We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Watersmeet Hotel(Woolacombe)
$290
$280
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Europa Park(Woolacombe)(Great Value!)
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
The Fortescue Arms(Woolacombe)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pitchup.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marine House(Woolacombe)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
The Beach House(Woolacombe)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,683)
Filter reviews
2,683 results
Traveler rating
882
853
452
239
257
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
882
853
452
239
257
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold millgolden coastexclusive lodgebronze villaon sitesurf simulatorwave machinehigh ropeswasher dryerbowling alleyall agesoutdoor poolclimbing wallnext yearwater walkersevening entertainmentsoft play
Filter
Updating list...
2,566 - 2,571 of 2,683 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Hi I have stayed at the golden coast since i was 9 and i am now 38, granted there was a twenty year gap, however as someone who came as a 9 year old till 18, then again from 36 till present day, i think i can give you an honest opinion of this site.

The golden coast has changed since i was 18 some things for the good some for the bad, my main comment would be apart from adding a few chairs in the main entertainment room in the club house and a few metal railing the room is fundamentally the same, back in the 90's this room was adequately sized and a had a good house band. Now a days its way too small and needs extending as you feel you are sitting on someones knee the tables are so cramped together, and you do get nudged constantly by children trying to run around??? (this is the parents fault not the camps). The pool area in the main club house really hasnt changed much in 30 years, but now it gets very crowded in bad weather and would benefit from staff being present as the kids today show no respect and jump over you and although signs say no diving they do, so please put in a staff member to police these areas in busy times.

The accommodation has changed also in 30 years, the apartments were old back then too and look pretty much the same, but 30 years ago it was one of only a few accommodation it was either an apartment a static caravan or your own tent /caravan, the camp was much smaller and felt more family run back then, Now its very commerical and has lost a little bit of its charm,.

However this is still a lovely site, with nice accommodation, since returning 30 years later i have stayed in a silver lodge and yeah the tv was old but your on holiday why watch tv really get out and about stop moaning about a tv, the silver lodge we stayed in was fine, very clean, and comfortable, great shower and had plenty of room for the 3 of us, it was a little dated but no problems really we were in number 34 and couldnt complain and the washer dryer was great to have.

Our last two visits were in the exclusive caravan accommodation, we had en suite toilet and walk in wardrobe, and 30 tv channels for thoughts who want more tv, it has dvd player, is lovely accommotion and is cheaper too than a lodge, the other lovely thing on the golden coast about this accommodation its near the old mill pub its a quieter location and you have your own parking space so well worth the money. oh and you get free starter pack of food too and bbq so cant complain.

My only real critism of this place over thirty years and has always been the same issue is that the bus stops running very early about 5.30pm, i understand in autumn and winter to do this but in spring and summer run it later whilst its light some of us wish to stay later in woolacombe or even visit another camp for a meal. Its expensive to get a taxi back from the town is nearly £10 and even between camps its not much cheaper and you can wait ages of a taxi our longest wait two hours, so please run your bus later??

So all in all my thirty years i would sum it up as I keep coming back as its a lovely place to come, i came as a child and now bring my own, as i want him to see the same magic in this place that i did all them years ago, and for a kid from the computer generation, he keeps wanting us to come back next year, so the golden coast is still doing something right even after all these years,

so to sum it up we love exclusive accommodation, you do get what you pay for at the end of the day if you pay pennies expect basic if you pay pounds expect luxury, all in all its still a great holiday place and still has some charms that bring me back.

keep up the good work and see you in 2012,

Room Tip: Pick exclusive accommodation its brilliant
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sharpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

The Golden Coast Holiday Park is located just outside Woolacombe Bay, North Devon. It consists of a village of various grades of holiday lodges and flats, plus standings for caravans and tents, all served by a large range of activities, entertainments and other facilities. The area is windy, although is was autumn when we were there. The site is a couple of miles from Woolacombe itself. When you get there, the beach is outstanding, large, shallow and sandy.

The Holiday Park is spaciously laid out and sensibly designed. It is well maintained, clean and tidy. The range of facilities available to holiday makers is extensive, generous even. The centre point is a large entertainment complex laid out on three floors with dozens of attractions, the most important being a large entertainments hall with stage and bar, indoor heated swimming pool, bowling alley, cinema, and soft play hall. If you like electronic things, they are there in profusion, ditto sports things, indoor and outdoor. There are bars and a pub. Not relevant to us because it was too cold is an outdoor swimming pool, plus several dipping pools around the site. Aside from entertainment, there is a large, useful supermarket.

As a family we hired one of the premier lodges with a late season deal in October. The lodge was very good, intelligently designed, reasonably spacious and adequately fitted out. It was clean and tidy when we arrived with everything working. We had a couple of little maintenance issues, but they were fixed within half a day of reporting them. The weather was turning cold at the time we chose to stay, but the central heating worked well, in fact we turned it down a bit.

Inevitably there are a few negatives. There are some snack bars and the likes, but unless you don't mind having football blaring in your ears, there is no proper restaurant except the Sports Bar. The on-site pub is very ordinary, uninteresting and their food was uninspiring. We were supposed to have wi-fi in our area, but none of us could pick it up; however there is good wi-fi at £1 per hour in one of the snack bars.

We found the staff universally well trained, friendly, competent and keen to help you. One statement that sums up the whole site is this – Everything they offer in their brochure is available. There was little of the “Oh it's closed now” type of excuse you sometimes hear elsewhere. We paid £450 for 4 adults +2 young children for 7 nights. By any standards it was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2011

Thank you for your review of your recent holiday. I’m glad you read you enjoyed your holiday and thought the park was clean, well designed with plenty of facilities. We are investing in a new high ropes course, climbing wall and surfing simulator for 2012 and I hope to welcome you and your family back again in 2012. Aidan Glover - General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

After reading previous reviews about Golden Coast we were more than a little appprehensive about going, but we were pleasantly surprised.

Reception were very efficient and pleasant on arrival and allowed us to check in early. We stayed in a silver plus caravan and it was very clean and suited us down to the ground - i would advise a caravan as apposed to the lodges which looked a bit tired and old.

The park grounds were clean and had lots of activities available for all ages. Of course going in October the outdoor pools were closed but again looked fine. We ate at the Old Mill Pub one evening and the food was lovely - highly recommended.

The only criticisms i would have would be the size of the seating area where the evening entertainment is. We went up two nights in a row to watch tribute acts and we could not get a seat even going two and a half hours before they were due to start, it seems small for the amount of guests that could be accomodated on the site, in the end we gave up and went back to the van. The other was the price of the on-site bowling which was £5.95pp for one game or £20 for a family of 4 for an hour, Compared to other sites (haven etc) this is expensive in comparison.

All in all we were very pleased with the park and enjoyed the holiday, we are planning on returning next summer when hopefully the weather will be kinder and we can enjoy Woolacombes beautiful beaches.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cl0ud9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Have just returned after a mon-fri stay. On arrival we were sent to lakeside villa no 5. 1st impressions on walkin in very dated inside like walking into a 60s villa. Very strong musty smelling! On the plus side went straight back to reception to get moved into a caravan which is what we stayed in last year. Would recommend anyone staying here to be in clevewood which is like being on a separate site. Seems like the site as updated all the caravans but not the villa/apartments as the caravans are very clean and modern.Would stay here again but only in a caravan. Staff were very helpfull and moved us without any fuss at all. For what we paid all in all very reasonable.Just get those villas updated into 2011 please!!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oakley49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2011

Thank for your review of the Golden coast Holiday Village. We do operate an ongoing refurbishment programme, for example this year we introduced lots of new caravan and new exclusive lodges and we will be continuing refurbishments again this winter. I’m glad to hear you liked your caravan and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Aidan Glover - General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Booked a cheap 4 day break Oct '11 in a Silver Lodge. Were given a lakeside villa (no.15). First impressions were not good - musty smell throughout (curtains/carpet could do with a steam clean or replacing), used cotton wool pads left in bedroom and bins were dirty and un-emptied. Though it must be said when we complained the bins were sorted promptly. Apart from the above mentioned problems the chalet was clean, bit could do with modernising. Outside the chalet was also a little shabby - overgrown and grubby windows!!

We asked to upgrade when we realised the TV was decrepit and only received 4 channels (in 2011!!), but were told it would cost £358 to move to the next level of accommodation - we declined as the initial holiday was less than £100 all in - not quite sure where the massive price hike came from.

Facilities were adequate on the park: pool area well kept and clean, bowling area/arcade decent, bars and food outlets looked fine, though we didn't really use these.

Nice area of North Devon, close to Woolacombe and other nearby attractions.

Average for a cost of less than £25 per night, wouldn't pay anymore however.

Room Tip: Book higher-spec gold level accommodation
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_Man01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2011

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I was sorry to hear that you experienced some issues with the cleanliness of you accommodation and I’m glad we were able to rectify these issues quickly and promptly. We operate an ongoing refurbishment programme to upgrade our accommodation and I’m sure if you stayed again we could find you an accommodation more to your liking. Aidan Glover - General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews