We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always fabulous!”
Review of Bridge House

Bridge House
Ranked #6 of 14 Restaurants in Beaminster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $44
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Dorset has many fine eateries, but you'd be missing out if you didn't give the Beaminster Brasserie, at the BridgeHouse Hotel, a try. Imagine the finest West Dorset produce from its luscious fields and bountiful sea served up in an historic setting with professionalism and passion. Whether you're looking for a quick, light, healthy bite, a delectable dinner or the best of the best business lunches, then you'll find it here. Our brasserie is beautifully chic, relaxed and with a lively atmosphere. You can choose from three unique eating areas: a candle lit dining room, Georgian panelled with conservatory; The Sun Room conservatory dining; And our wonderfully Mediterranean al fresco dining area overlooking the walled garden. Our manager Brendon Matthews and head chef Steve Pielesz have a great rapport which creates an original, tasteful dining experience. Together they have established a great following in this newly discovered, foodie destination of West Dorset. Steve's fabulous modern cuisine and our exclusive award winning wine list is perfectly complemented by the ideal setting. The restaurant is also a great choice for wedding receptions, group dining and entertaining.
Dorset uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always fabulous!”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

One of our local restaurants and they never fail to deliver. From service to food its always 5 star and more! The only down side to a visit is that we do not retire to one of the lush rooms after a meal, simply because we are local. I always feel so relaxed after coming out of here...LOVE IT!!!!! :)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank cupcakeclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    39
    18
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
107 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A very poor restaurant”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Having hoped the restaurant might improve, we have given up going. The menu sounds good but the food which arrives is poorly or badly cooked. Fish cannot be taken off the bone by the chef and one of our friends was given a fish mash. Sitting room is very tiny and in winter the smell of logs permeates the establishment. The dining room is cramped so you hear the conversations of all around.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexandra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BridgeHouseHotel, Owner at Bridge House, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Dear Customer,
Very harsh words. But judging some of your other reviews we have escaped lightly. For such an esteemed, prolific and stern critic you leave little constructive grounds for us to respond.

Head Chef, Stephen, has no re-collection of a complaint being made about your fish. Presumably, you did express your dissatisfaction at the time. With 25 years experience, Steve is eminently capable of filleting a fish. His only suggestion was that if you had asked for a whole plaice to be filleted once cooked, as this is almost impossible to achieve. We are similarly baffled by the ‘fish mash’ comment.

As for the restaurant and environment, then we believe your view is very subjective. Much of the building is Medieval and there is little we could or would want to change about that. It is one of the reasons our customers choose us over anodyne, modern restaurants. The main restaurant was remodelled in Georgian times with wood panelling which we could not improve on. The BridgeHouse was built originally as a priests’ house. The sitting room and bar are unapologetically small seating up to 25 people comfortably and give the hotel a very cosy feel.

You may also have read that this part of Dorset suffered terrible flooding recently and this can cause the inglenook fireplace to smell of soot. I would not say it pervades the entire building. However, we were unaware of the problem and will light a fire in order to eradicate.

We will obviously look at spacing in the restaurant although I have never found other peoples’ conversations a problem when dining there. Fortunately, there are several choices of dining area at the hotel. The main restaurant offers intimate, quality dining. The adjacent conservatory is ideal for smaller, private parties. The Sun Room is a large conservatory extending into the garden while the alfresco dining areas offers acres of covered space overlooking the walled garden. We believe there is something for everyone wanting unpretentious, relaxed, brasserie dining.

Finally, our food is neither poorly nor badly cooked – a generalised accusation which, like your summary headline, is totally inaccurate and we flatly reject.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unexpected excellence”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Chef consulted with us prior to dnner guests arriving. Bon mouche served with pre-dinner drinks and petit fours with coffee in cosy sitting room afterwards.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ludovic22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Evening”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We booked our party of 14 wine enthusiasts into the restaurant as part of our Dorset wine weekend. The chef and front of house manager were both extremely helpful in organising the evening which took place in the conservatory - which has a great view of the impressive garden - of which we were the sole occupants

The entire evening was agreat success, the food was of a very high standard, beautifully served, the staff were extremely attentive and the chef received a deserved round of applause. Delivering 14 dishes, x3 is never easy, and he did it magnificently. We enjoyed taking our coffee into the lounge at the end of the evening - and the super chocolates!

Oh and the wine list is good too! Extensive and imaginative.

We will return.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wineaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good start, then faded”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We booked a table for our wedding anniversary, after a day in North Dorset. We arrived quite hot & sweaty after a glorious summers day. There were no cloakrooms, so we used the loos to freshen up and change. The lady who looked after us pre-meal was excellent, as were the nibbles.
The menu was OK, but they struggled to cope with one or two changes enforced by my wife's allergies.
The dining room was cramped and the chairs uncomfortable, there was very little room, even though less than half full.
When the food arrived it was well presented but unimaginatively cooked,and they served my wife entirely the wrong main course. A replacement was offered, but with an understandable but unacceptable delay. in the end we were merely offered a reduction to the bill, which when it came, was far too high for the quality of food served and service given.
Dorset has many restaurants that offer better for less.

I doubt I would visit again. Which is a shame as it put a bit of a dampener on what was otherwise a very special day.

Yalbury Cottage in future. One lives and learns.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bridge House also viewed

Beaminster, Dorset
 
Beaminster, Dorset
 
Stoke Abbott, Dorset
 

Been to Bridge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing