We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wheelwrights Cottage
Nearby Hotels
$119
$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$153
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor(West Bexington)
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$131
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Abbey House(Abbotsbury)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveler rating
72
1
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
72
1
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscream tea on arrivaltea roomsconesself containedb bpeaceful staydorset coastlocal pubgreat breakfastbed was very comfortableoff road parkinga real treatperfect hostsicing on the cakefriendly ownersstayed here for one nighta great place to stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 74 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We were looking for a B & B for the August Bank Holiday weekend and boy, did we find it. Tucked away in a quiet peaceful setting, this single unit was everything we wanted. Nigel and Sue were so friendly and knowledgeable, couldn't do enough for us. The room was spacious and the bed enormous. So much to choose at breakfast and delicious coffee to wash it down with. We would certainly recommend this lovely place to anyone. Abbotsbury and the surrounding area is fabulous - if only we could have stayed for longer. Marion and Jim Semple, East Sussex.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Marion S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

I came down with my husband for a wedding in Abbotsbury and we found Wheelwrights on the internet. We really enjoyed our stay there are wished we could have stayed longer. Nigel and Sue were really friendly and helpful. The room was lovely, it's so quiet that we had a wonderful nights sleep. In the morning breakfast was wonderful - there was the most fantastic selection of different foods including some delicious yoghurts and they had papers for us to read. Abbotsbury is really pretty and we had a great walk along the beach (in the rain). I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clapham123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

What a lovely place to stay. We booked the day before as a last minute as the sun was shining and found this a perfect stop to explore the beuatiful Dorset coast. The village is also beautiful and well worth exploring. Wheelrights lived up to the expectations we had having read previous reviews. We were greeted with a warm welcome and a splendid cream tea which we ate in the beautiful natural gardens with bees buzzing and flowers everywhere - bliss. The room is spotless, large, stylish but charming and we had the best nights sleep. Breakfast was also great and we wish we could have stayed longer. If you are exploring the area you must stay here - you won't want to leave!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The40Somethings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

My boyfriend and I loved Wheelwrights. Nigel and Sue greeted us with a lovely cup of coffee and soon we were chatting away as they were such a interesting and friendly couple.

The room is fantastic - clean, really quiet and you have your own key so can come and go without disturbing anyone. The bed is huge and so comfy, and there is an INCREDIBLE electric blanket which kept us toasty warm after our long walk (it made is hard to get out of bed however!)

Abbotsbury itself is so pretty and i'd definitely recommend a visit - the buildings are beautiful with lots of interesting architecture and if you choose to go for a walk there are stunning views of the village and sea from the surrounding hills. It also is a thriving little community with a good selection of quality shops/ tea rooms etc but stays 'real' rather than feeling touristy.

Breakfast at Wheelwrights didn't disappoint - great coffee again and lovely cooked breakfast. I was sad to leave - thanks Nigel and Sue!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachelcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

The excellent reviews below truthfully reflect this accomodation.

Congratulations to Sue & Nigel on combining the luxury and privacy of a small hotel with the warmth and helpfulness of a B&B.

Faultless.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews