We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We are lucky to have this so locally”
Review of Bridge House

Bridge House
Ranked #7 of 14 Restaurants in Beaminster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Dorset has many fine eateries, but you'd be missing out if you didn't give the Beaminster Brasserie, at the BridgeHouse Hotel, a try. Imagine the finest West Dorset produce from its luscious fields and bountiful sea served up in an historic setting with professionalism and passion. Whether you're looking for a quick, light, healthy bite, a delectable dinner or the best of the best business lunches, then you'll find it here. Our brasserie is beautifully chic, relaxed and with a lively atmosphere. You can choose from three unique eating areas: a candle lit dining room, Georgian panelled with conservatory; The Sun Room conservatory dining; And our wonderfully Mediterranean al fresco dining area overlooking the walled garden. Our manager Brendon Matthews and head chef Steve Pielesz have a great rapport which creates an original, tasteful dining experience. Together they have established a great following in this newly discovered, foodie destination of West Dorset. Steve's fabulous modern cuisine and our exclusive award winning wine list is perfectly complemented by the ideal setting. The restaurant is also a great choice for wedding receptions, group dining and entertaining.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“We are lucky to have this so locally”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is a special occasion restaurant for us that we have used many times. The food has always been exceptional. We did have one meal where the service did not reflect the quality of the food. I did bring it to the attention of the manager who was very apologetic and offered us a complimentary large glass of wine each. My only other slight complaint would be the service charge added to the bill. This is a particular gripe of mine at any restaurant. We have never quibbled this as the service most of the time has been excellent. I wish though the tip could be left to the discretion of the of the customer. I may be talking out of turn as we haven't been in yet this year so they may have dispensed with this formality.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    40
    18
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Food, Poor Man Management”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Upon entering this establishment we were welcomed by the restaurant manager....... well manager is a strong word, although he was pleasant to us it seemed he had issues with other members of staff and that seemed to bring the atmosphere in the restaurant down a little. The food was absolutely delightful, I had the steak which was cooked to perfection. The waitress was very pleasant and service was impeccable. Working in the trade i can understand how difficult it can be to run a smooth restaurant so i must give kudos to the restaurant manager but he can most certainly work on his man management as the staff were lacking morale it seemed

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“recommeded”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Nice atmosphere (we eat outside under the gazebo as the weather was great) , good food and service. would eat here again and recommend it to anyone else.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank screamingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were staying in a rented house in Beaminster in mid july and walked by the hotel one afternoon on our way back from the shops - i was attracted by the sign outside advertising al fresco dining and as we were (unbelievably) in the middle of a heatwave , i popped my head in and asked if they had a spare table - the hosts showed me the covered dining area and we booked a table for four the next evening .

When we arrived we were sat in the garden and offered a drink and the menus ,i ordered scallops to start - fantastic - perfectly cooked and well presented , followed by rump of lamb with cous cous and a lemon tart to finish - it was wonderful from start to finish . I cant fault the food at all . Service was diligent but discreet , and we had a lovely evening . Im so glad we happened to walk by and spot it . It wasnt cheap , £212 for 4 people having 3 courses each plus a few glasses of pimms , wine etc but a truly wonderful find and worth every penny .

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dougnjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Elegant Dining”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were invited to lunch before attending a session at the Beaminster Festival. Bridge House offers small parlours for people to await the rest of their party, or have a post dinner drink together. We 5 seniors all chose the salmon dish and were delighted with our meal. Great wine list, and exquisite desserts to follow. Friendly attentive staff, crisp white tablecloths and tables far enough apart, enhanced the experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bomford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bridge House also viewed

Beaminster, Dorset
 
Beaminster, Dorset
 

Been to Bridge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing