We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food - Attentive Staff”
Review of Bridge House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bridge House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaminster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We went with friends for a special celebration
The initial welcome was warm & we were shown into a cosy bar and offered a drink while we studied the menus
The wine list was impressive and the menu varied
When our food was almost ready we were taken to a lovely table in the conservatory
The tables are far enough apart to be comfortable
The food was excellent and well presented

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Foolsgold55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (536)
There are newer reviews for Bridge House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 536 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights during the Easter break, excellent hotel, fabulous food, extremey personal and friendly serice, highly recommended!

One wor of caution, if you choose to embark on one of its Rambling Walking Tours, ease study English literature diligently before hand or you risk getting very lost in the wild!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChazmanJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I booked and stayed just 1 night, as the visit was to allow us to eat at the wild garlic.

From the moment we arrived service was good- a lovely room and toileteries-a really nice feel to the hotel. Every member of staff we met was polite and freindly. We had a pre drink in the lounge, sat over a nice wood fire, and were served a lovely malbec ( reasonably priced)- whilst chatting to the staff.
On our return from dinner at the wild garlic ( another review) we had a good restful night in a nice room on the ground floor in the main biulding.This room was very quiet and had everything you could need.

The breakfast offered and provided was good , but the service was poor.

Without going on- we were not greeted/showed where/what to do- we made our own way thro the tables- then figured out to help ourselves to cereal etc... eventually a waitress appeared--- ( no greeting) then we spent 45mins waiting for a traditional cooked breakfast ( of good food) .. We again waitied for 10mins more to have coffee brought- and the sauce requested with the cooked breakfast had to be asked for 2x. ( there was only 4 tables at breakfast).
This was a shame.

I wished we had a second night to experience dining at the bridgehouse as the menu and majority of staff were excellent.

I would return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julieei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We have just spent two nights at the Bridge House Hotel. The weather was absolutely freezing but the wood fire, beautiful comfortable bedroom, friendly staff and amazing food made it one of the best short breaks we have had in the UK. Big fluffy bath towels, dressing gowns, Moulton Brown toiletries & a very comfortable bed,made it a most relaxing stay. The food ,where shall I start? An enormous range for breakfast with home made breads, jams, marmalade, muesli etc. Egg Benedict which melted in your mouth and the coffee kept on coming. The drinks in the bar with delicious canapés were followed by exquisitely presented, deliciously tasting starters. I found it hard to choose but had beautiful scallops on one evening and confit of duck on the next and both were delicious. Every course looked and tasted wonderful. We booked through Travelzoo and the lady on the phone was really helpful recommending a room she thought would suit us and we were not disappointed. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoAmpthill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Lovely building in the pretty town of Beaminster, Dorset.
We booked through Travelzoo and stayed in a very satisfactory room in the outbuilding.
Judging by other reviews, the room, may not have been as dramatic as those in the main building but lovely nevertheless.
For me the staff at any hotel can make or break the enjoyment of a stay. The staff we came in contact with at The Bridge House were exceptional. Friendly, warm and welcoming with time to chat. A real Dorset welcome.
Other reviews have mentioned the quality of the food. We thought it was outstanding. Interesting menu, beautifully presented and served, a treat to the taste buds.
When was the last time you eat snails?
Faultless.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peterest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed for a two night joint birthday break last week. It was everything we wanted and more.
We stayed in room 3 with a four poster bed, stone mullion windows, decorative fireplace, wavey floors and ceiling and even a concealed priests hole! This room is facing the main road, but it was very quiet at night and didn't disturb us.
Everything we ate and drank was first class and we did the lot - 2 breakfasts, tea, lunch and 2 candlelit dinners. I had to wave the white flag half way through my main course on night 2. My husband managed to finish his and go on to have the Panna Cotta - which has topped Le Gavroche's banana soufle as the best pudding he has ever eaten! We never made it to coffee and petite fours - it was straight upstairs to loosen those waistbands!
We had rubbish weather and although we tried to do a bit of sightseeing to Lyme Regis and West Bay, we ended up sitting in the bar playing Scrabble, listening to radio 3 and drinking Dorset Gold - pretty much paradise! We also have an excuse to come back now to explore further and if the weather let's us down again - who cares!
The staff are the happiest you could encounter. Friendly, efficient - with nothing any trouble.
If you love old buildings, appreciate excellent food and service - this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 0Shona0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We booked the Bridge House Hotel on a Saturday night so that we could go to The Wild Garlic for dinner, but there was a part of us that almost wanted to cancel our reservation and eat at the Hotel. Why? Well, quite simply, we felt incredibly comfortable, relaxed and happy there. We were upgraded and our room was wonderful. Indeed, I nodded off for half an hour before drinks at 7 and this is most unusual! This hotel is quintessentially English and we loved it. Breakfast was delicious; local sausage, bacon and black pudding with free range poached egg. Absolutely excellent.

So, in short, we liked it so much we shall return quite soon to enjoy a full Bridge House experience. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Room 6 is a gem. Also has a spa tub!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KieronPeacock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaminster
6.1 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
917 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
824 reviews
6.7 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
363 reviews
6.4 mi away
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
5.2 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Bridport
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge House Hotel

Address: 3 Prout Bridge, Beaminster DT8 3AY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Beaminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaminster
Price Range: $143 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridge House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorset Hotel of the Year 2013/14. Stunning 13th Century former priests' house within pretty town - Beaminster. Thirteen luxury bedrooms all with Italian linen, Molton Brown & flat screen tvs. Taste of the West Gold award winner & 2 AA Rosettes. Al fresco dining in summer overlooking a pretty, walled garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bridge House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel Beaminster
Bridge House Hotel Beaminster, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing