We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good friendly place to stay”
Review of The West Bay Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bridport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The West Bay Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Bridport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed at the West Bay for two days and thought it was really nice.

The room was lovely. Large and very nicely decorated and the bed was very comfortable.

The restaurant is excellent. The menu is mainly fish, which is cooked and presented really nicely although there are steaks and other items on the menu.

Staff were very welcoming and friendly. We will certainly be going back.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back. Next time we would try for a room at the front only for a sea view (over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 293 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have not stayed at this hotel so cannot comment on that aspect. This review is about the restaurant only.

We were advised by our daughter who lives in the village that booking would be advisable if we wanted to eat here with her, even though it was well out of season (late October). She was right, and we were glad we reserved a table the day before we arrived on Saturday lunchtime. The menu is overwhelming in terms of the choice available, which is not restricted to the menu itself but also includes several 'specials' on various boards around the restaurant. And this was jsut the lunch menu. Heavens knows what the evening one must be like.

The sea food is gorgeous, but so was everything else we ordered. They also know how to keep their beer and cider, and there is a good choice. We lingered long over our meal, there was no pressure from staff even though people kept arriving for tables. The service was good and the staff friendly.

And to cap it all, the location of this lovely little place is only a stone's throw from the sea. You can go for a walk over the cliffs afterwards to reduce guilty feelings about having over-indulged!

It's by no means the cheapest place to eat, but for this level of quality you would hardly expect it to be. Well recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BillAndCoo186298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

well,once again we had a holiday in WEST BAY and once again revisited the West bay hotel and yes once again we could not have been more satisfied.
we dined at the West Bay 3 times last week ,on the the last day i chose the crab salad which turned out to be a whole crab shell and all ( with the nasty bits taken out of course ) AND IT REALLY WAS DELICIOUS -cant wait till next year

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

From the exterior you could not be blamed for passing this place by. It has no endearing features whatsoever. However, trust me, step inside to be greeted by a typical comfortable pub with large restaurant area. You will be greeted by very friendly staff, a good selection of cask beers and a seafood menu that looks very tempting. The food is excellent quality and the seafood dishes are imaginative, generous and use fresh fish mostly caught locally.
Stay the night, the rooms have been modernised with bright and generous bathrooms, large and comfortable bed. Rooms are clean and well appointed and quiet as the pub trade is usually over by 1030. A walk across the car park takes you directly onto the beach and you are only a very short walk from the harbour in West Bay.
Remember, don't be put off by the exterior!

Room Tip: Front rooms overlook the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is the second time we have dined here and once again we had an outstanding meal. The staff are very good and attentive. The fish and sea food was fresh and very delicious. We will be back again soon.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank MarinaBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Excellent food ate here Friday & Saturday but a bit let down my the service. Had to go to the bar twice for are drinks on both nights but on the plus side we had two free rounds of drinks one on each night which i guess they forgot two put on our bill because i went too the bar and i was not going to point this out so £32 in our pocket. Also one drink a Barcardi & coke was served with flat coke which the bar man was reluctant to change there coke is out of 2 litre bottles not draft and ours was the dregs of the bottle so not very professional. Apart from that can not fault the place or the food it was fantastic and good value

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank DaveTreble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend as we had a christening to attend near by,food was excellent and offering good size portions for a reasonable price,hotel room was everything we could ask for if not better,the bed was really comfy and spacious as was the room on a whole,Paul and Tracey were very accommodating throughout our stay!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandonstelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridport
0.1 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
516 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
848 reviews
1.2 mi away
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Bridport
174 reviews
10.6 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
376 reviews
7.4 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The West Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The West Bay Hotel

Address: Station Road | West Bay, Bridport DT6 4EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bridport
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Public House overlooking the beach at West Bay, we also have a restaurant specialising in Seafood and locally sourced produce. There are four recently refurbished bed and breakfast rooms with views to the beach and cliffs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The West Bay Hotel Bridport, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing