We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woolacombe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Coast Holiday Village
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Just come back from a 5 day break to Golden Coast Holiday Village booked through Sun Holidays and didn't want to come home! We went with another family and 7 of us stayed in a sunnyside apartment very comfortably. It was clean, roomy, warm and had all the amenities we needed.

The park itself offered a great variety of entertainment day and night for adults and children. We all enjoyed the swimming pool which was open til quite late, bowling, arcades, cinema and wall climbing. The entertainment in the evening was excellent for all ages. The kids enjoyed the games and dances and the shop selling flashing toys was great value for money. The park entertainers worked hard every night to put on a good show with cash bingo, adult games, party dancing, karaoke and guest cabarets, They tried very hard to get everyone involved. We had a great night every night we was there!!!

The staff in reception were great and the bar staff were very friendly. The security guy even came outside if he spotted a child running outside if he thought they were on their own, fantastic!! The park entertainers were very friendly indeed and when time allowed they would come and sit with you and chat. We were made to feel very welcome and all the other guests there were friendly

If you was to read some of the negative reviews before you came, as we did, you might have some reservations about booking but we cannot fault this place and will definitely visit again especially as it was a bargain £9.50 sun holiday. If someone had written a bad review on this place its because they have nothing better to do than moan, people are too quick to moan but never praise when its due.

Overall a great place to go, a great park and will definitely visit there again. Thankyou, The Cross's!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hello the Cross Family!

I’m glad to read you had such a great stay with us. In a society where, as you mention people are too quick to moan it is very rewarding for our staff to receive such glowing feedback and I thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay.

I was pleased to read all our staff made such a good impression from security, reception, bars and the ParkStar entertainers and that you enjoyed making use of our wide range of activities and entertainment. We do hope to welcome you back again soon and you can follow us on Facebook to find out the latest Park news and chat to the ParkStars on their own Facebook page too.

Aidan Glover - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    699
    388
    217
    237
See reviews for
1,605
213
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 15, 2013

just like to say had a fab week at the golden coast kids entertainment was second to none ....out of this world but...... i wont be on stage again doing dirty dancing again in the near future think i broke my shoulder lol all in good taste !!! the accommodation was perfect we stay in sunny apartments it was very clean there was fresh bed lining on arrival everything that was on the check list in the kitchen cupboard was all present and was very warm in there the bathroom was spotless the only thing i could pin point was the bunk bed was a bit lose but hey aint they all it was just like going from home to home i dont know why people are saying different but i would recommend this holiday to any of my friends the kids loved it it was cold outside but the kids never moaned once as matter of fact we went down on the beach in Woolacombe and the kids were wading in with the surfers the club was nice inside the prices were reasonable as what you would expect to pay in any holiday club £ 5.75 for a cooked breakfast very good most of the kids toy led lights were £5 you can expect that again at any venue so not so bad really we paid £209 for Monday to Friday for 8 of us that's £6.50 each per day wot a bargain all i can say now is a big thank you to the gold coast park and staff for making this such a great week ok its February and cold outside but all the indoor fun and entertainment was as my title says Just Amazing

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a glowing review. It is great to read that your accommodation surpassed your expectations, and that your family enjoyed the beautiful local area as well as the on site facilities. Don’t forget to keep checking our website for great money saving deals on 2013 holidays, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Aidan Glover - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

have to advise if your staying on this park with family book one of the exclusive lodges, kitchens & bathrooms are really modern & look fairly new & by staying in these you will ensure you live in comfort for the week. come with a welcome pack including stuff for breakfast, cleaning materials etc. Bar prices similar to what you will find in any pub. Entertainment a little dated but family friendly. Quite a lot of activities for chilfren to do on site including a new wave pool for those wanting to learn surfing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at Golden Coast. I am pleased to read that you appreciated our Exclusive Lodges which were refurbished new for 2011, including Italian marble bathrooms, DVD players and an iPod docking station for your entertainment. We pride ourselves on being a family friendly Park, and I am pleased that this is reflected in our entertainment. I am also happy to read that you enjoyed the wide range of facilities on site for children, and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Aidan Glover - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We have just returned from a long weekend at golden coast, we have had 2 weekend breaks before this holiday at golden coast and have stayed in the bronze apartments, very dreary, dull and somewhat depressing accomodation, so decided this time we would pay another 50% and go for the silver lodge, we booked up on line never received a conformation e mail after 3 days called the very expensive 0844 no. to enquire if are booking and been received and why no e mail, the lady confirmed our booking checked e mail and said she would send conformation immediatley, never received a thing ! Arrived at accommodation in no.5 poachers paddock, clean and tidy enough and well equiped for a short break, then found our bathroom door would not shut, we have a 12 year old and a 14 year old who like to have some privacy in the bathroom this made it very awkward, we reported the problem on our way to the kids club (we have a 7 and 5 year old too) the lady wrote our complaint down on what looked a long list despite the park only being open for 2 hours ! we found out later that night hot water lasted approx 1 minute and reported problem sat morning and reminded them of door they said that someone had been around friday night and removed door and sanded it but needed doing more which would be done today, no-one ever came to sort out door or water so spent weekend with cold shower and open door, being in the building trade i can assure that none of that had happened,we used the sofa bed as there were six of us and have never been more uncomfortable in a nights sleep myself and my wife had three nights on the sofa bed and had about the same amount of hours sleep! on too kids club, enthusiastic lady encouraged kids to play and dance and seemed very natural, but when billy and betty came on they started doing a ridiculous rap and billy then told a story and after 5 mins of being bored the kids sat down very close to dropping off ! i was disappointed to find no draught beer seeing as bar is huge, only on the last night did i see a bottle of tribute in the fridge so with delight ordered a bottle, delight was very short lived as the bar man then asked me for £4.75 another sober night then as budget was taken up on very expensive drinks. Other points had a game of pool with my son no black ball, two pence coin machines blocked up and thinking about a re mortgage after getting kids sausage and chips from take away,beautiful beach awful holiday park

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank matthew186370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
I am sorry to read that you experienced some maintenance issues during your stay with us, and I apologise that these were not rectified to your satisfaction before departure. I will investigate this with our maintenance team, and pass on your comments to ensure we maintain our prompt response to issues. I am, however, pleased to read that you found the accommodation clean and well equipped. It is our aim to create a home from home feel. I am very sorry that you felt that the entertainment didn’t captivate your children, we normally receive many compliments in relation to our entertainment team.

We have had some issues with some email service providers directing confirmation emails into "spam" folders because they contain the confirmation as a pdf attachment. Most email accounts will allow these through and we have taken all possible measures to enable to emails to be delivered immediately. We are sorry if you have had difficulties with receiving your confirmation due to the setting on your email account. Just to confirm, 0844 numbers are charged at local rates of no more than 5p per minute from a BT landline and this therefore works out cheaper for callers than using our geographical 01271 numbers which can cost up to twice as much per minute.

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We welcome all feedback as it helps us to improve our service to future guests.

Aidan Glover - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last weekend in Pine Cones, a two bed villa. As soon as we entered we knew we had made a mistake in coming here, the place was cold, I put the tiny heater on but it made no difference. We noticed the fire alarm was hanging off the ceiling and had no battery..joy..The lights did not work upstairs and when I switched the toaster on it tripped all the electrics in the villa. I noticed that the legal annual test on the electrical appliances were all well out of date, I think this is illegal. Off we went to reception and spoke to the teenager behind the counter, I gave back the toaster and asked for one which worked and did not have bird mess on it, I asked for the lights to be fixed as well, this was promised to be done ASAP.
We returned home 6 hours later to find one light now working but no kettle. We were tired and cold so could not be bothered to go back and complain again. On checking out we asked where the kettle was and could not get answer.
the tv is so small you have to use binoculars to see it.
Freschco supermarket is good, TIP..do not pay for entertainment passes, we didn't and walked into the bar on two occasions and were not asked for a pass, 36 quid they wanted for four passes.. Rip off.
The location is good and the kids facilities are great, this place just needs new management and upgraded accommodation.
If the manager would like to comment on my review then I would be glad to see his answers to the unsafe electrics and non existent fire alarm... Accident waiting to happen I fear.
We have been to many of these holiday parks in Devon and this was the worst yet.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank craigbKentUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I was disheartened to read of your dissatisfaction whilst on Park. Without your booking details, I cannot look into the specifics, however I will pass on your concerns to our Housekeeping Manager to ensure our usual high standards are adhered to. With reference to the electrical testing, unfortunately sometimes the stickers we place on the plugs do fall off, however all our appliances have annual testing, confirmation of which is housed centrally. Customer safety is of paramount importance to us. Entertainment passes are regularly checked by our Reception team, we also have security on each evening and entertainment passes are checked during bingo each night. I apologise that you were not questioned when walking through the bar.

We value all feedback, positive and negative, so thank you very much for taking the time to do so.

Aidan Glover - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We've just cut short our break here - and as it was only for three nights that gives you some idea of how dissatisfied we are with our break.

We booked a cheap deal in a bottom of the range bronze villa that permitted us to bring our dog. So we were expecting a tired worn villa. Which it was. But it was clean and spacious. The spacious element proving a problem in February as the small heaters were not up to the task of heating the large rooms. A bit later in the year I'm sure they would be sufficient to take the edge of a slight chill.

Several maintenance issues - it was start of the season so maybe us early guests are used to help them trace the problems :

Loose bricks on the bottom step of the path to the front door.
Cracked window in the bathroom
The bathroom door would not close, and even if you could the lock was not complete.
Kids bedroom door would not shut

Nothing to ruin a visit and all things we could live with.

If you are a reader, then there is a problem - no reading lights in the bedroom, just one dim bulb in the centre.

The big gripe however came when our daughter and her friend were kept up till 11:30 as a neighbouring dog owner decided not to comply with the rule to never leave your dog unattended and left their yap machine locked in a bedroom whilst they went off to prop up the bar.

It took some time for me to be able to get to speak to the manager to try and get something done as apparently I could not see him until the evening show was over. But on finding out he was not actually performing in it demanded the issue be attended with more urgency - two kids are being kept awake and a dog is in distress.

The owner was tracked down, but unfortunately the staff took her at her word that she'd return to her dog. All she did was return to the bar. Eventually, after I had to complain again, a security guard escorted her back to the villa.

The thought of another cold night and that poor dog yapping it's head off 'till who knows when was enough to make us head home early.

We booked this as a taster for maybe visiting longer in the summer. Unsurprisingly we won't.

Which is a shame.

In better weather I'm sure the villas will be a good place to base your holiday. The park covers a large area, it's great you can take you dog with you. There's a nice dog walk (although there's no places on site to let dour dog run free) with plenty of poo bins. On arriving at your villa there's a pet pack, with some treats a ball food and water bowls and a bed.

A very pleasant surprise what the Fresco supermarket on site (not sure how Tescos have not thrown a lawyer at that) which was a good size, well stocked and on par price wise with any local independent convenience store - no whacking the prices up hugely for the captive customers.

Room Tip: Don't get a non-centrally heated villa if you go when it's cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barnum42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We have received your direct correspondence and will be in touch via letter shortly. Unfortunately when you requested to see the Duty Manager, he was in fact on Park dealing with a separate matter and he was not performing in the show, I apologise for the confusion. I am pleased you enjoyed many other aspects of the Park and hope you reconsider your decision not to return to enable us the chance to give you the pricelessly enjoyable family holiday that the majority of our guests experience. Aidan Glover - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

we booked through the Sun holiday for a £9.50 holiday and tried to upgrade. Now bear in mind on their website they are selling holidays in their exclusive 3 bed caravans for £220.30 and they have four remaining. In the brochure, it states the upgrade will be £165.00. Their rep just quoted me £205 pounds extra and then insisted this was to be paid on top of the £47.50 I'd already paid through the Sun. RIP OFF! Surely this can't be legal? Someone should do something about this disgusting practice. Needless to say I'd rather lose £47.50 than spend a penny on these rip off merchants! I will be trying to claim back of the Sun though don't hold out much hope! Wish me luck!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smiffffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
We are sorry to read that you are disappointed with your holiday booking for our Park made through a third party newspaper promotion. The Sun newspaper promotion does not make guarantees to customers that it will be the cheapest price for any break, in fact what it does is guarantees the same price for all breaks allocated to customers. These do include the £9.50 per head charge, the mandatory nightly service charge and optional facility & entertainment passes which are all shown as individual costs, although when booking directly with the Park operator these are all included in every price. The cost of optional upgrades are also fixed rates regardless of the holiday date. Our own direct booking prices do vary a lot more and are generally adjusted according to demand.

The cost of upgrades at Golden Coast on Sun bookings have been held for 2013 and they are available before making a booking by contacting the Park in advance to find out the prices. The £165 is the advertised price for an Exclusive 3-bedroom caravan, although there are optional additional upgrades available and from the price you have quoted we would assume that this includes both the optional en-suite upgrade (£20) and optional 2013 new model upgrade (£20). There are many other upgrade options available and if you contact the call centre they will be able to advise you.

Unfortunately the terms of The Sun newspaper promotion are that once booked no refunds are available for any reason and therefore you would not be able to get a refund on your initial payment. We would therefore urge you to further study the mini-brochure sent with your confirmation and discuss upgrade options, perhaps to one of the Gold Lodges which have been refurbished for 2013 and cost £80 and if you wish to add the grocery pack this will be £35 making a total upgrade price of £115, at Golden Coast.

We look forward to welcoming you soon to Golden Coast for your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
1.4 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
816 reviews
1.7 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
843 reviews
4.2 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
829 reviews
4.0 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
6.1 mi away
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
#6 of 7 in Combe Martin
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Coast Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Coast Holiday Village

Property: Golden Coast Holiday Village
Address: Station Road, Woolacombe EX34 7HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Woolacombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Coast offers a unique holiday experience with something for everyone to enjoy. Situated at the head of a picturesque valley, the Park can be as action-packed or indulgently relaxing as you with with all the facilities you could dream of to keep all ages entertained from dawn to dusk. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Golden Coast Holiday Village Hotel Woolacombe
Golden Coast Holiday Village Woolacombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing