We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ms”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of A cote

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Relax!
The master bedroom
Cosy single room
Shower Room
Kitchen
From the'Woodland corner'
Coffee corner under Wisteria in full bloom
Water feature
The Folie
Any old iron?
Arial view
The garden
The Woodland
View from the Afternoon-Tea corner
High Noon tree Peony
From the roof top
Red hot
The rockery in early spring
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Beaminster, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
CYL1969
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ms”
Reviewed March 27, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Highly recommended. Laurence and Michael have done an amazing job decorating and equipping the cottage at an extremely high standard. They were very accommodating and helpful. The cottage is a 3 minute walk to the shops. The garden is beautiful. A lovely part of the country and we will come back and stay again. Thank you for your very kind hospitality.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 28, 2017
Thank you for this lovely review. We are very happy you had a nice time and look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elaineswa...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Faultless”
Reviewed October 20, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

My husband and I have just returned from a short holiday here. The hosts were excellent - nothing was too much trouble. The accommodation was modern, clean, warm and exceedingly well equipped Good location adjacent to the town centre which meant free parking as we left the car safely parked at home! We will definitely be returning in the not too distant future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience was without fault
Liked least: Not applicable!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 22, 2016
Thank you for this very nice review. Very happy to read you were comfortable and we do hope to see you soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvia S
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Revisiting childhood home for our 86 year old dad”
Reviewed October 6, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Home from home Laurence and Michael could not make it any better. A beautiful place to stay in a lovely town Beaminster. 5 minutes walk to town where you have the shops, cafes, pubs and church. Museum across the road giving local history Beautiful countryside a lovely place to stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 7, 2016
Thank you for these compliments. We are so happy to hear your "stay" down memory lane was good and we hope you all enjoyed it. Maybe we will have the opportunity to welcome you again for some more reminiscences.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpiralDiv...
St. Margarets Bay
1 review
“Highly recommended.”
Reviewed September 21, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Laurence and Micheal are excellent hosts and have gone to great lengths to provide an excellent base from which to explore the surrounding beautiful area. They even stayed up late to welcome us in, helped unload the car while I settled my disabled husband in and made us a much needed cup of tea after they heard on the news that part of our route( the M25 ) had ground to a halt for two hours!

The cottage is very comfortable, well equipped and spotless. The garden is an absolute delight with the added bonus of many different birds enjoying the numerous bird feeders. I returned home with some wonderful photos of Nuthatches, Long tailed tits, Woodpeckers, Black caps to name but a few.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting outside on the patio enjoying the pretty garden and watching the birds. Inside - the lovely bedding and the provision of the China teapot for
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 22, 2016
It was extremely nice to welcome you to À côté. We do hope your journey back was less troublesome than the incoming one! We must say we do love the birds and their antics. They do give us a lot of pleasure and are so much fun to watch!
Thank you very much for these lovely comments., and we hope we will see you back in Beaminster sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraceK259
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Charming cottage and garden.”
Reviewed September 10, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Michael and Laurence made us and our 4 month old baby feel very welcomed and comfortable. The cottage is spacious,elegant and very well equipped. The garden is stunning.Moreover,A Cote is located within walking distance to local shops, pubs and restaurants.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 11, 2016
It was a pleasure to welcome all 3 of you for this short stay. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again, maybe when Edward is old enough to go fossil hunting!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Experienc...
1 review
“Excellent accommodation and facilities complimented by a beautiful garden, a definite 'must return' venue”
Reviewed September 6, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I would have no hesitation in recommending 'A Cote' to anyone seeking an extremely comfortable self catering holiday with every need provided for. Laurence and Michael were both extremely friendly hosts and provided many tips and information on the immediate area, 'pointers' for other places to visit plus the best routes to avoid the traffic! The bungalow is ideally situated to explore West Dorset and the town of Beaminster is easily accessed via a short walk.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All aspects, but especially the patio area overlooking the garden.
Liked least: At the moment, Beaminster, like many rural areas, suffers from poor mobile network (o2) and internet coverage.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay in À côté. We look forward to welcome you, and we will do further home work for some more pointers!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pioneer62...
1 review
“Fabulous cottage”
Reviewed August 28, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A Cotè is an absolutely luxurious cottage in Beaminster. Well outfitted...wonderful beds and great location. Laurence and Michael are very friendly and helpful hosts. You couldn't ask for anything more. I would highly recommend a stay here if you have the chance. My friend and I had a wonderful time. Thank you very much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beds
Liked least: Nothing. It was all lovely
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2016
Thank you very much for the compliments. Glad you enjoyed it and had a good time, and hopefully we will see you again. Keep well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing