We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A throwback!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of swan inn

swan inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Restaurants in Abbotsbury
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Whiteparish
Level Contributor
125 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A throwback!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

It's a shame, but the pub is a throwback to another age. We only went in for a last drink before retiring but felt as if we had entered a time-warp (do you remember the empty pubs "The Likely Lads" used to drink in..... here it is).

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithWhiteparish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    51
    38
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice Garden - Horrible Food!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Was really looking forward to getting here after walkign all the way from Weymouth. The weather was fab so we sat in the garden, which was lovely but seriously needed mowing. Nothing exiting in the beer/cider category, as already mentioned. We started with a home-made garlic bread with cheese which was impressive in both quality and quantity, all good so far. Then our mains arrived..... we had both ordered a pie from the small (and expensive) menu. Mine was supposedly chicken, ham and mushroom and my husband's steak & kidney. Well it was the poorest quality pie I have ever had. Non-existent mush for filling and vile pastry served up with overcooked, cold vegetables. My husband returned both meals to the bar and was given a full refund, no questions asked. No apology and we were not invited to try something else from the menu either - clearly the staff are well aware of the poor quality of the food! Would go back if I had to but would stick to the garlic bread and maybe a chip butty as the rest of the stuff was simply overpriced rubbish.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mazfuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Pretty average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Perfectly nice pub and food, but everything seemed a bit mediocre when my wife and I visited. I ordered the cheese ploughman's with chutney and received large hunks of rather mediocre cheese (quantity fine, but why not give a smaller quantity with higher quality?) and a bowl of pickle rather than chutney. On the positive side, the ice cream we had was large and delicious! In short, an ok. place to eat, but I'm sure there are better in Abbotsbury

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Francisthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Friendly pub, good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were visiting the area and dropped in for a quick pub meal. The landlord was very friendly who told us he had been there for 47 years! We both had a meal of the special board an excellent cooked whole sea bass and a steak. Would go again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RachLeeMill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good food and a warm welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stumbled across The Swan after walking from Hive Beach to this Village. The food was really good and the landlord welcoming. We would definetely come back here.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Caroline016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed swan inn also viewed

 

Been to swan inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing