We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Great Hotel”
Review of Bridge House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bridge House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaminster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2010

We picked this hotel at random looking for a base to spend a few days in Doreset and what a great hotel we found. It has a really interesting history being a 13th centuary priest house but a recent, completely modernised interior. The greeting by the staff ...was fantastic and they went out of their way to help and provide what we wanted making our stay really enjoyable. We ate at their Brasserie restaurant for dinner twice and were impressed by the quality of the food and cooking. The wine list was pretty good too. They had a mexican red (I didn't know Mexico prodeced wine)and it tasted great. Although our courtyard room would be considered modest in size it was spotless and very comfortable and the room tarrif was very good. I would really recomend this hotel as a great place to stay whether passing through or using it as a base to explore east Dorset.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterEsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

515 - 521 of 542 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2010

We stayed for one night as we wanted a stopping-off place on the way home from Cornwall. The hotel is quite a nice old building and the garden is pleasant to sit in, although it could be better cared for. Breakfast was good - definitely better than the average. Our ground floor room (no 11) was fairly comfortable and quiet, but neither large nor characterful, and looked out onto the gravelly car park. All in all, this would have been reasonable at around half the price, but it was nowhere near worth £130 a night. I have stayed in far better places for considerably less.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank general_ludd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

We booked on spec as this was the only reasonable-looking hotel half-way between holidy and meetings.
Very friendly and helpful staff, well appointed rooms, and a splendid restaurant.
The two nights wer stayed were singularly hot and humid, so a fan or air conditioning would have been a nice extra, but all things considered, not a problem.
The comfort, service and friendlines can't be exaggerated - they really raise this excellent hotel into a "destination hotel" to use a modern phrase.
When next in the area, we'll be staying there again - no doubt at all.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike_from_Wirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

Beaminster is a lovely place and the Bridge House, with its many interesting features and excellent peaceful walled garden is a prefect place to stay. The staff were very helpful and friendly, rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfast was great. We didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening as we were booked in at Wild Garlic but the food looked good so we plan to go back to try it out.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purpleTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

Decided to take the family for a meal as they were staying locally and wanted somewhere for an evening meal. Firstly, I have no complaints concerning the quality of the food - it was well cooked, tasty and good portions although the skate was supposed to have shrimps with it but they were missing. My main criticism would be with the quality of the service. No english mustard, had to ask twice for the wine that was ordered, and finally was told we had to wait 20 minutes for our desert as the restaurant was busy. Actually only half the tables were occupied, so i am not sure what it would be like on a really busy evening. All in all a most disappointing experience.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelbeyondtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

This is the room where the ensuite bathroom is directly over the kitchen, so you get noise from the extractor and the work going on beneath you, and if you open the windows on that side you get the smells. It was a pretty room but not relaxing, and even the lovely sheets and big towels with a couple of little bottles of nice Molton Brown stuff didn't make it worth £180 per night for b&b. We didn't eat in the hotel, though have often had lunch there in the past which we have enjoyed. Breakfast had a huge choice, but service on Saturday morning was erratic and orders weren't taken for 10 or 25 minutes, but it was spot on on Sunday.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2010

Really liked this place - dinner was lovely, breakfast delicious, lovely big room with a HUGE bed. Had a problem with the toilet cistern but they sorted it out straight away.
Everyone was really friendly - this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fairydust222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaminster
6.1 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
926 reviews
6.7 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
515 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
376 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Bridport
174 reviews
6.4 mi away
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge House Hotel

Address: 3 Prout Bridge, Beaminster DT8 3AY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Beaminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaminster
Price Range: $131 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridge House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorset Hotel of the Year 2013/14. Stunning 13th Century former priests' house within pretty town - Beaminster. Thirteen luxury bedrooms all with Italian linen, Molton Brown & flat screen tvs. Taste of the West Gold award winner & 2 AA Rosettes. Al fresco dining in summer overlooking a pretty, walled garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bridge House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel Beaminster
Bridge House Hotel Beaminster, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing