We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best as always, no reason to stay anywhere else.”
Review of The West Bay Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bridport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The West Bay Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Bridport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We've been staying here for years, but this is the first time since the recent refurbishment. I have to say the rooms are very very good now, loads of space, everything new inside, no complaints at all, and the new superking size bed gave us the best nights sleep in a very long time. Breakfast was great (I tried different things each day, from smoked mackerel on toast to the full english, my wife just wanted tomatoes on toast most days as it was so well done) and the restaurant in the evening left us wanting to stay for another week!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fizzy42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 299 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

Having receivced absolutely shocking service from the Bridport Arms Hotel - see separate review! - across the road, we tried this place. What a difference! Friendly staff, good beer and absolutely oustanding food and service. Ate there every night of our stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Danny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This was the most delicious roast I have ever eaten and
dessert to die for.
Very friendly staff good service and good prices. Massive thick slices of tender meat, gravy that melted in your mouth, roast potatoes out of this world and all for only £10 what more could you want on a Sunday afternoon. I would recommend booking as it gets busy and you wouldn't want to miss out :)

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

After a long morning walk we stopped here for lunch - which was delicious! Good choice - one of our group was looking for veggie options and very much enjoyed the mushroom risotto. i had a superb beef sandwich ::-) Great atmosphere and service.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank vivo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This hostelry doesn't really fit into any category. The recently upgraded room was comfortable & the adjoining bathroom spacious. The TV is up to date & internet access satisfactory. The single glazed windows are fine at this time of year but ... Breakfast was as requested and well prepared, but a little later than I would like as serving time is from 8:30 to 9:30. As for the restaurant, the food selection is very good and the quality of preparation & service equally commendable. Basically, this is an older style pub / hotel with good food & drink and a decent room upstairs.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Came here for dinner as a treat and loved it. Instead of having starter and main we decided to treat ourselves to an expensive main which we would normally so for a cheaper dish. I had the surf and turf which is steak and lobster, i had never tried lobster before and i really really enjoyed it. Also my steak was cooked perfectly medium! Best bit about the meal though was my sticky toffee pudding, so so good!
Its not the cheapest place to eat but you are paying for quality which makes it totally worth it

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank Lotty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We've recently moved to Bridport and this is our favourite restaurant. We've always had fish dishes and never been disappointed, perfectly cooked and the most amazing sauces. The desserts are to die for and they don't mind if you share one. Dogs are allowed in the bar area where you can also dine. They have their own car park and we've left the car overnight to collect the next day - gives us a chance to walk off the pudding.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridport
1.6 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
909 reviews
0.1 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
524 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Bridport
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Greyhound
The Greyhound
#9 of 10 in Bridport
126 reviews
10.6 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The West Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The West Bay Hotel

Address: Station Road | West Bay, Bridport DT6 4EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Bridport
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Public House overlooking the beach at West Bay, we also have a restaurant specialising in Seafood and locally sourced produce. There are four recently refurbished bed and breakfast rooms with views to the beach and cliffs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The West Bay Hotel Bridport, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing