We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic thatched farmhouse nestled in the rolling Dorset hills”

Harmshay Farm B & B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harmshay Farm B & B
Ranked #51 of 61 Bridport B&B and Inns
Gatwick
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic thatched farmhouse nestled in the rolling Dorset hills”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2010

We experienced a warm welcome from Tina & Dave. It was great to chat to other motorcycling enthusiasts. Although this is a working farm it is very quiet and secluded away from the road. The substantial full English breakfast set us up for the day. Our room was clean and comfortable and a real joy to come back to after a day of exploring the iconic charms of Lyme Regis. We were privileged to witness a new addition to the herd during our stay. The Bottle Inn, just across the road,is normally open at this time but is under going refurbishment and is due to re open end of April 2010. On our next visit to Harmshay Farm we will pay the Bottle Inn a visit.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onewheelrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
kingston, london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2009

Tina and Dave have painstakingly restored this Elizabethan thatched farmhouse that retains much of its originality ,splendour and beauty..The house is located down a secluded track that opens to a farm yard and four hundred year barn (their next project ) that adds to the atmospheric feel of Hardy's Dorset. The views of the vale stretch miles in all directions ,through to the coast on a clear day with abudant walks from the doorstep. Tina and Dave offer their help on everything from warming wet shoes to details of a decent local pub, to plying you with their store of figs from the garden trees.. (their local, a few hudred yards walk was unfortunately closed when we stayed but is to reopen in the next six months - ,we checked with the owner and is a 15th century 'wonderment' at present.) However, other hostelries abound local to the house (2.5 miles ) with furthur choice in the larger towns by the sea and in the country . (5 miles away) . We had the cheaper room, a cute, sizeable bedroom at the rear of the house all nooks and crannies with white plaster and old beams with an ancient oak door. The huge room with high beamed ceiling is the 'master' but had been snapped up and this is some room to see. All the rooms i think have new flat screen tvs and importantly ,though the feel of the house is very much of its age it is spottlessly clean and tidy. Tina dishes up whatever you want really. We had 'the traditional' with big pots of tea and coffee, served as the light was streaming through the quaint old window in the spacious dining area. You get your own key and entrance and are not bothered at all ,unless you want it. ........ Spot on and value for money. ---- basically , if you don't like this,you dont like much in our opinion and you certainly don't like the magic that is Dorset.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pompey25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2009

We stayed in the en-suite room, which was just great.. It was spacious, clean and comfortable with a lovely view of the garden.
The hosts, Tina and David provided an excellent breakfast, left us to our own devices and provided local tourist information so we were able to visit all the beautiful surronding towns, villages and seaside walks.
A relaxing and peaceful setting I would recommend

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryE11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2009

We had a wonderful two night stay at Harmshay in the en-suite room which was fabulous. The attention to detail was great - there was even a proper hairdryer not one of those little things that gently puffs at you! Tina and Dave were great. Breakfast was fab. The garden was lovely. Put simply: we couldn't fault it and we will be having a return visit. Finally, it was also excellent value for money - only £65 per night.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scoopWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2009

Tina and Dave were excellent hosts, making us feel really welcome. They kindly chilled the bottle of bubbly we took along, which we spent a very pleasant evening drinking in the garden. The surrounding views are stunning and it is only a 10/15 minute drive to Lyme Regis. The fuel down there is extortionate, but we drove through Axminster to get fuel from a "well known supermarket". 5p/ltr cheaper than any other garage in the vicinity!

It is only a few minutes walk to the Bottle Inn (Take a torch). Another warm welcome and despite the premises looking a bit shoddy the food is excellent.

We stayed in the only en-suite room at Harmshay, which was really lovely. The photo on the website does not do it justice.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corky1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2008

My Husband and I stopped here mid week as we were going to River Cottage for an evening.

There are 3 choices of room, we stopped in the cheapest £50, and there are two others, £55 and £60. Only the £60 has en-suite and the other two rooms share a bathroom.

For the area these prices are extremely cheap, we did a lot of looking around and £70 + was average.

Our room had everything we needed, it was clean, bright and also had a sink! The bedding is a little dated but this was not a problem for us, it was spotlessley clean and very comfy! What more do you need?! This room i would describe as basic though so if you want something with a little of a "wow" factor you may prefer the other two rooms....

We did take a look at the other two rooms and they were gorgeous, huge ceilings, lovely decor, the room with en-suite was really really lovely!

The hosts are very friendly, it was easy to find, its the turning the sign is actually on.

The best thing was the breakfast! It was fresh, hot and plenty of it! Probably the best we have ever had in a B and B!

Its about a 10 min car journey to River Cottage, so a very handy location!

  • Liked — The Breakfast
  • Disliked — The fact we had to go home!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Angie_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bridport hotels
0.0 mi away
Halsons Bed and Breakfast
Halsons Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Morcombelake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wheelwrights Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.0 mi away
Newlands Holidays
Newlands Holidays
#2 of 5 in Charmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harmshay Farm B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmshay Farm B & B

Property: Harmshay Farm B & B
Address: | Marshwood, Bridport, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Bridport
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Harmshay Farm B & B Bridport, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing