We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,868)
Filter reviews
2,868 results
Traveler rating
966
910
474
250
268
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
966
910
474
250
268
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old mill silver lodge golden coast exclusive lodge bronze villa on site surf simulator wave machine washer dryer high ropes bowling alley all ages outdoor pool climbing wall next year water walkers evening entertainment
Filter
Updating list...
2,741 - 2,746 of 2,868 reviews
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We stayed at Golden Coast for four nights during Februray half term staying in a 'silver two bedroom' caravan. The caravan was fairly small but ideal as a base for the two of us. We were worried about it being cold due to the time of year, but the fire in the lounge warmed it up very quickly.

The caravan was in excellent condition clean and very well maintained.

The club facilites were open although we didnt really use them. We had a walk around the club which contains a sports bar, swimming pool, take away, reception, small cinema, bowling alley (extra cost), arcade, pool tables, table tennis tables and entertainment room. The swimming was free which was a bonus. There were a number of other facilities which were closed, due to it being out of season.

The site itself is big and has a variety of accomodation options. There was quiet a bit of development going on as they are investing in the park.

I imagine this would be an ideal site for families. But it suited us as a base from which we could visit other places. It would be a long walk into Woolacombe.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay. I’m glad to hear you were impressed with the number of facilities on park and enjoyed the swimming pools and that you were pleased with the standard of accommodation. Aidan Glover – General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Booked here through a newspaper deal, just £10 each per night. Had to pay service charges and for the entertainment passes on top but at about £90 for a long weekend for a family of 4 that sounded like a deal! Due to the price we paid we weren't expecting too much from the accomodation but were pleasently suprised with what we ended up with. The decor was a little dated, and the cooker could have done with replacing, but it looks like there is a lot of investment going in to the park so hopefully these little things will be sorted out. We were right behind the clubhouse but didn't get disturbed at all. Entertainment in the evening was your standard type thing with kids disco, bingo etc but it was all done very well. The take away was ok but not great. The pool we used was great and we spent hours in there and the Waves ceramic studio/coffee bar was a really nice place to chill out and paint some pottery.
All in all a very good park and the kids really enjoyed it, which is the main thing.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank benny007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of you recent stay. I am glad to hear we exceeded your expectations. As a company we spend a lot of money every year in our ongoing refurbishment programme as well as investing heavily in more and more facilities on our parks.
We hope to be able to welcome you and your family again soon.
Aidan Glover- General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

myself and my partner went to this park last october, and choose it only as i had visited it when i was a youngster (15yrs ago) and really enjoyed it. we were at first wondering if it would be as good as obviously things do change after such a long time period.

On arrival it was as i remembered. everything was great our caravan was down near the mansion so was about a 5min walk to clubhouse and meant crossing the country lane (so just to be aware at night incase car is coming as no lighting, which really they could do with) the caravan was lovely, it was clean tidy and plently of room, it also had on suite in master bedroom which was unexpected. Our patio doors opened to the decking where we sat and could see the views of the sea (lucky for us we went on that really hot week in oct)

The swimming pool we used was the one allocated in the massion which was fab it wasnt really that busy wheich meant most of time had it to ourselves, only thing that could do with changing is having a lifeguard or someone on watch due to there being kids about 10yrs old coming in on there own, and like i say the pool was mostly empty so they would have been alone.
All other facilites were great to we played golf which was great fun (need to put down £10deposit which you get back after)
The entertainment was good and had different things each night, bingo was fun too and they also done quizzes for the adults. The drinks were reasonable price, and so was the food. Only downfall is that we wanted some chips at about 9.30 and food had closed.

We went to ilfracombe and woolacombe beach and both were great, with things to do and little shops to have a wonder. We also visited barnstaple which was ok.

Overall it was a excellent holiday, we would go back again.

(SPA WAS NOT IN USE AND UNDERGOING WORK WHICH IS WHY UNABLE TO COMMENT ON RATING)

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lil_angel023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us, its great to hear that you are a returning guest and that you were not disappointed with your choice to stay with us again.

I see you made use of the Cleavewood pool near the caravan section of our park, the entertainment and some of our sporting facilities and that you enjoyed the extra luxury your grade of caravan gave you.

We have invested in more fun facilities and entertainment for 2012 and we look forward to welcoming your family back again soon.

Aidan Glover – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Booked this with the Sun breaks.
On arrival we were allocated a horrendous flat which had twin beds as soon as you walked in the door and a sofa bed in the living area. Not ideal for travelling with two children. I went to reception and thought I'd ask for an upgrade but when I explained it wasn't suitable they put us in a little house. Now it was pretty tired and shabby (and cold!) but it was clean and had a newly fitted bathroom. Sofa bed in lounge but upstairs double bedroom plus another huge room with twin beds plus bunkbeds!
The first night we discovered the heating wasn't really up to much and ended up heating ourselves up by putting all 4 rings on on the stove! (once kids were in bed!) Not ideal and suppose we shoudl have gone to reception but just didn't think of it! We asked for heaters the next day and got them so that was fine.
The rooks in the trees at the back of the house were very noisy but the kids' room was at the back and ours at the front so that was fine!
On site there was absolutely LOADS to do. The kids loved it. We always take a massivce load of sports equipment we have picked up from charity shops over the years and that means not having to bother paying a deposit for tennis or golf but it was only a deposit and otherwise it was all free so ideal.
We went to a show one night and ever since have had 'when are we going to wee will rock you' (they had done a Queen tribute) so that was obviously a success. Not my cup of tea if I'm honest but it was funny in a way it wasn't meant to be! Other nights the kids were too tired to go out!
Ilfracombe was lovely but the caves were closed so that was disappointing.
In summary with this I'd say it was very good value for money but if you only pay £60 (on a Sun break it was £9.50 each plus service charge) then you get what you pay for! £5 each per night isn't that bad - you'd struggle to get camping for that!!!

Room Tip: You get what you pay for. If you're using it as a base don't pay a lot, if you plan to spend all your time in your accommodation then pay more!
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Eurochic28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2012

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us. I’m glad to hear we were able to change your accommodation for a more suitable one. We have over the winter refurbished our bronze apartments and some of the bronze villas as they are very popular with our promotional holiday guests.
We have also invested over the winter in even more leisure facilities including our new high ropes course. We hope to see you and your family again in 2012 and check out our website for more information on our brand new facilities.

Aidan Glover – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

we were prepared for a not to pleasant stay, after reading some bad reviews!! but would like to say! that the reviews we had read were totally unjust!!! accomodation was 3 bed silver lodge, furniture and bathroom a little tired, but otherwise couldnt fault it!! beautiful location, and for the time of year 18th-21st november, good weather!! hope to visit here again! many thanks!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank diannaBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

We were delighted to read that you really enjoyed your stay. We do think it is a great ressource for us to gain customer feedback (and act on it) but unfortunately not all reviews are totally balanced. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Aidan Glover - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews