We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful subtropical garden” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbotsbury Subtropical Gardens

Abbotsbury Subtropical Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Voted the Historic Houses Association /Christie's Garden of the Year 2012. Acclaimed by Alan Titchmarsh as "one of the finest Gardens I have ever visited." Regularly featured on TV, most recently for a BBC Gardeners' World feature on camellias, with the excellent Carol Klein and expert Jennifer Trehane, and in James Wong's outstanding episode of the BBC's Great British Garden Revival series, on tropical gardens. Established in 1765.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A beautiful subtropical garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

I have visited several times and the Gardens never cease to delight. I visit every time I am in the area. The highlight is the view of Chesil Beach from the steep up hill walk about a third of the way round the gardens. Well worth the climb!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlastairP751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    418
    217
    85
    14
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
160 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Magical Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

I really liked the gardens. There are some places in the garden that you feel like you are in prehistorical times, the plants were huge. Defiantelly worth seeing it. if you are in the area, don't miss it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Guest654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Visited as part of all inclusive ticket for swannery and farm and enjoyed the peace and history of the place. Good on site restaurant. Will return in the summer.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank debw23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
192 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Ok but expensive especially at this time of year”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We visited during an October afternoon and were disappointed to find that they still charge full price despite there being less to see at this time of the year. the restaurant is very nice, though quite expensive (£3.25 for a latte) and food is of reasonable quality. The gardens were being prepared for an evening of illumination and we could have returned during the evening for no extra charge, though as the plants were well beyond their best we declined this offer.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely time at Abbotsbury Gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Just returned from a lovely walk around the gardens, so special with the lights and fires around the plants and trees, quite spookey corners in certain areas with it being Halloween. Great that dogs can join you on the walk on a lead of course, lovely shop with items for Christmas and many plants available to purchase, cream teas were good in the cafe, will return here in the spring where I am sure I will see a different garden, great for the kids too.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank toonangel9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abbotsbury Subtropical Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Abbotsbury Subtropical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing