We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,807)
Filter reviews
2,807 results
Traveler rating
934
894
469
246
264
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
934
894
469
246
264
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold millsilver lodgegolden coastexclusive lodgebronze villaon sitesurf simulatorwave machinewasher dryerhigh ropesbowling alleyall agesoutdoor poolclimbing wallnext yearwater walkersevening entertainment
Filter
Updating list...
2,391 - 2,396 of 2,807 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a week at woolacombe bay holiday village for my sons 2nd birthday at the begging of september. The holiday didnt start great as we had to change caravans due to the state of the one we were first put in. This issue was quickly resolved by the assistant manager of the park who was more than obliged to help us out. We stayed in a silver caravan which was just enough space for 4 adults and 2 toddlers. The caravan had a beautiful view and quiet surroundings which we found very relaxing. All of the pools were very clean and great fun, the cleavewood pool was especially good as there were periods where we had the pool to ourselves. The food at the old mill pub was lovely and the staff were very friendly as were all the staff around the park. The entertainment was your typical holiday park entertainment which my 2 year old found great fun. There was loads to do on site, rock climbing, surf simulator, crazy golf, bowling, water walkers, enough to keep you busy for days. We didnt use the shop on site instead used the tesco in ilfracombe which had the usual great offers. What we did find great about staying here is that you can use all the facilities at any of the sister parks which we did use as we visited twitchen house which was another beautiful holiday park. Also my partner used the romano spa at woolacombe bay holiday village which was good value for money. Really did have a great time and could go on and on about what a great time we had. We will definately book for next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lukedevereux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you for your fantastic review. It is wonderful to read that you had such an enjoyable holiday! It is great that you took advantage of the many facilities we offer on site, and also took advantage of our sister Parks. Woolacombe Bay boasts an incredible view over Woolacombe beach, and offers many facilities such as swimming pools, crazy golf and the Romano Spa, the perfect place to relax! Twitchen House is a large manor house set in National Trust ground, offering a range of family friendly fun!

I am pleased that you enjoyed the location of your caravan in our peaceful Cleavewood area, and our team could find an accommodation that met your expectations. We can’t wait to welcome you back!

Aidan Glover - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed at the woolacombe bay golden coast in a caravan. Whilst the site was good and had every thing to offer, the caravan was disgusting. The curtains were filthy, the bedrooms smelt so bad that we slept on the sofa the entire time because we didnt want to go in the room. I upgraded to the silver acommadation so expected to get what I paid for but I didnt. The service was also terrible with 2 ladies talkin to eachother right infront of us for minutes about personal conversation at reception before aknowledging us. Even though I did not pay alot for the holiday I still expected more and would not go there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paigebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

I am very sorry to read that your accommodation did not meet your expectations. Our Housekeeping Team work very hard to ensure that each unit is fully prepared prior to your arrival, however I apologise you feel this was not the case on this occasion. I do hope that you informed us whilst on Park as we would have liked the opportunity to rectify any issues you had, or move you to an alternative accommodation so you could fully enjoy your stay with us, especially as you enjoyed the Park itself.

Providing excellent customer service is very important to our Reception team, and it would never be their intention to make our guests feel as though they received poor service. I will inform our team of your comments to ensure that this does not happen again.

We appreciate all feedback, positive and negative, so thank you for taking the time to write to write your review.

Aidan Glover - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The facilities of this resort IE the pool, mini golf, play areas etc are the only things that made our holiday bearable, and well as the good location.

The accommodation was completely unkempt - dirty kitchen, no oven pans, dirty utensils, unsafe toaster, leaky shower, filthy floors, filthy carpets, dirty fridge with left over food from previously occupants, unsafe oven (no labels on it for heat etc) wobbly bunk beds, missing window handles, no restricter on the 1st floor bedroom windows, no towel rail or shelf in the bathroom - generally needed a good overhaul.

We spoke to a staff member about the leaky shower as it flooded the bathroom - we were told that someone would come to fix it, but no one turned up to do this. Although, we must say that the maintenance man did come pretty promptly when asked to put the restricter on the window!

We booked through The Sun Holidays, so we knew we wouldn't be getting 5* accommodation but we did have average expectations for this resort. Reading some of the other Trip Advisor reviews during the same week we were staying there (16th September) it would seem that the cleaning staff need to be retrained!

We wrote a letter directly to the General Manager of the holiday park, and his response was less than satisfying - his response was 'he can find no reports of your dissatisfaction' - obviously his staff didn't keep any record of the complaints that I made whilst staying at the resort including the cleanliness of the kitchen, so apparently it's my fault!

If you plan to visit this resort, make sure you take plenty of cleaning stuff, and have plans for things to do every day to get you out of the accommodation.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachelb21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

I am very sorry to read that your stay at Golden Coast Holiday Village did not meet your expectations. We have received your correspondence direct to the Park, and have replied in full to each of your concerns. Aidan Glover - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We booked this holiday as a last minute get away, as we received an offer email as we are staying at Woolacombe Village Park next year with the whole family. Well equipped park for couples and families, lots to do. We stayed in a budget villa, which was nice and clean and just what we needed. The weather was very misty and wet for three out of the four days of our break but we had a tour of the parks using the park bus service. The only down side was that the bus was a bit old and not suitable for buggys. Also when we went to the beach, it was a nightmare getting back to the park using the same park bus service. The bus only ran every hour, so there was a big que of people waiting to go back to there parks and not everyone could get on. The small baggage rack was stacked high with peoples buggys, which looked very unstable. My partner choose to walk back to the park with our 5month old baby in his buggy along the roads bearing in mind only part of it had footpaths.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

I am pleased to read that your accommodation suited your family’s needs, and you found it clean on arrival. It’s wonderful to read that you utilised the additional facility of the Woolacombe Bus. We do ensure enough buses are running to collect all our waiting guests from the bus stop, and it would never be our intention for a guest to walk back to the Park if they didn’t wish to. I am pleased that you enjoyed the other aspects of your holiday with us, and we hope to see you again soon. Aidan Glover - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have just returned from a Monday to Friday break at the Golden Coast which turned out to be really good. The booking that we made was for a silver caravan. We also were informed when booking that we could not have the accommodation until 4pm and yes they did stick to the time which was a little disappointing considering it was out of season and the park was not even half full and there were plenty of empty caravans. We had arrived at 2pm and were given our keys at 4pm. That aside the reception staff were very friendly we made our way to the caravan park which is just over a lane and outside the main park. On arrival we were disappointed with its location as it was the furthest van away down in the corner of the park and facing trees which made it very dark. The carpet and furnishings inside were all stained and and dirty so back up to reception where the young lady was excellent she soon allocated us another caravan which was spot on. We were very impressed with the overall resort with plenty of things to do from ten pin bowling to snooker, pool, and indoor swimming pools. The on site shop has most things you could need and quite reasonably priced. Another plus is the regular shuttle bus that goes down into Woolacombe which you can use on purchase of a pass from reception also well priced. Another plus is the on site pub The Old Mill which has real ale. There is also another pub The Fortescue just a hundred yards from the main entrance (excellent Carvery) my wife and I enjoyed our stay and will be going

Room Tip: If staying in a caravan ask for one nearer the top of the site however the lodges looked amazing
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ISCA13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for your excellent review. I am very pleased our friendly Receptionists could find you an accommodation that was more suited to your expectations, and you could continue to have a great family holiday. I will be sure to pass your encouraging words on to our team. I am very pleased that you took advantage of the wide variety of facilities we offer for all the family, and utilised our Woolacombe Bus that takes you between our Parks that you can use the facilities at, and also down to the award winning beach! Thank you again for your kind words. Aidan Glover - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews