We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and best dog friendly cafe ever”

The Old School House Tea Rooms
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Abbotsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Description: A delightful traditional tea room, serving delicious homemade cakes and light lunches, gluten free menu. Dog friendly.
Restaurant details
Description: A delightful traditional tea room, serving delicious homemade cakes and light lunches, gluten free menu. Dog friendly.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited today on a short walk from Chesil Beach. Owners were so friendly. Had delicious sandwiches and cream tea. The cakes are enormous and reasonably priced. Our dog unfortunately was unwell and was sick on floor. We were so embarrassed but they were very understanding. We cleaned it up and they said not to worry. Well worth a visit and deserving of 5 stars.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank Onescotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
328vrsteveb, Owner at The Old School House Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the review, and the carpet is fine so please don't worry! Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Managed to park just up the road and on holiday we wanted a little treat and came across the tea rooms.
It was quite busy and we had our toddler with us they had a highchair and were accommodating in fitting us in as there are not a lot of tables inside.
We ordered the afternoon tea which was really for one person so decided to get two and split it between the three of us.
The service was great and they really made us feel welcome and gave my son a little plate with some biscuits on.
The food was delicious and the cakes and sandwiches were tasty and the tea was plentiful and could ask for more if needed.
Would love to visit and sit on the gardens on a lovely sunny day! Maybe next time...

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank hollyreadingberks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
328vrsteveb, Owner at The Old School House Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you, so glad you enjoyed your visit to us, hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2019

My family and I visited the Old School House Tea Rooms whilst staying in Abbotsbury. We had a delicious lunch. Although we all chose different items off the menu each one of us ( and there were 6 adults) were absolutely delighted with our choices. The food was all home made and delicious, helpings were generous and the staff were absolutely lovely.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Teachermum6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
328vrsteveb, Owner at The Old School House Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2019

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit with us and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019

Dropped in for lunch today and were delighted with our toasted sandwiches. Melted cheese oozed from fresh, granary bread. Served with lovely sides of salad and coleslaw. Newly baked Blackberry & Apple cake with ice cream to follow. 100% recommend this gem of a place.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank puddycatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
328vrsteveb, Owner at The Old School House Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2019

Thank you so much, what a lovely review, so glad you liked the BlackBerry & Apple cake too. Hope you can visit us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2019 via mobile

We had a delicious cream tea. The service was excellent and they were happy to alter items to suit our likes.
The food was excellent with a variety of sandwiches, tasty cakes and light scones
Thank you and see you next time.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank 51SueN51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
328vrsteveb, Owner at The Old School House Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2019

Thank you for the lovely review, so pleased you enjoyed everything, see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old School House Tea Rooms also viewed

 
Abbotsbury, Weymouth
 
Chaldon Herring, Dorset
 

Been to The Old School House Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing