We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Friend's 50th Birthday Weekend”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of Albert Cottage

Albert Cottage, charming listed 2 bedroom character cottage.Large Bedroom with bespoke King size bed
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Albert Cottage, charming listed 2 bedroom character cottage.Large Bedroom with bespoke King size bed
Albert cottage;detached with 2 entrances. Secure gate leads to pretty walled garden.Private parkin Living room with plenty of comfortable seating, large Freesat TV and DVD player, i pod/MP3 dock
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Albert Cottage, charming listed 2 bedroom character cottage.Large Bedroom with bespoke King size bed
Albert cottage;detached with 2 entrances. Secure gate leads to pretty walled garden.Private parkin
Living room with plenty of comfortable seating, large Freesat TV and DVD player, i pod/MP3 dock
Living Room, with small table and chairs. Selection of DVD's, toys, maps,guides, books,
Master bedroom, with TV with Freesat and DVD player. High quality comfortable king size mattress
Kitchen with gas hob and electric oven, fridge, dishwasher, microwave, slow cooker, cafetiere.
Second bedroom with two 3ft single beds, comfortable quality mattresses. Freesat TV and DVD player
Freezer and tumble dryer located in utility building opposite kitchen.
Dining room with plenty of seating
Family bathroom with power shower and bath
Very spacious room with additional 3ft single bed
The kitchen is very well equipped with high quality appliances and equipment
Beautiful Japonica on front wall of cottage
View from bedroom of cottage, the town center is a few minutes stroll away
Several seating areas in beautifully stocked garden
Private enclosed walled garden, pets welcome
View of beautiful surrounding countryside from the top of sun-trap garden. Patio area with BBQ
Beaminster's Historic Square, a few minutes from Albert Cottage
St Mary's Church, in the historic center of Beaminster with amazing 16th century tower
View of beautiful surrounding countryside from Albert Cottage
View of Historic Beaminster from Albert Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Beaminster, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anne L
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Friend's 50th Birthday Weekend”
Reviewed November 26, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We spent a wonderful weekend here in Albert Cottage, so celebrate our friend's 50th birthday. The cottage was beautifully decorated, very inviting and well equipped with everything we needed. We enjoyed being able to walk into the little town of Beaminster, for coffee and a browse around the local shops. The short drive down to West Bay was definitely worth a trip, made even more enjoyable by the sunshine and a walk along the cliff tops.
In Beaminster, there were a number of local places to eat, and we enjoyed a good meal in Brassica.
Lyme Regis is only a 25 minute drive, so we spent Sunday morning there before heading home to Hampshire.
Overall a wonderful place to stay especially as Elaine and John are such generous, welcoming people! Thank you!! Look forward to returning soon!!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stéphanie...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, well equipped and ideally situated”
Reviewed October 30, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The cottage is big, beautifully furnished and very well equipped. Ideal with children (plenty of room to run around) and dogs (no carpets and a a secured garden), it is 2 minutes away from tea houses, pubs and restaurants so there was plenty to do even on a rainy day (excellent lunch at the very welcoming Red Lion). As it is close to the coast we were able to go to a new beach every day and also visited the beautiful Forde Abbey nearby. A fantastic stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Striddler
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Welcoming cottage accommodation”
Reviewed September 9, 2015 for a stay in October 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Albert Cottage with our two dogs.

It is ideally located near the centre of Beaminster, a short walk away from local shops and amenities. Beaminster itself also makes an excellent base for exploring the surrounding area.

The property itself has been renovated to a good standard whilst maintaining its traditional charm. The kitchen is well equipped and there is a separate dining area in addition to the living room. Having one small dog with a propensity for escaping, we really appreciated the secure garden. We visited in Autumn but can see that it would make a great space to enjoy eating outside in the summer.

The master bedroom was our favourite room as it manages to be spacious and cosy. The bathroom is clean and modern.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ian m
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A wonderful cottage”
Reviewed July 18, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A lovely and relaxing cottage, ideal for dogs as the garden is fully enclosed, our 2 dogs really enjoyed themselves. The cottage has everything you need and is just a short stroll to the centre of Beaminster, also ideally located for easy access to the coast. A definite must for a return next year. the owners are very friendly and cannot do enough for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hélène M
Lille, France
1 review
“An ideal destination”
Reviewed May 7, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had a wonderful time at Albert Cottage. The house is very clean, comfortable, and fully equipped. Our daughters enjoyed the enclosed garden and the toys, books and games provided by the owners, who were really nice and friendly, like all the people we have met in Dorset. We will definitely come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendyann5...
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“We struck gold!”
Reviewed April 25, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

A very last minute booking and how lucky we were there was availability at this delightful cottage. Last minute emails and phone calls were dealt with very promptly. John, the owner could not have been more helpful. The small town of Beaminster is a perfect setting and near to the beautiful coast. The cottage itself is very homely and fantastically equipped with everything you will need. Having a washing machine is a great bonus too. The master bedroom is huge and the bed very comfortable. The second bedroom is compact, which might be a problem for two couples. However my son and his wife joined us for the weekend and there was plenty of space in the room for them.The garden is lovely with two seating areas and we were blessed with unusually good weather to be able to make use of them. Having little extras provided like loo rolls, washing up liquid, hand soap is very useful when self catering. Not to mention milk, tea and coffee for when you arrive. Wifi is another bonus. So all in all you would struggle to find better and feel comfortable and relaxed in a holiday cottage. We needed a tonic and that's exactly what we got.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles M
1 review
“Well Equipped Cottage in a superb location”
Reviewed April 6, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed at the Cottage for week in March 2015 and can thoroughly recommend it! It is well equipped with everything guests are likely to need--all the equipment is modern, good quality and almost new! The cottage was spotless on arrival and we immediately felt at home as it was extremely comfortable.
The town of Beaminster is a good base to explore the Jurassic Coast and has enough shops, pubs, retaurants etc to make it uneccessary to wander too far if the mood takes or the weather is not kind to you!
The owners take a peronal interest in the property and are very friendly and do their utmost to ensure the stay is both comfortable and trouble free--the leaving of milk, tea coffeee and biscuits was most welcome on arrival!
I am pleased to say that the weather was terrific for the time of year and we got out and about for each day of our weeks stay and found many interesting places nearby such as Bridport and West Bay, Lyme Regis, Durdle Door and National Trust properies such as Hardys Cottage, Montacute House and Clouds Hill together with the NT coastal areas nearby such as Golden Cap and Burton Bradstock--it all added up to a very satisfying weeks stay!
We can thoroughly recommend Albert Cottage as a place to stay if you wish to explore the Jurassic Coast and environs!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and how welll kept the property was!
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing