We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't book room 9”
Review of Bridge House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bridge House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaminster
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't book room 9”
Reviewed June 21, 2010

This is the room where the ensuite bathroom is directly over the kitchen, so you get noise from the extractor and the work going on beneath you, and if you open the windows on that side you get the smells. It was a pretty room but not relaxing, and even the lovely sheets and big towels with a couple of little bottles of nice Molton Brown stuff didn't make it worth £180 per night for b&b. We didn't eat in the hotel, though have often had lunch there in the past which we have enjoyed. Breakfast had a huge choice, but service on Saturday morning was erratic and orders weren't taken for 10 or 25 minutes, but it was spot on on Sunday.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    129
    51
    8
    1
See reviews for
89
339
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2010

Really liked this place - dinner was lovely, breakfast delicious, lovely big room with a HUGE bed. Had a problem with the toilet cistern but they sorted it out straight away.
Everyone was really friendly - this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fairydust222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2010

We visit the Bridgehouse hotel v. regularly and love it. They never disappoint, the food is always great, its snug in winter and they have a fantastic eating area for the summer months.............yes you can sit outside at night, under the heaters and warm snugly rugs!! And they do the best chocolate trio of deserts! Yummy!
Our Favourite place to eat!
Sophie Smith and Simon Wakely

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKTruffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2010

We stayed 1 night on a Jan/Feb deal and got upgraded to the lovely room 1. All parts of the hotel were tastefully decorated with attention to detail. We particularly liked one of the lounges, where we enjoyed coffee. This room had toys and books for children and we found the hotel very child friendly (the owners have a young son) . We dined in the ambient restaurant in the evening and found the starter and main course excellent. All the staff were great, particularly the husband and wife team who served us in the restaurant. We would recommend to anyone who likes relaxing in cosy, warm but contemporary surroundings and we would love to return soon.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SomersetMeerkats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2009

We stayed just the one night, but had dinner the night before and the food was very nice and the staff very attentive and friendly.
We were given room 5 on the ground floor and whilst nicely decorated, it had the kitchen off and adjoining wall behind the bed.
The bathroom was nicely appointed with a walk in shower, but not too much pressure but I am nit picking.
Would we stay again, yes, would we stay in room 5 NO.
Perhaps if the room was not one the more expensive we would have found it more acceptable, but you cannot really charge £160 per night to hear kitchen noise till late and from early morning.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2009

Stayed in room 6, imaculate and very comfortable. Wonderful food, will be returning. Highly recommended

Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PonyToes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2009

Stayed for 2 nights and wish it could have been longer. Small hotel off the beaten track and we were not expecting such a high standard of food and service. Staff were so helpful and really went out of their way for us. Only problem we had was that there was no vodaphone network coverage in the entire village (obviously not their fault and no problem if you are with orange) and wi-fi was slow and tempermental. But if you are going to get away from it all this little hotel is certainly worth considering. Bed very comfortable and nice toiletries. Lovely garden and al fresco dining. Lovely flower arrangements. Someone has a good idea for detail.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dragonlady33London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaminster
6.1 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
901 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
797 reviews
6.7 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Bridport
171 reviews
13.2 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
349 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge House Hotel

Property: Bridge House Hotel
Address: 3 Prout Bridge, Beaminster DT8 3AY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Beaminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridge House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorset Hotel of the Year 2013/14. Stunning 13th Century former priests' house within pretty town - Beaminster. Thirteen luxury bedrooms all with Italian linen, Molton Brown & flat screen tvs. Taste of the West Gold award winner & 2 AA Rosettes. Al fresco dining in summer overlooking a pretty, walled garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bridge House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel Beaminster
Bridge House Hotel Beaminster, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing