We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay at Wheelwrights”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abbotsbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wheelwrights Cottage
Ranked #1 of 6 Abbotsbury B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely stay at Wheelwrights”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

What a splendid and warm welcome from Nigel and Sue! Such charming hosts and what a lovely cream tea on arrival! The room was perfect and the bed enormous and comfortable! Great breakfast in the tea room in the morning too. I wish them well for when the Olympic torch passes through - the sailing decorations they've carefully organised will look fantastic!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
54
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

This picturesque village of Abbotsbury was our retreat and finding the Wheelwrights B&B was just the icing on the cake. Hosts Nigel and Sue were some of the most welcoming hosts we have ever met! Sue's 'arrival cream tea' was pure delight after being on the road for 3.30 hrs. Our room was immaculate and so comfy with a king size and great bathroom with a tremendous shower. Just wished we had more time to spend in Abbotsbury and the surrounding area as it truly is a very special place. Couldn't reccommend Wheelwrights Cottage highly enough!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angiegoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Wheelwrights Cottage, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Many thanks for your kind review: we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again some time.

Sue & Nigel Melville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Our visit to the Dorset coast was perfectly timed for the last week of March, a beautiful week of warm weather and sunshine. Abbotsbury village was as picturesque as its description, and Wheelwrights B&B was the perfect combination of modern comfort in an historic and charming setting.

Access to the airy bedroom/bathroom is in a quiet location at the back of the building, directly from the garden. The garden is a riot of lush greenery and perennials, broken up into small "rooms", set up with tea tables with views of the surrounding countryside. B&B accommodation is immaculate and immensely comfortable.

Much has been written here about the lovely hosts, Sue and Nigel. They warmly welcome you to their home and cosy tea room, providing fantastic food and helpful advice. Nigel very kindly assisted my boyfriend and I by dropping us off in a nearby village one morning. That allowed us to do a spectacular one-way walk on the coastal path, spending the whole day enjoying the Jurassic Coast, ending in Abbotsbury.

All in all, a lovely part of England and fantastic hosts at a wonderful B&B - very highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We arrived to find a warm welcome from Sue and Nigel in the tea room which is next door to the room we stayed in. They gave us advice on nearby attractions and sat us in their garden with a home made cream tea.mmmmm perfect! Bed is king size and very comfortable and the shower is great. We will surely return. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: the room at the back is like having your own little cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9chuckademus9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malleville, Owner at Wheelwrights Cottage, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Many thanks for such a positive - and prompt ! - review. Hope the airport pick-up went smoothly.

Sue & Nigel M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We read all the reviews written about Wheelwrights and have to say we agree with every word. Nigel and Sue are just the friendliest hosts you could wish for. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The room was so quiet and comfortable and Sue had turned on the toasty electric blankets for us so when we returned from an evening at the local (ish) River Cottage Deli we had a warm comfy bed to climb into. The breakfast was delicious (and plentiful), the cream tea on arrival was served in their sitting room and we chatted as if we had known them for years. Abbotsbury itself is chocolate box pretty, and the nearby beaches are beautiful. We didn't want to leave and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

My husband and I have just returned from our second short stay at Wheelwrights. The host and hostess Sue and Nigel have inadvertently become friends in our eyes. They are absolutely perfect in every way - friendly, professional, knowledgeable, patient, hospitable, and the most lovely genuine people you could wish to stay with. We stayed in their converted wheelwrights workshop - THE most comfortable bed, everything tastefully finished, lovely breakfast, lots of chatter and laughing. This particular visit which we returned from was everything and more we could have wished for following the death of my father last week. Sue and Nigel were very upbeat and just what we needed. Abbotsbury itself is a gem - so is all of Dorset - we love it and cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank livethedream83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burwash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We were looking for a B & B for the August Bank Holiday weekend and boy, did we find it. Tucked away in a quiet peaceful setting, this single unit was everything we wanted. Nigel and Sue were so friendly and knowledgeable, couldn't do enough for us. The room was spacious and the bed enormous. So much to choose at breakfast and delicious coffee to wash it down with. We would certainly recommend this lovely place to anyone. Abbotsbury and the surrounding area is fabulous - if only we could have stayed for longer. Marion and Jim Semple, East Sussex.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abbotsbury
0.1 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.1 mi away
East Farm House B&B
East Farm House B&B
#3 of 4 in Abbotsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
3.8 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 1 in West Bexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
7.7 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheelwrights Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheelwrights Cottage

Property: Wheelwrights Cottage
Address: 14 Rodden Row | Abbotsbury, Abbotsbury, Weymouth DT3 4JL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth > Abbotsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Abbotsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Wheelwrights Cottage Abbotsbury, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing