We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FILTHY DISGUSTING PARK .....WOULD NEVER GO BACK”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woolacombe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Coast Holiday Village
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“FILTHY DISGUSTING PARK .....WOULD NEVER GO BACK”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Would Never ever visit this park or recommend it to anyone ! Just returned from a 3 night visit to golden coast . Never been so glad to get home . This place should be shut down . Having visited many different holiday parks it is by far the worst place we have ever visited . On arrival we were given the keys to our silver lodge which we payed 635 pound for , for the three nights . On approach to the lodge the door and windows looked filthy and my first impressions were this doesn't look good . Entered the lodge to find ants all over the floor and floors that clearly hadn't been hoovered or cleaned . The kettle was thick with grease and dirt as was the oven. Mould covered the bedroom walls . There were no bins and the bathroom floor was covered with dirty water . Coming from a very clean home we immediately refused to stay in the filthy lodge and complained . We were told the housekeeping manager would come across immediately , she never did , we had to go find her . They offered us a move and once we had checked the alternative lodge we agreed to move . It was cleaner than the origional one but we still thoroughly cleaned it before use, and once in there again noted a problem with ants both on floors and in cupboards . The shower room was a health and safety hazard with the shower leaking all over the floor , no bath or slip mats and the shower falling off the wall and constant temperature change . When making up the beds linen was very dated , full of holes and covered with hair so had to be changed. Outside the lodge were a pile of around a hundred cig ends which we reported twice before they were removed . We ventured out the next morning to travel to the beach with the bus passes we had purchased . The bus travels around the 4 parks so is generally full when it arrives at golden coast so we waited an hour for the next bus , only when it arrived the queue of waiting people were packed on with people standing both upstairs ON AN OPEN TOP BUS ! And downstairs . When we asked why the second waiting bus was not being used we were told " ah everyone will fit on there , saves sending another bus . So we got on with everyone like packed sardines ! Getting back was even worse with buses running every hour , and still one bus running the queue to return to the park was around 200 people ! So rather than wait 2 hours we had no choice but to get a mini bus . We again complained about this service and had our bus pass fee refunded , along with the taxi fare . It is obvious to all that on a bank holiday weekend the park is going to be busy and people understand that but the park more than anyone should be full prepared for busy times . Also note when purchasing activity packages that age restrictions apply asthey are not pointed out . Staffing in the new outdoor activity area was very poor and we stood half an hour waiting to ask about the bungee trampoline and water walkers to be told it was closed . NO CLOSED SIGNS WERE IN PLACE . We tried to use the indoor swimming pool and were told " it's full " but you can use the outdoor one in the pouring rain and cold weather , so we passed on that too . The amusement arcades were constantly swallowing money with no staff around to rectify problems and the lady dealing with the token prizes is one of the rudest people I have ever come across . We were also short changed in the bar on 4 separate occasions . Having dealt with terry one of the managers who I must say was understanding and thoroughly decent , he organised a meeting with the general manager . However after waiting a day ( when we were willing to leave and go home ) we were then told that AIDEN GLOVER the general manager was not there ( even though we had been told he was on sight ) after insisting we spoke to him he finally came through to the club room to see us . I have never encountered a more arrogant , unhelpful man who clearly should not be doing the job he's doing . No apology , that our weekend was ruined and unable to take any negativity about the park , it's facilities and the fact he was basically not meeting the needs of people who are paying a lot of money to stay on a basically filthy complex . This man I can only say reminded me of someone off rogue traders once there exposed. So if your brave enough to visit this dirt hole , look out for him . Having read lots of other reviews I think it's time mr glover takes note and does something about the problems lots of people are commentingo on . On the positive side Chris and Nathan the entertainers are great and do aa fantastic job , as is the guy on the bungee trampoline who is fantastic with the kids and works really hard .

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Sara1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
We have received your correspondence to the Park and answered all comments and concerns. Aidan Glover - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    673
    378
    208
    235
See reviews for
1,529
204
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I are expecting our first baby in Dec this year so booked this low budget holiday. We have been on many sun holidays before and have always taken a chance to not upgrade. My we wish we did. The chatlet was dirty and over the first day we got bitten from fleas in the room. When we arrived the tv was not working which was replaced quickly but when the man came to do it he knocked then just walked in without being told to enter. The old mill pub was good for a drink but do not eat there. We went on the Tuesday night (curry night) and when we got there about 7.30 we were told the curry was sold out although they were still bringing out curry for customers. We ordered a homemade lasagne and a scampi instead then had to move indoors as it was getting chilly. When inside we could hear people ordering and being sold curry although we were told it was sold out. When our food came an hour later it was clearly not homemade. Reminded me of a frozen dinner. We had to eat it as buy now it was gone 9 am and we wouldn't of got anything else unless you wanted pizza from the billy bistro on site which we did not. The location was good but we left a day early as being pregnant I could face anymore bites or the rock hard bed.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stocklchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Sorry to hear your recent holiday did not meet your expectations. I am surprised to read you report being bitten during your stay as we have never had any reports of any of our guests being bitten. The Old Mill Pub serves a wide range of homemade food and prides itself on having excellent feedback from our on Park questionnaires and trip advisor. Im sorry you did not like your meal on this particular occasion. Aidan Glover - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We have been to this holiday park for the past 3 years and have never failed to have a great time.

The have now opened the extreme sports facilities which are worth a go at as we had great fun on the surf machine.

All in all there are a few areas that could be improved so here are my thoughts...

1) The new outdoor sports has replaced the outdoor play park for toddlers and small children. Apart from the old pink elephant randomly placed amongst the older accomoodation there is no longer any swings or slides for the under 3's. They have built a new pirate ship play area but this is not suitable for under 3's and has no slide.

2) We always stay ini the bungalows as these are much nicer than any caravan or villa. This year the lodge was a bit run down and in need of some tlc in terms of curtain poles hanging off the wall, tv not working, remote celotaped together. We had cigarette butts and glass on our patio which when asked to get swept up because of our toddlers a cleaner came round and claimed to of swept it (which she hadnt) and when i confronted her and showed her the remaining glass etc, she told me that she was unable to move the bench by herself to clean the area in question ( my 2 year old could move the bench by himself!). All in all the bungalows would be my recomendation maybe even the exclusive if you can afford the extra money (they are amazing), but i would recommend to the resort to replace the frying pans with some that dont stick and provide baking trays to cook on.

Checked out all the other ssister sites and they dont compare to to Golden Coast.

We would normally book the 50% before you leave deal and we were tempted but due to children starting school in sept we are unable to do so. Shame they dont offer the same offer if you are returning for your fourth year!

Oh and also the childrens hour should have more appropriate childrens ganes when its in term time as it was mostly toddlers and preschool children but the entertaunment was still aimed at 5 - 6 year olds.

Room Tip: Exclusive Bungalows are the best but lakeside is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swainy7455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your most recent stay with us. It’s great that you continue to chose to holiday with us and all your comments above are noted. It is through guest feedback that we continue to improve so thank you for taking the time to write. Aidan Glover - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Stayed at this park for 4 night break (Monday to Friday) in April. Initially booked a three bedroom Gold Lodge but decided, prior to our holiday, to upgrade to a three bedroom Exclusive Lodge and was allocated 3 Lundy Fields. I must say the person I spoke to was extremely helpful.

On arrival there were only 4 dining chairs, one of which was broken (we were a party of six). This was reported to Reception and a further three chairs were provided. However, these did not match the chairs already in the Lodge and did not appear to be such good quality. Having paid for an Exclusive Lodge we did not expect to have odd dining chairs!

On Monday evening we discovered there was not a remote control for the television in the bedroom. This was reported to Reception on Tuesday morning, late Tuesday afternoon and again on Wednesday, but one was not provided and we were unable to use this facility.

We also reported on Tuesday that the Dishwasher needed rinse aid. This had still not been put in when we left on Friday.

On the whole the Lodge was clean – except for the cooking pots and pans. The saucepans, frying pan and oven trays had to be washed before they could be used.

Congratulations on the shower rooms – these were very nice and modern.

A letter was sent to Aidrian Glover – General Manager in April but, to date no reply has been received.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrendaBran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us at the Golden Coast.
I have looked through our file and can find no correspondence regarding your holiday. Our Exclusive lodges are extremely popular and are booked out throughout the year. We take our customer service very seriously and if you would be so kind to send a copy letter to the Park and we will happy to look into the issues you raised. Aidan Glover - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset, england
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We have just come back from a wonderful week at Golden Coast. We opted for budget caravan on a Sun holiday deal but were not dissapointed by what we got. The van slept 8 - 1 double bed, 2 x singled bedded rooms and a double sofabed in lounge, the single beds were very slim and definitely meant for children. Also the van walls are like cardboard so if there is a snorer in your group no-one will get any sleep so take ear-plugs! However the van was well equipt & clean with plenty of hot water & heaters in every room. There was a nice touch of having a parking space next to the caravan one side and a picnic bench which had a fixed metal bbq plate on it the other side.

The site is quite big and we were situated quite far away from the reception and main areas of the site, down a steep slope which is where it seems most the budget vans are located, which was okay but required using muscles i hadn't used for some time - for someone with mobility difficulties it could be a problem. The nice thing about being here was it backed onto a woodland area so the views from the van were great, and the only noise was birdsong. There were also nice woodland walks here and a small childs playground here with more bbq benches. There was also a big house with apartments and a second indoor pool at this end of the site (the main pool is next to reception) this second pool was much quieter, it had a jacuzzi and a sauna here too - you need tokens to get into the pool, collected from main reception, but each time we passed reception to go to the bars ect. they were happy to hand out a few so we didnt have to keep going up the hill before using the pool. There are no attendants so parents have to be with kids in pool.

Nearer the main reception the park has nice looking chalets and more caravans.

The main reception area houses the bar and show area, which has food hatch for usual fast food stuff. There is also an adjacent bar to this which feels more adult (although kids are allowed in here with parents) and has pool tables. There is an arcade on several levels, a soft play area for kids, a bowling alley and even a tiny cinema room as well as the swimming pool. In fact loads to do for families. There are also clubs for kids during the day and a huge outdoor area where kids can do climbing and other activities although there is cost for these.
The evening entertainment was bog standard holiday camp stuff, but staff were very jolly and actually quite talented. the kids enjoyed the disco and games and there was always bingo (we went to play pool or bowling then) and a caberet act which was ok.
There was also a seperate pub on site called the 'Old Mill' i think that did food and a cafe, shop and craft centre.
Also had a yellow double decker bus that went between the 3 sister holiday sites and the beach - costs £4 per week each and under 5's free. It goes up and back to the beach several times a day and was well worth the money.
The beach is great - sand and rockpools and on a sunny day is lovely, even on an overcast one there is plenty to do and see. Just watch out for the seagulls at the beach - we watched them ambush one young lad who had just bought chips from the chip van on the beach - they are mean buggers!
We had a glorious week and all found plenty to do - well recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a van or chalet near reception if you have mobility problems. For peace and quiet choose car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pipsy589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you for your glowing report of your recent holiday. It's great to hear you liked your accommodation and that you made use of some of our many Park facilities. We encourage our guests to visit the fantastic Woolacombe Beach, either in their own Cars, making use of our bus facility or parking at Twitchen House and using the footpath down to the beach. The weather is still lovely here so make sure you check out the offers on our website and come and see us again soon. Aidan Glover - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed in no 1 cleavewood a exclusive 2 bed van, i have to say i expected more internally from a exclusive it was tired but very nice just not stunning or outstanding, the cleanliness was good but i am ultra fussy so no campsite could ever match my standard. the views are outstanding and that is what you pay for!!! it is a gorgeous site and we loved it, the kids enjoyed the pirate ship but it was shut for 2 days for painting, we did bowling approx 19.00 for a family. pottery painting was great fun but is expensive. The food is a little chip orientated but it is good quality and not expensive.
The parkstars where great and the mad hatters tea party was really good fun.
I loved this site and i loved the bus they offer this site beats haven for quality, accomodation, pools, cleanliness, value for money and entertainment. It hands down beats john fowler as well.
The overall cleanliness of the internal areas is outstanding,
we enjoyed this site and would return again.
The only thing we have to complain about was internally fittings but that really is minor.
Go on the bus if you fancy a day at the beach and want a bit of a scary ride as well.
just go enjoy and post how great this site really is, they deserve good press.

Room Tip: the exclusive vans have great sea views and are worth that bit more if you are going in good weather
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aramintta c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you for posting a review of your recent holiday with us at the Golden Coast.
I’m glad you enjoyed staying at our Park and using the facilities on offer. Our top accommodations are our Exclusive lodges, you can view pictures on our website, and these may be more to your liking than the Caravans and would be worth thinking about for your next stay as you like the extra luxury. We hope to welcome you on holiday with us again in the future. Aidan Glover - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Stayed here on a Sun Holidays break, and chose to upgrade to a 2 bed Silver lodge. Was able to check in around an hour earlier than expected, which with twin toddlers was a god send as they were getting tired from the journey. We had a lodge right next to the new adventure park and beach club, which didnt create extra noise, except the wednesday night when there was very loud music between 7-10pm.
Ate on site and at the old mill pub, both very good, and as expected. The entertainment in the evenings were great for our 18 month old daughters, and the prices for the bar and childrens bar reasonable.
Only down side was the soft play area is quite difficult to get to with a double pushchair, you have to go down some steps into the bowling alley, then a lot more steps back up at the back of the bowling. If this was relocated, it would be great for our girls.
Overall, we were really pleased with our break here, and hoping to return next year, if not before.

Room Tip: After you have been once, you will know exactly where on the site you want to stay. For us the sunny...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank for you your positive feedback. We always release units as soon as they have been cleaned and checked on arrival day and I’m glad to hear you appreciated your early check-in. A tip for your next visit is to use the disabled entrance to our bowling alley as it avoids the steps. I will pass your praise on to our entertainment team and we look forward to seeing you again very soon. Aidan Glover - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
1.4 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
780 reviews
1.7 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
802 reviews
1.0 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,746 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Fortescue Arms
The Fortescue Arms
#3 of 4 in Woolacombe
105 reviews
4.0 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Coast Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Coast Holiday Village

Property: Golden Coast Holiday Village
Address: Station Road, Woolacombe EX34 7HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Woolacombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Coast offers a unique holiday experience with something for everyone to enjoy. Situated at the head of a picturesque valley, the Park can be as action-packed or indulgently relaxing as you with with all the facilities you could dream of to keep all ages entertained from dawn to dusk. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Golden Coast Holiday Village Hotel Woolacombe
Golden Coast Holiday Village Woolacombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing