We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Slice of Heaven!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of A cote

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Relax!
The master bedroom
Cosy single room
Shower Room
Kitchen
From the'Woodland corner'
Coffee corner under Wisteria in full bloom
Water feature
The Folie
Any old iron?
Arial view
The garden
The Woodland
View from the Afternoon-Tea corner
High Noon tree Peony
From the roof top
Red hot
The rockery in early spring
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Beaminster, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
totesador...
Chipley, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Slice of Heaven!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

A Cote was an absolute dream, and my vacation there was perfect from start to finish. The cottage was spacious, scrupulously clean, and had every amenity I could have possibly thought of. The bed was the most comfortable I have slept on in any place I have ever stayed. The back garden was private, quiet, and beautiful; I was lucky enough to have perfect weather while I was there, and was able to spend a lot of time relaxing on the back patio. The location of A Cote is only a short walk to the center of Beaminster, where you can find good food and friendly people. I recommend the sticky toffee pudding at Big Fish, Little Fish...it was so good, it literally brought tears to my eyes!

The owners Laurence and Michael were so kind to me during my stay. They knew it was my first trip out of the US and I was traveling alone, and they went out of their way to take care of me and make my visit wonderful. I am already mentally planning my next trip there.

If there was a review option better than 'excellent', I would have chosen it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 30, 2013
All we can say is that when people pay to spend sometime at A Côté we try and do our utmost to make their stay memorable and comfortable. We are so pleased you had a great time and look forward to seeing you in 2015!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian G
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“All you could wish for and more.”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

excellent accomodation, very comfortable, did not need to take anything as everything you need is supplied plus more. lovely garden, very friendly and helpful couple. would definitely go back and would reccomend to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: overall conditon of the property.
Liked least: no issues.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 19, 2013
Thank you so much for a lovely review. We are delighted that everyone who has stayed with us had a lovely time. Hope to see you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 24, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall high standard of the property and the landlords
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2013
Wow! Thank you very much for the glowing review. We look forward to seeing you next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
alishe_12
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a special little gem”
Reviewed April 27, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Everything was perfect for a comfortable stay in peaceful surroundings . We can thoroughly recommend this property .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all of it
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 28, 2013
Thank you very much. Your comments are highly appreciated. The little plant is still going strong. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No1silver...
notts
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“PICTURE POSTCARD PERFECT”
Reviewed November 11, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

very well furnished.
unobtrusive owners - met them at the start of the week, said our 'good bye's' at the end of the week.
absolutely everything you needed for self catering - and i mean, everything.
most comfortable mattress we've ever slept on.
this cottage lacks absolutely NOTHING.
no hesitation whatsoever in 100% recomending - and I hate giving 100% to anything!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything ... especially the chandallier + beams in the bedroom!
Liked least: nothing ... it was that fantastic
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 3, 2012
Thank you so much for such a great feed back. It makes us very proud that A Coté gets a seal of approval from our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Reviewed October 26, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 30, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed yourselves despite the inclement weather. We hope we will see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 1, 2012 for a stay in March 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfy bed
Liked least: Sofa was not that comfortable for two and other chairs you slid forward on.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 4, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to hopefully you seeing you next year and we will of course endeavor to make your stay equally as enjoyable and comfortable.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing