We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great cheap family break...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woolacombe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Coast Holiday Village
Reviewed March 12, 2013

just back from a weekend at golden sands and totally enjoyed it, we booked this from the sun newspaper £38 for a family of 4.. absolute bargain and well worth the money.
we had a lovely apartment/house with 2 bedrooms upstairs was lovely and warm alot nicer than a cold caravan!!! right near entertainment, pub, pool ... we went bowling for a family hour £19. food was good and found a nice pub outside site... will be going back in the summer... the beach is lovely loads of surfers and nice walks

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bristolbird5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a nice review. We do our best to ensure our guests feel they have received value for money. For future reference, you can book your Family Bowling Ticket before arrival for just £10.00 – saving almost 50%! We can’t wait to welcome you back to Golden Coast in the summer. Aidan Glover - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,051 - 2,057 of 2,312 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

Turned up Monday 4th, and was absolutely disgusted with the park. Looked at several accommodation within the park which were filthy, stunk of smoke and pets, stained carpets, missing bath panel, filth on windows meaning you could not see out of them. One in which was meant to be the silver apartment which had been inspected and cleaned apparently but when we went to look at it, found feces all around the toilet and got told by general manager that he couldn't do anything else for us if we didn't want to accept that accommodation or pay a £95 upgrade, he clearly didn't understand basic hygiene. He also told us what should we expect we have booked via the Sun in which the park received £93.15 of our booking which since we have been told is untrue and the park are actually given the reminder by the Sun once we have stayed. Luckily we have now been given our refund by the booking line which have admitted the manager was completely wrong, seems he doesn't know anything!! We left that night as could not think of anything worse than staying there for a week, Would never, ever want to go back!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sanisha93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

It is a shame that you felt you had to leave negative feedback as I feel we did try our very best whilst you were on Park to find you suitable accommodation and went through all the various options with you. The unit allocated on arrival was our Bronze Villa as advised in the booklet that accompanied your newspaper promotion confirmation letter, and unfortunately you were unhappy with your allocation before you even entered the unit. Customer satisfaction is of paramount importance to us, and we therefore showed you a variety of different accommodations that might have been more suited to your needs, including our “New for Easter 2013” Gold Lodges. You were unhappy to pay for an upgrade and we feel it would have been unfair on our other guests, who had all paid to upgrade to be in their unit, to change your allocation for no extra fee. Whilst on Park you also told us you required a three bedroomed unit and as the promotional brochure states, which you received before your arrival, the promotional units are either a one bedroom or two bedroom accommodation sleeping between 4 and 6 therefore we feel you were looking for an upgrade before your arrival but chose not to pay the upgrade fee.

As you chose to leave you received a refund whilst on Park of £93.15 and our Manager was correct in saying we had not received the remainder of the money from the Sun as you had only just checked in. When you rang our booking line, we agreed on this occasion to refund the cost of your holiday, as a gesture of goodwill.

Aidan Glover - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed in a Silver Lodge in Poacher's Paddock, during February half-term. This is the second time we've stayed on this site.

The lodge is a bungalow style accommodation with a kitchen, living/dining area, two bedrooms and bathroom. The lodge was comfortable enough for a short break, it did have central heating which was a must for February. The bedroom was a fair size with a comfy bed. The bathroom was a little tired looking. The living area had one settee - which was very comfortable, and two smaller chairs - which were not so comfy. The kitchen/dining area was as expected.

The site has a number of activities a number of which are free these include crazy golf, table tennis and swimming, it is nice that there are some things to do without paying extra. There is also a number of other activities that have an extra charge. Also on site there is a well stocked shop, pot painting workshop, clubhouse with take away and arcade.

It is a short drive to Woolacombe.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for your review of Golden Coast Holiday Park, and it’s great to read that this was your second visit with us. We do aim to create a home from home feel with our lodges for maximum comfort for our much valued guests. Sorry to hear you found the bathroom a little dated – we do have an on-going refurbishment program; new for Easter 2013 are our Gold Lodges, with beautiful new bathrooms and kitchens. We do have many free activities on site, and it’s great to read that you took advantage of these. We hope to see you return soon! Aidan Glover - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

ive just come back from a four day break with the family, i came here with a open mind after reading some reviews but i must say it was excellent, we had a exclusive lodge which was fab so clean and welcoming, the facilities on the camp are amazing the shop is great open all day with everything u need there, the waves pottery painting on site his fab the kids enjoyed it, the entertainment and the crew are brilliant, the kids had a free tshirt on their first night, the adult entertainment was fab aswell, the only thing was the food menu it could of been more variety but the standard of food was very good, the soft play amusements and bowling was ace a very clean site!! would definetly come back again

Room Tip: if you can afford it the exclusive lodges are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sargens48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

It’s great to read such a positive review, thank you very much for taking the time to leave your thoughts on TripAdvisor. We have heavily invested in our facilities in the past few years, and it’s wonderful to read that you took full advantage of the vast activities we offer on Park. Don’t forget to sign up to our to our email newsletter; our great value offers will be sent to you direct. Aidan Glover - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Sadly due to work commitments we were only able to stay at this park for one night.

The park itself isn't the biggest holiday park I've been too but certainly has it's own unique character. This park is mostly made up of lodges and apartments with room for tents, caravans. This park offers lot's of family based activities including rock climbing, a number of swimming pools and even a surf simulator. The main building which hosts the main bar, a sports bar, indoor pool, arcade, bowling alley and cinema is a bit of a maze but is well kept and the park is obviously spending money on the park as it look like the main bar and bowling alley has recently been refurbished/built.

The entertainment was superb, Much better than what i was expecting from a park of this size. The onsite entertainment team were great and the comedian kept us laughing all night. It's also worth pointing out the onsite shop is huge and well priced, this is the biggest onsite park shop I've seen on a holiday park.

Our apartment was of a good size and with everything we needed we were happy enough. The accommodation was slightly outdated with small signs of wear and tear but overall it was in good condition. The main thing was the apartment was very clean and tidy.

The location isn't the best. There's nothing in walking distance from the park and the village of Woolacombe is about 5 mins drive away. Also it's worth pointing out that there are no major towns in this corner of the country just a number of small seaside towns and villages with a handful of great beaches.

It's worth also pointing out that we visited off season so the park was very quiet and a number of the facilities were still closed for the winter (Outdoor pools, Old Mill restaurant) but I was still impressed with the amount of facilities the park still had to offer and the fact they were still offering live entertainment nightly. Also if your visiting in low season take a few jumpers and coats as it can get rather chilly.

Room Tip: Check out the nightly entertainment and the free adventure golf
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thrilljunkieuk99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Thank you very much for your positive review. We pride ourselves on being a family-owned Park, creating a more personal environment for our much valued guests, and it’s lovely to see that you appreciated the unique atmosphere of our Park. As a company, we have heavily invested in our facilities recently and it’s great to see that you made full use of the many activities on Park whilst also visiting the beautiful North Devon coast. Barnstaple is our biggest local town, being 25 minutes away. It has a range of high street shops, alternating with shops brimming with local produce and also hosts a daily market. We hope you managed to squeeze in a look whilst you were here! Don’t forget to sign up to our email newsletters to keep up to date with the latest offers, and we hope to welcome you to Golden Coast again. Aidan Glover - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Having spent 3 nights here I must admit it was a lot better than I thought it was going to be after reading some of the reviews. We stayed in one of the silver lodges, we collected our keys without any hassle and went to our lodge. Immediately we opened the door you could smell how clean it was and it was lovely and warm. There was everything we needed, the bed linen was warped ready for us to make the bed, the kitchen was spoltless, there was even a little packet with washing up liquid a scoured and a cloth. The only complaint we had was the mattress on the double bed was hard. We didn't use any of the facilities so can't comment on them. But overall we had a fab weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your recent holiday with us. In a society where people are always quick to complain we appreciate you taking the time to give positive feedback, and it’s great to see that you had such an enjoyable weekend with us. We hope to see you return in the near future. Aidan Glover - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We have just spent 5 days staying in a gold lodge in Woolacombe Bay on the Golden Coast Holiday Park. The lodge itself was great, clean, spacious and nice to have a dishwasher! We have two children (6 and 3) and there was lots to do on the site itself, however it is quite a walk into Woolacombe itself (approx 3 miles down a steep road without a footpath). Overall a great site, probably packed in the summer months, but a little bit far away from the beach!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rspit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. It’s great to read that you enjoyed our Gold Lodges, newly refurbished for Easter 2013, and also made the most of the beautiful surrounding area. From March until October each year, we provide an hourly bus service that takes you down to the beach and to the other parks for a small charge. Keep checking our website for fantastic money saving deals! Aidan Glover - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
1.3 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
855 reviews
4.2 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,822 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fortescue Arms
The Fortescue Arms
#3 of 4 in Woolacombe
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
837 reviews
1.7 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
895 reviews
3.9 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Coast Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Coast Holiday Village

Address: Station Road, Woolacombe EX34 7HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Woolacombe
Price Range: $20 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Coast offers a unique holiday experience with something for everyone to enjoy. Situated at the head of a picturesque valley, the Park can be as action-packed or indulgently relaxing as you with with all the facilities you could dream of to keep all ages entertained from dawn to dusk. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Golden Coast Holiday Village Hotel Woolacombe
Golden Coast Holiday Village Woolacombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing