We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dorset hospitality at its best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quigley Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 8 Beaminster B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dorset hospitality at its best!”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We had never stayed at a B&B before and we had no idea what to expect, but Julie and David made it a truly fantastic experience.

The room was not huge, but it didn't need to be. It was beautifully furnished and immaculate, with a very comfy bed and oodles of pillows. The en suite was small, but it had everything we needed, including a very powerful shower which I never wanted to get out of!

Julie and David are a really friendly couple and really helped us feel at home, but we were disappointed that we only got to meet one of the cats (who was very well behaved and happily watched us eat our breakfast without cadging even once). Breakfast was amazing, especially the home-made toast, and we had more than enough to eat.

I don't think we could find fault with anything and would definitely recommend Quigley to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonySkinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoolsEngland, Owner at Quigley Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We always really appreciate it when guests take the time to post a review, and on this occasion, I think it must have been the minute they arrived home!
So thank you both very much, you must have had the best weather this year!
Very pleased to hear you enjoyed your first stay in a B & B, it was great to meet you, we love oodles of pillows too and the fantastic showers, on the top of the list for most guests when away I think.
Best wishes, Julie & David (:-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
47
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

David and Julie were willing and happy to do whatever they could to make us welcome and comfortable. Spotlessly clean. Lovely bed linen and great shower! Wonderful breakfast served in guests own lounge/diner. Perfect for a relaxing break in a beautiful area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeidreEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoolsEngland, Owner at Quigley Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you both very much, it was a pleasure meeting you and really pleased you enjoyed your stay, Beaminster and it's surrounds has alot to offer, coast and country on the doorstep!
We really appreciated you taking your time to write a review, and look forward to seeing you again another time.

Best Wishes Julie (:-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Quigley over Easter and had a lovely time. We had a fantastic welcome with tea and homemade cake and David went to extra special trouble to accommodate my wheat intolerance by making delicious flapjacks and wheat free bread. The bed was super comfey, the shower amazing and the room was really nicely decorated. We also had the use of a lovely lounge with a stunning view, friendly tabby cat and a toasty warm open fire. David and Julie were the perfect hosts and like a good chinwag as much as we do. All in all the best B&B experience I've had and it'll be hard to top!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoolsEngland, Owner at Quigley Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
How very kind of you, as you can tell, we love our job and it's the icing on the cake when our guests enjoy the experience we offer. I think our friends and family would agree that a good chinwag is what we love to do, although we do appreciate that some guests get away for a bit of peace and relaxation and we offer that too!
David loves the challenge of a new recipe, as a Chef by trade, he itches to get into the kitchen to try something different! Do request your favourite cake when you book! Mine's chocolate, and lemon drizzle, and Dorset apple cake and........ that's enough!!!
Thank you both again for being such great guests and hope to see you again. Julie (:-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Beautiful, comfortable and clean rooms with one of the best powerful showers I've ever experienced. The hosts, Julie and David, made us feel very comfortable and welcome, like old friends. Would absolutely recommend this B&B for a peaceful break in the lovely Dorset countryside.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoolsEngland, Owner at Quigley Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Wow, thank you. Such fun having guests who love to eat something a bit different! It keeps David busy in the kitchen which he loves. So pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hopefully see you again sometime soon.It was very kind of you to take the time to write a review, always very much appreciated by us and future guests, who love to trawl through Trip Advisor, as I do!! Kind Regards Julie & David (-:
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hosts were very welcoming. The room was small, the bathroom can only be described as a corridor. Everything was clean and fresh. Hot drinks could only be made in Lounge/Breakfast room, not very convenient. At £90 not the best value we have had recently.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasper999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoolsEngland, Owner at Quigley Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review, constructive comments are always very useful
and it was great meeting you both.
David and I thoroughly enjoy welcoming guests into our home, often spending time chatting over a cup of tea with homemade cake by the fire in the Guest lounge and found this has worked really well, replenishing everything and putting out fresh milk and cups when needed at all times of the day.We will now offer guests a drinks tray in the bedrooms if required, and appreciate you mentioning this.
Yes, the rooms aren't huge, but hopefully the light, clean fresh decor, great quality beds and Egyptian cotton bedding makes for a restful nights sleep and the comfortable guest lounge gives the extra room to relax, read by the log fire, or pour over the maps planning the next days activities whilst enjoying a glass of wine.
The en-suites do have fabulous power showers with endless high pressure piping hot water and luxury white bath sheets & toiletries hopefully leaving guests feeling refreshed and rejuvenated!

Kind Regards Julie Woodroffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Quigley B & B is a lovely place to stay in the best part of Beaminster. We stayed here while attending a wedding at the Bridgehouse just round the corner. I have to say for the quality and value the Quigley B&B hand down beats the Bridgehouse which is also a lovely place. The owners are amazingly kind and friendly as well accommodating all of our requests.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoolsEngland, Owner at Quigley Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 23, 2015
thank you so much for the great review, we are very lucky to be based so near the town with great eateries, shops and pubs, but right on the doorstep of the coast and country. Hope to see you again one day. Kind Regards Julie & David :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

What a marvellous B&B, both Jools & David most welcoming, the tea and cake was much appreciated. Our room was excellent, not too big and certainly not small. Wonderful clean and crisp bed linen. The whole place was cosy. Breakfast, cooked by David, was extremely good and sufficient, and set us up for the day ahead. We would certainly visit again and recommend. Thank you both.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank KnightyatNo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoolsEngland, Owner at Quigley Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. It was a pleasure meeting you all and we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Quigley. We do hope to see you all again in the New Year. Have a great Christmas. Kind Regards Jools & David (;-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaminster
0.0 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beaminster
522 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
781 reviews
6.7 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
889 reviews
2.5 mi away
Winyard's Gap Inn
Winyard's Gap Inn
#1 of 8 in Beaminster
52 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hill Farm B&B
Hill Farm B&B
#4 of 8 in Beaminster
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quigley Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quigley Bed & Breakfast

Property: Quigley Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2 Whitcombe Road | Dorset, Beaminster DT8 3NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Beaminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Beaminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A detached elevated stone property set back from the road with great views, ground floor en-suite bedrooms, Visit England 4 stars, Silver Award & Breakfast Award. All rooms have wonderful beds and linen.Hot drink facilities, fantastic power showers, all modern conveniences and free wifi. Fabulous breakfasts with views over the hills..Julie & David serve afternoon tea by the open fire and breakfast in the Guest Lounge has comfortable sofas to read and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Quigley Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quigley Bed & Breakfast Beaminster, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing