Lime Bay dived scallops which he said were the best he'd ever had!

If you are in West Bay for the day and fancy some food I would definitely recommend here. It is just along from the main harbour area on station road, about 1-2 min walk.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    61
    18
    12
    6
See reviews for
62
123
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Having needed a local hotel for a night after a party I booked The West Bay after looking online. I didn't really know what to expect and on arrival I was a little panicky. I was expecting a hotel not a pub. We walked into a busy but very friendly pub to be greeted and taken to our room. Still a little nervous I have to say but how wrong I was! The rooms where huge and lovely, crisp white bedding on enormous beds, tea, coffee and local or home made biscuits. Our ensuite was enormous, and beautifully fitted with a large walk in shower. Perfect and now a very happy guest!

After our party we arrived back to have a drink in the bar. (sat night and with a 24 hour Iicence). What a lovely atmosphere. We stayed and chatted to a few others and staff. Perfect end to a perfect day.

I managed to sneak a peak at the other rooms on the way to breakfast the next morning, all as lovely as ours. Breakfast was great and I had freshly caught mackerel, my partner having a huge English breakfast.

Clearly a very popular pub/hotel and I'd definitely come again. A lovely 'escape' hotel with such a warm and friendly atmosphere. Thank you The West Bay, I'm going to be moving in!!! :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We have just spent a wonderful weekend at The West Bay Hotel.
Everyone was very friendly and welcoming. A beautiful traditional pub, lovely modern 5 star accommodation with large comfy beds and large ensuite with walk in shower and to top it all - a huge traditional English breakfast, was one of many options offered.

Room Tip: our room was number 4 - not a sea view but still excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 147Clive43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We've been staying here for years, but this is the first time since the recent refurbishment. I have to say the rooms are very very good now, loads of space, everything new inside, no complaints at all, and the new superking size bed gave us the best nights sleep in a very long time. Breakfast was great (I tried different things each day, from smoked mackerel on toast to the full english, my wife just wanted tomatoes on toast most days as it was so well done) and the restaurant in the evening left us wanting to stay for another week!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fizzy42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Having receivced absolutely shocking service from the Bridport Arms Hotel - see separate review! - across the road, we tried this place. What a difference! Friendly staff, good beer and absolutely oustanding food and service. Ate there every night of our stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

This was the most delicious roast I have ever eaten and
dessert to die for.
Very friendly staff good service and good prices. Massive thick slices of tender meat, gravy that melted in your mouth, roast potatoes out of this world and all for only £10 what more could you want on a Sunday afternoon. I would recommend booking as it gets busy and you wouldn't want to miss out :)

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

After a long morning walk we stopped here for lunch - which was delicious! Good choice - one of our group was looking for veggie options and very much enjoyed the mushroom risotto. i had a superb beef sandwich ::-) Great atmosphere and service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bridport hotels
0.1 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
1.2 mi away
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Bridport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
7.4 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The West Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The West Bay Hotel

Property: The West Bay Hotel
Address: Station Road | West Bay, Bridport DT6 4EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bridport
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Public House overlooking the beach at West Bay, we also have a restaurant specialising in Seafood and locally sourced produce. There are four recently refurbished bed and breakfast rooms with views to the beach and cliffs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The West Bay Hotel Bridport, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing