We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Hillview Cottage

Hillview Cottage from the private garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hillview Cottage from the private garden
Cozy sitting room with wood burner and flat screen TV Cozy sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Hillview Cottage from the private garden
Cozy sitting room with wood burner and flat screen TV
Cozy sitting room
Bright sunny garden room with double doors leading onto patio and garden
Bright sunny garden room
Bright sunny garden room
Fully equipped eat-in farmhouse kitchen with AGA
Fully equipped eat-in farmhouse kitchen with AGA
Upstairs passage
Bedroom 2 with twin beds
Bedroom 2 with twin beds
Main bedroom with kingsize bed
Main bedroom with kingsize bed
Bedroom 1 with twin beds
Modern bathroom with bath, large walk in shower, basin, toilet and heated towel rail
Modern bathroom with bath, large walk in shower, basin, toilet and heated towel rail
Front of cottage on quiet country lane
Sunny private garden with summer house and views over beautiful Dorset countryside
View of cottage from garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Beaminster, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lawrence...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed December 27, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We spent a fantastic Christmas at Hillview. The cottage is very spacious (we were a party of 6 adults) and well equipped - had everything we needed for Christmas lunch. We were quite nervous about the Aga but the instructions in the cottage and the tips from Clare (the manager) were very helpful. We were made to feel right at home (a Christmas tree was bought for us) and had a lovely time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 29, 2016
We are so pleased your party enjoyed Christmas in Hillview Cottage!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjr202
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage and peaceful location”
Reviewed October 18, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

An absolutely lovely cottage, it was very comfortable for the 5 of us and offered lots of space downstairs split between a big kitchen, garden room and lounge area. You could easily have different things going on without disturbing one another or come together socially.
The extension garden room is lovely, with views over the garden and nearby hills it catches the sun in the morning too.
The cottage has everything you need and using the AGA didnt take long to master and always meant a warm entrance when you'd been out for the day.
Its quite a walk to any pub or shop so car is needed but there is plenty in the region.
I think it would have been a nice touch to have a welcome basket with some basics and local goods in even if it meant a slight price increase as those sort of things are a nice touch after a long drive, having said that the house is excellent, clean and you will certainly have a nice time staying here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 20, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in Hillview Cottage. I appreciate your feedback about providing a welcome basket beyond the tea and coffee which we currently provide, and we will look into this.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris J
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely rustic setting”
Reviewed August 30, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Was very impressed with house it had brilliant facilities with a fantastic garden which we really enjoyed with our family who were staying in the local area, attending the big wedding. The downstairs is a really nice family space. The aga took a little getting used to but when we worked it out it cooked really well. Having two showers made getting really in the morning a lot easier. as there were 6 adults staying. We would definatley come back again the next time we are visiting our family in somerset.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
321GT
Berkshire uk
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Spacious, clean and comfortable - excellent holiday”
Reviewed August 30, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Hillview cottage as a family of six during August 2016. The cottage represents value for money and is spacious, very clean and comfortable. Some points worth noting (and to pick up what other reviewers have said):

- communication with the owner and housekeeper were absolutely excellent. We were advised of road closures prior to our departure and were greeted on arrival, plus the housekeepers returned from work to open up for us when we accidently left something behind. Quick and friendly responses - thank you
- the property is clean and incredibly spacious and comfortable. We felt very much at home
- it is isolated, but that is part of the attraction, but on the plus side you can get away from it all, yet visit lots of places (we went to Dorset, Somerset and Wiltshire) all within an hours drive and Bridport is just 10 mins away
- loved the Aga. So simple to use and you really don't need either a toaster or electric kettle. All done on or in the Aga in the same time.
- we were there in 'summer' and the kitchen can get a bit warm, but there are other rooms and big doors opening to the garden
- I would imagine this cottage would also be wonderful in Autumn and winter - so cosy
- lovely garden to play in
- for X-box / PS mad teenagers - this cottage represents a compromise. There is a PS2 with some games, so enough to keep them happy, but not enough that mum and dad can't entice them away to play board games in the kitchen! The cottage has DVDs, a chess set and games to borrow

We would definitely return and recommend this to others.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset401
Wendover, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful location”
Reviewed September 26, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Hill view is situated in delightful peaceful setting .accommodation downstairs is large with lots of comfortable seating. Upstairs is smaller but adequate. Only means of cooking and boiling a kettle is the aga,there is a bread maker but no toaster which would have been useful.
It is the first holiday cottage we have stayed where there is no welcome pack eg. Milk etc. Something to bear in mind if arriving late , also no tea towels provided and no one to greet us despite ringing prior to arrival as requested.
We enjoyed our stay very much but if staying in warm weather remember the aga is in constant use .

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 21, 2015
Thank you for your positive review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay in Hillview Cottage.

The AGA is fabulous for all cooking needs, including making toast and boiling the kettle. Our cottage guide includes details on how to use the AGA and there are a number of AGA recipe books to provide guests with additional ideas. The kitchen is also equipped a microwave.

Tea towels are provided as standard. If any items are missing, our housekeepers will provide them. Contact numbers are provided by email prior to arrival.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel K
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful and comfortable cottage in a peaceful setting”
Reviewed November 11, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely half-term holiday at this beautiful and comfortable cottage. The setting is extremely peaceful and the cottage has a pretty garden which would be lovely in the summer. Our girls (aged 4 and 7) loved exploring the garden and the nearby wood. The main attractions of this part of the country (Lyme Regis, West Bay, Dorchester etc) are only a short drive away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The cottage has lots of period character but is nevertheless very comfortable
Liked least: The cleaners were still cleaning the property when we arrived at 4pm.
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 12, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing