We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family meal”
Review of swan inn

swan inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Restaurants in Abbotsbury
Cuisines: European
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Family meal”
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Had an excellent meal. Fantastic, friendly service. Will be returning. Proper home cooked food, not some warmed up in the microwave crap........

Helpful?
1 Thank Pallo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    57
    39
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and good pub grub”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We dropped in and were made very welcome. Great little fire burning, great welcome and good pub grub cooked quickly. Would happily drop in again. Also very dog friendly. Great

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Nice location, friendly barman. However, if you like boiled cabbage, grey steak and kidney pie with soggy pastry then go for it!

Helpful?
1 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stopped here for drinks but only stayed for one. Dog friendly pub but the garden was strewn with litter and old furniture etc. Needs a manager with a professional approach. A bit of a lads pub, sloppily run.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thedoggroomerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better than we expected”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had dinner at this old inn. My partner had a fresh crab ploughmans and soda water and I had a rump sreak with ale. I was most impressed by the fact that they cooked me a blue steak.
There was no local ale as reviewed by others what is agreat shame as I would have purchased more than one pint because my partner was driving. I would visit again if there was something more local to drink.
Im my opinion i would say that this inn is very dated (70's) & is in need of an overhaul but would class it as an old traditional inn in the country.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank awalkanddinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed swan inn also viewed

 

Been to swan inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing