We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Golden Coast Holiday Village
Nearby Hotels
The Beach House(Woolacombe)
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marine House(Woolacombe)(Great Value!)
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunnymeade Country House(Woolacombe)(Great Value!)
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fortescue Arms(Woolacombe)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Europa Park(Woolacombe)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Bay View Farmers(Mortehoe)(Great Value!)
$20
Pitchup.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Europa Park(Woolacombe)
$39
Pitchup.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Watersmeet Hotel(Woolacombe)
$325
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Southover Beach Apartments(Woolacombe)(Great Value!)
$233
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,406)
Filter reviews
2,406 results
Traveler rating
757
760
414
229
246
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
757
760
414
229
246
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold millgolden coastexclusive lodgeon sitesilver apartmentsurf simulatorwasher dryerhigh ropeswave machinebowling alleyall agesoutdoor poolclimbing wallnext yearevening entertainmentwater walkerssoft play
Filter
Updating list...
1,973 - 1,978 of 2,406 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We got here on Friday 8th nov we found the holiday park to be half shut but still lots of things to do & I would think that the summer would be all a family would want food in the club was nice & drinks were ok but we had got our own back at the villa pay the extra & upgrade as it worth it on the whole I would give this site 8/10 but only as it was November in the summer & with kids I don't think you could beat it we would love to come back but we went from Friday until Sunday as it was one of our foster kids birthdays & wanted to do a little extra for her & also many thanks to all the people who give her a card all the best from the hunts in Coulsdon surrey

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank bomakay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

We're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that your foster daughter had a special birthday celebration.

There are a few facilities which either close at the end of October half term or are available at slightly more limited times; doing the latter means that we can keep many more facilities open than would normally be possible in what is our quietest month of the year and we always aim to have plenty to do during everyone's break.

Do keep an eye on our website for our latest offers and we recommend signing up to our email newsletter to get the best deals straight to your inbox.

We look forward to welcoming you again,
Aidan Glover - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Stayed on a all weather pitch. Had a fantastic weekend with partner and mum. Loved the surf simulator, bingo was great! park very clean and tidy too. All staff friendly. Would recommend the park as lots to do.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loobie345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thanks for your kind review loobie345. We're really pleased to read that you enjoyed our stay and the advantages of our modern all-weather camping/touring pitches. We hope to welcome you to Golden Coast again soon. Aidan Glover - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

A surprise 40th birthday break booked by my partner was just what was needed. Taking into account that it was mid November and we were amongst only a handful of guests at The Golden Coast resort, we still had such a fantastic time with the limited activities available across all four sites. The accommodation was what we expected for the price that we paid and it definitely did the job. Whilst most of the outdoor activities were closed for the season, there was still many areas nearby that are worth a visit: Woolacombe bay is an absolute must. The drinks and the food were reasonably priced but the one thing that made our holiday was the ParkStars: Sam, Tom, Ellie and James are an absolute credit to the resort and, even though it was very quiet and not many children , they took the time to make every one of the children that were there feel special with their friendly personalities and variety of games, activities and fun-loving attitudes.

Having read previous comments on this website, I was slightly dubious about what to expect but I need not have worried because everything was what I expected, in the best way possible.
If you want to have busy, activity-filled days then visit here during the summer but if you want to have a quieter time with less people around then visit during the off season because that is what we will be doing again without fail.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kai G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thank you for your glowing review – it is so fantastic to read that you enjoyed your off-peak stay so much! Our Entertainers really do work hard to ensure everybody’s stay is special, and I will pass on your very kind words, they will be most appreciated. I am pleased your accommodation suited your needs, and you felt the Park was in a good location to explore our fantastic local area.

We can’t wait to welcome you back for another stay.

Aidan Glover - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We (family of 4) stayed at Golden Coast in the October school holiday for 4 nights, in a ground floor 1 bed apartment.

The apartment was clean and warm. However, there were lots of things missing off the inventory - not disatrous but an unnecessary inconvenience to have to go to reception and ask for things. Reception did deal with this promptly.

Bathroom decor was very tired with broken seals and midlew/mould staining.

Sofabed was the most uncomfortable we have ever slept on (lesson learnt to book 2 bedroom in future).

Entertainment staff were on the whole very good and there was a variety of things on offer for the children. We only stayed out for the 'adult' cabaret one evening and that was ok. The outdoor activities were great too and good value; really enjoyed the outdoor gym, the pirate ship and the trim trail. The firewords display was fantastic and a real bonus.

We found Golden Coast to be a great base for exploring North Devon and the day time facilities were great. However, the significant downside of this park is that the main seating area next to the bar is far too small for the number of people who want to see the entertainment. If you can get a table, you are jammed in alongside the next one. It was pretty much impossible to keep an eye on the kids when they were on the dancefloor and the music was blaring so it was impossible to hear anything. Other reviewers have commented particularly on how chaotic Hallowe'en was and I would agree - people 'reserved' their tables early on in the day and there was no chance of getting even a chair. It was horrendous. Kids were packed onto the dancefloor with no room to move whilst watching the entertainment. The Hallowe'en treasure hunt earlier in the day was also badly organised and we eventually gave up as there were so many people we couldn't actually hear the park stars explain what was happening.

We would not return to Golden Coast.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melabel39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Thank you for your review of Golden Coast. I am very sorry to read that your Bronze Apartment, despite being clean and warm, did not meet your expectations. It is our intention that every unit is replenished with inventory when necessary before our guests arrive, although I apologise this was not the case before your arrival.

Halloween is an extremely popular break away, actually being one of the busiest nights of the year for us at Golden Coast, however I am sorry that this impacted on your evening. I am pleased that you felt our Entertainment team to be very good on the whole, and you enjoyed and utilised the free activities offered on site.

Aidan Glover - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Great location, we thought Woolacombe was lovely. We were impressed with the amount of activities on site, lots of stuff for the kids and the bus service was very good. For what we paid for the holiday we did not expect the accomodation etc.. to be amazing, which it wasn't. The lodge itself was pretty average. All fully equipped but we felt the bedrooms were definitely in need of updating although clean. Any food which we purchased in the Harrys Bar was also ok but not amazing. The service for breakfast in there was also not what we had hoped. We would recommend this to someone else if you wanted somewhere to go for the kids with loads of stuff to do which is good value for money. If you are looking for somewhere a bit more luxurious this is not the place. We are also not big fans of the holiday entertainment side of things anyway so did not try much of it out but our kids did like the disco. It did get very busy to the point where people seemed to be getting there in the afternoon just to save tables etc... We did not try the kids camps as you could not leave your kids and had to go around with them. We felt that going out and exploring the great beach and town was a better experience for them. The indoor swimming pool was good, our kids loved that aspect. We went in October half-term so the outdoor pools were not open but they did look good and I think in the summer there would be an even larger range of activities to do. I would worry though that it would get far too busy. All in all I think if we were to go back we would probably spend more money on a plusher (?) lodge. It seemed like a well run place and was pretty much what we were looking for, for a short half-term break which was good value.

Room Tip: Choose a lodge rather than a mobile home as it did feel more spacious. We have three kids so it meant we were not all on top of each other all the time!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank VHicks2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Thank you for leaving your review. Our aim is for our guests to feel as though they received value for money whilst staying on Golden Coast, and I am very pleased that, on the whole, your short break was suited to your expectations. We do offer many activities on site, over 40 of which are free for our guests to utilise as much as they like! I am pleased your family enjoyed the indoor swimming pool. This facility is open from 8am until 9pm, giving our guests lots of time to swim!

I am pleased that you found your accommodation clean. We have an on-going refurbishment program running throughout the Park, our most recent refurbishment being our Gold Lodges, which received beautifully stylish new bathrooms and kitchens. I have, however, noted your comments regarding the bedrooms in the Silver Lodges, and appreciate your feedback. We do hope you return in the future.

Aidan Glover - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews