We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poppy's Cottage - Great cottage, especially for children”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abbotsbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elworth Farmhouse Cottage
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Poppy's Cottage - Great cottage, especially for children”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed in Poppy's Cottage during Sept 2012 and had a great weeks holiday. The cottage has a wonderful large farmhouse kitchen, with massive dining table, comfy sofa's in the seperate lounge and very comfortable bedrooms.
The cottage is really set up for those with children, as there is plenty of child seats, stair gates, a crib and child bed, already in place - plus loads of toys to play with.
The location is secluded in a small hamlet with a working farm. Our Little one really enjoyed watching the cows coming and going for their daily milking. It's a great spot for visiting the many attractions in the area, I would strongly recommend the Swannery and Gardens at Abbotsbury, plus Lulworth Cove and Durdle Door, which are a 20-30 min drive away. The drive to and from Bridport are very picturesque.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIF73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

For our week at Elworth Farmhouse cottage, we could not have asked for a more perfect week. From the moment we arrived, we were warmly welcomed by Christine, Bramble the Labrador and Tigger the cat and made to feel very much at home.
The cottage is superbly equipped, in particularly the kitchen, which has everything you could possibly need including beautiful china to add to the lovely country cottage feel.
The cottage is perfectly located for investigating the sights and countryside of Dorset. The village of Abbotsbury, a 5 minute drive away, is a beautiful chocolate box village with tea shops and galleries.
However, if the weather is as good as the week we had, then taking advantage of the pool and hot tub is a must. We spent a number of afternoons just lounging in the sun enjoying the fact that the swooping house martins were generally making the only noise we heard, the only real traffic noise coming from the nearby farm's tractors as they occasionally went up and down the lane.
All in all a wonderful place to get away from it all, a beautiful cottage, in a great location with all the facilities you would expect and more.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesandJoLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We enjoyed a relaxing week in this lovely thatched cottage. We were given a warm welcome by Chris the owner and given a tour of the cottage and facilities and shown how things worked.
The cottage was comfortable and very well equipped.We enjoyed the hot tub and swimming pool and it was lovely to be able to wander in the large garden.The cottage was convenient for the coastal path and the walk to Abbotsbury was easy and scenic.Chris was always happy to give advice and ideas for places to visit.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JFOSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our 5 night stay at Elworth Farm. We stayed in Poppy's cottage which is very well equipped for children and made it a really enjoyable and easy holiday. The cottage is ideal and in beautiful surroundings, including a farm which was an added bonus for our toddlers! Chris the owner was very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. We hope to return again as we had such a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L_JonesEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2011

We had a fantastic time at the cottage. It looked so pretty when we arrived I could not believe how nice it was. It had just been re-thatched when we arrived and the main bathroom had just been re-decorated. The insides were just as nice, with the exposed beams in the living room and bedrooms. We loved the big comfy bed on the 1st floor, which was all bedroom with an en-suite toilet. The kitchen was great. I have never seen such a well equipped kitchen, let alone in a holiday rental. You could have cooked quite a banquet in there. And buying meat from the farm next door was a great bonus! The log fire in the living room was fab! We had a few cosy winter nights in front of that. I am always cold, but the heating was really good. The owner, Chris, was really friendly and helpful and I got the feeling she would have given you as much or as little advice on the local area and what to do as you wanted. The only disappointment is that it was winter and we were unable to try out the pool and hot tub. The local area is great. It is a really quiet location which we loved, but it didn't take long to find loads of things to do. We wish we had 2 weeks, not 4 days. Lyme Regis is lovely to visit, as was Durdle Door and Lulworth Cove. We definitely want to return again. I think it was also great value. It was significantly cheaper than other cottages we looked at and more than lived up to my expectations.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nowheatnodairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2010

We were wanting a relaxing week in the Dorset countryside and this beautiful thatched cottage more than matched our expectations. The cottage was nicely situated in a small hamlet in which you could buy eggs and meat from the adjacent farm. The kitchen was very well equipped; milk, butter, muesli, marmalade, bread and a bowl of fruit were left by the owner for us which was much appreciated. The cottage was very comfortable with lots of beams and period features. We had access to the owner's swimming pool which we really enjoyed along with her enchanting garden. The cottage was well positioned for walking to the adjacent villages via footpaths - on our walks we saw fallow deer and a badger! All in all,a lovely cottage, a warm welcome,a beautiful location and a great holiday.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vernonandzena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2010

Our short break in winter at Elworth Farmhouse Cottage to celebrate a special occasion more than fulfilled our expectations. We arrived on a freezing February day but received a very warm welcome from the owner, Chris, who had already lit the woodburning stove. With the glow from this, plus the autumn leaf lights strung across the beam of the inglenook fireplace, the cottage looked enchanting.

Likes: Wonderful cosy thatched cottage with oak beams; organic welcome pack of breakfast items (including an unexpected bottle of wine for us to celebrate our special occasion - gratefully received!); super kitchen with all modern appliances; bedroom under the eaves with very comfortable king size bed plus new ensuite facility; watching the birds feed from the table across the garden whilst having our breakfast; relaxing in the evening watching satellite TV on a good size flat screen television. The walking is superb - the countryside around the cottage is stunning, with views out to sea from the hill above the hamlet and it's a lovely walk into Abbotsbury village for a pub lunch.

Dislikes: That we had only booked to stay for a couple of nights! We've booked to stay again in early summer to enjoy the gardens (which looked inviting even in February), swimming pool and jacuzzi.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SomersetVeela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abbotsbury hotels
0.0 mi away
East Farm House B&B
East Farm House B&B
#3 of 4 in Abbotsbury
48 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
268 reviews
0.0 mi away
Abbotsbury Tea Rooms
Abbotsbury Tea Rooms
#2 of 6 in Abbotsbury
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elworth Farmhouse Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elworth Farmhouse Cottage

Property: Elworth Farmhouse Cottage
Address: West Elworth, Abbotsbury, Weymouth DT3 4HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth > Abbotsbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Abbotsbury
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Elworth Farmhouse Cottage Abbotsbury, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing