We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good meal, quaint pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Greyhound Inn

The Greyhound Inn
Ranked #5 of 14 Restaurants in Beaminster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
Description: Deep in the heart of Dorset lies the market town of Beaminster. The Greyhound is located on the market square in the town centre. This traditional pub prides itself on the excellent home cooked food and real ales. The pub is very much family orientated and dog friendly. With an open fire and extra seating tucked away in the snug this gorgeous little pub truly has something for everyone.If you are looking for somewhere to eat, or just a nice quiet drink, the Greyhound is the place to come. Gail and Brian look forward to welcoming you to the Greyhound soon.
Beaminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good meal, quaint pub”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Very busy Saturday night and the pub was very full but quick service and good food, what more could you ask for?

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindylou1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    34
    13
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great pub”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

If you are looking for great food a warm welcome and a nice atmosphere then you will enjoy the Greyhound Inn. We visited Beaminster last week and had two great meals at the Greyhound Inn. The Landlord was very helpful recommending other good pubs in the area to try and various trips and places of interest.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mahoneee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely owners, chef needs to find the salt & pepper”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

First choice was fully booked so we travelled on to Beaminster, not much choice however chose the Greyhound due to reviews. Lovely welcome from owners, small area for food. Food was average, ok for a pub however totally lacked seasoning.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HPsaucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe D, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit, and your review of your experience. We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We check every table to make sure that everything is to your satisfaction, and were unfortunately not made aware of this problem, and therefore could not rectify it.

We hope you will give us a further opportunity to impress and would welcome you making yourself known so that we can identify our seasoning problem, and ensure that it does not happen again.

Thank you once again for your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Greyhound soon

Chris & Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“What a Gem!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Fabulous Meal! Excellent Host! Great Service! Plenty of choice on the menu for adults and children alike. We were a party of seven and the meals all arrived at the same time - well done to the Chef!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank HelloDolly1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“SAVED OUR DAY”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

After a tiring trip round the Dorset lanes trying to find somwhere to eat, we found Beaminster
One of the other publicans in the town recommended it as being good for food

So it proved, nice landlord, nice people serving, even nice locals who recommended what to eat. That was difficult because they recommended different things.Our first choice had sold out but no matter because our garlic mushroom starter was great and our salmon and prawns main was also good

A bit squashed perhaps but that added to the atmosphere. Nice pint and a nice cider too

Went in feeing a bit fed up and came out feeling happy

Sensible prices too . I would recommend it

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heller_philip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Greyhound Inn also viewed

Beaminster, Dorset
 
Beaminster, Dorset
Beaminster, Dorset
 

Been to The Greyhound Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing