We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Watersmeet Hotel(Woolacombe)
$340
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Fortescue Arms(Woolacombe)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beach House(Woolacombe)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lundy House Hotel(Woolacombe)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pitchup.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marine House(Woolacombe)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Europa Park(Woolacombe)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (2,683)
Filter reviews
2,683 results
Traveler rating
882
853
452
239
257
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
882
853
452
239
257
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold millgolden coastexclusive lodgebronze villaon sitesurf simulatorwave machinehigh ropeswasher dryerbowling alleyall agesoutdoor poolclimbing wallnext yearwater walkersevening entertainmentsoft play
Filter
Updating list...
2,572 - 2,577 of 2,683 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2011

I cant click 'Terrible' for the rating, as its not that bad overall, but here is my review regardless.
Paid for a 3 night wkend break (Sep 30th)... Paid for 2 adults + 2 kids...
Assumed (always wrong to assume) that we would get a small 2 bedroom caravan.....

Arrived at 5pm on Friday, not too busy checking in, weather is nice! :)
Got keys, was told were in 'Pine Cones', just round the corner.....

You know when you drive somewhere, look, think, and then worry..... Yes, you got it....
Pine Cones is the chalets, think there called 'Clematis Apartments'.... OMG!!!!!!!!
In the olden days, Butlins budget accomodation was the pits, and i mean PITS!!!!
However, Golden Coast, you really push the boat here, and win the award for Dirty/Moldy/Stinking/Grime/40+ years old, thats the furnishings too, worst kind of accomodation you can get.
Even prison cells look nicer than these rooms! Pure nasty, thats all i can say, Pure nasty... A real heart sinking feeling is what we all felt checking in.... and the sofa bed, yes, its slightly bigger than a single, how they can class that as sleeps 2, beyond me!!!

Back to reception, bartered a little, paid more for an upgrade, got given the 'Silver' caravan.... Happy with this, was clean and made it feel like a mini holiday. I would have prefered there basic caravan for the amount we paid, as the advert which led to the booking was based on a 'caravan'. Still, a gambling machine paid out a lot of money to me, so that covered the huge upgrade fee i paid.....

Swimming Pools:
Right then, we all watch the weather, we all knew that the last weekend of Sep would be hot, etc etc.... So you think given your advertisement states this site has outdoor pools, we would be in them ????
Golden Coast comment: Outdoor pools are closed as it's too cold.....
HELLLLLO ? Do your staff not venture outside ? How about telling the truth, that the problem you have with ducks using the pool as a poo pit is now beyond your control ?
Indoor Pools = there ok, but small, 1 is like a big bathtub (with a jacuzzi thats been closed for over a week for cleaning ? guess the same people that clean the accomodations cleans the pool and so on... IE: They dont!)
the other is an OK size, love the charge for the drying machine, reasonable cost = people use it..... hence why it was always empty!

Evening Entertainment: Taking kids ? do kids like to dance after the 1hr main show has been on? yes they do.... what does the DJ play ? the same dam CD every night, starting with Billy Ocean!
BILLY OCEAN!! How many kids or teens know these tunes..... music is first class, ie: first class utter sh!te. Kids/teens disco playing rubbish 80's tunes, unreal!

Drinks: £3.85 a pint of beer ? yeah i guess thats normal, if i were holidaying in London FFS! joke, joke, joke, kinda realised why the place was so empty on the evening, even kids drinks cost the earth!.
Arcade: Now i know there supposed to rip you off, but pleeeeeeeeease! This arcade does it in style, some of the game machines take money and do nothing, and for the kids who like to win the tokens....... haha!!!! say no more, but feel free to put £25 in and get your tokens, exchange for a toy worth around £5.75! :(
The Bus: Say like most people on the weekend, you want to use it once (return).... well, it cost £4 each to get u to the beach, so thats £16 for a family of 4....... JOKE!!!

Overall, this holiday used to be a nice place, when i came in 1997 (had caravan back then), but it looks as though the owners keep the £££, and spend nothing on keeping it a nice holiday destination. Way too many issues let this place down, Shame really....
Good bits ? Sunbathing on 2nd Oct on the grass in 24degrees heat, although i could do that anywhere i guess!

Looking for a mini break in Woolacombe, avoid this park... cant vouch for the others in this group... but worth spending an extra 5 mins to find another place to stay!

Room Tip: Tip is: Dont come here, simple as!!
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuie_Nickolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2011

Thank you for your review of you recent holiday with us at the Golden Coast.

I am sorry to hear you were unhappy with your first accommodation. We do offer a wide range of accommodation and promotional holidays are allocated our budget range with an option to upgrade. I am glad you were able to upgrade to a caravan and were happy with the standard of your Silver caravan.

Unfortunately once our outdoor pools close at the end of September we can not open them again on a hot weekend as it would takes at least a week to prepare them and heat the water by which time the good weather would have passed again I’m sure you can understand this. We do however offer two indoor pools at the Golden Coast and the pools at our three other Parks for our guests to use.

I’m glad to hear you made use of our entertainment venue; we try to play a variety of music for all ages. The children’s disco music normally plays from 6:30pm- 7:00pm and then after kids time 9:00pm-9:30pm. After the main cabaret act finished around 11:00pm we offer late night disco in which we play a wide range of music from the latest chart music to the 80’s to rock and roll.

The drinks prices in the clubhouse are competitively priced for the Woolacombe area and you also get the added benefit of entertainment and visiting cabaret acts to enjoy.

As a company we invest heavily each year upgrading our units and adding more facilities.

Aidan Glover - General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We have just got back from a 3 night break at the Golden Coast resort... We left a day early..

Firstly make it Clearer what time you can check in 4 pm is not convenient when you have a child under 2.... seems strange considering it says you have to check out around 10 am in the morning seems rather a long change around!?

I understand staff are always under pressure nowadays BUT when there is a problem with the accomodation in anyway especially when you have just checked in it should be dealt with, this was not the case....we reported the fact our TV from the Dark ages ! ie: only 4 channels had no batteries in the remote and no back which is unsafe with a toddler and was told someone would be over to fix 3 hrs later still no one had attended so I chased it up and was told it had been passed on and someone would be there asap... when we left still no batteries 2 days later NOT ACCEPTABLE SORRY !

On the plus side the the amusements, bowling and ball pit area are all good but they are much to small to cope with the amount of people who will use them on a wet day which we get loads off !.

Myself and partner totally love Woolacombe this is why we wanted to take our little boy who is nearly 2 for his first proper family holiday and have been left over all very dissapointed and will not be going back to woolacombe for a Very Very long time.

Room Tip: Dont Go There !
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minniemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your holiday at the Golden Coast Holiday Village.

As you can imagine we have a lot of holiday accommodation to prepare on our guest change over days. We do clearly state on our confirmation check in is 4:00pm and this allows us time to clean and check all our accommodations. We do offer an early check in of 2:00pm in our Exclusive accommodation which may be of interest to you in the future.

I’m sorry to hear you experienced difficultly with your television remote control and did not think that 4 channels were acceptable. We are in the process of changing the televisions over to free view as we replace the sets in our ongoing refurbishment projects. Again some of our higher level accommodation already comes with flat screen free view television.

I’m glad to hear you enjoyed some of our many facilities on Park; we pride ourselves on being able to offer a range of activities whatever the weather.

Aidan Glover - General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed at the park the last week in September. We booked on the internet a few days before and got an impresive discount on our accomodation. We had an even bigger surprise when we arrived to find we were in a newly refurbished lodge. The accomodation was fantasic! Brand new kitchen, dining room and a huge shower - there was even a flat screen tv in the bedroom! We were very fortunate to stay during the 'mini heatwave' so spent much of the time on or around the beach. We did go to the Old Mill a couple of times having a lovely meal there on our last night. I used the Romano Spa at Woolacoombe Bay and the staff were lovely.
The shop is well stocked and the and arcade is good fun. It was a lovely walk around the lake to feed the ducks.
Tip: We hired bikes from Braunton and did a lovely ride around the area. The recommended trail is really safe and would suit all ages - even small children.
A great holiday on a lovely park, we will definately be back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spazzle81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2011

Thank you for glowing review of your recent holiday with us. We do offer great internet deals for our customers so keep checking our website for more great deals. We look forward to welcoming you on holiday again soon. Aidan Glover - General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

I was worried about our booking after reading the reviews i hate grubby rooms. Our room looked like something from the seventies/old peoples home.Not the cleanest but ok.I watched two girls going in to clean one villa and they were only in for about half an hour,not enough time in my view to clean everything.The windows were stinking everywhere,inside and out.We stayed in the clematis apartments,i wouldn't stay there again but it was very cheap for a week.The park itself is very good,good food,the pizza was the best we had tasted.Harrys bar had nice food as well but i would recommend the pub just outside the park called the fortesque,the food was outstanding and the staff brill with our little boy.Really worth going there and within walking distance. We only had food once in the old mill-we were not impressed but some of the food looked nice.The entertainment was very good every night.Devon itself is lovely we went outside the park every day and i would recommend this as there is not really much to do there.I also booked this as my partner goes course fishing and its advertised as a good place to fish-WRONG! What a joke we saw one fish and the rest is weeds,thick weeds so fishing would be a waste of time.My partner was dissapointed as he wanted to teach our little boy to fish,needless to say he didnt bother.Overall we did enjoy ourselves but we would not return unless they had a complete make-over of the accomadation,this did let the place itself down.

Room Tip: The lodges here seem to be better,i would go for these.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misskiss080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2011

Thank you for your review of your recent holiday with us. We do offer a wide range of accommodation styles and grades and I’m sure one of our other styles of accommodation would be to your liking.

I’m glad to hear you thought the Park itself was very good with plenty of facilities and entertainment.

I have spoken to our Grounds Manager who is working hard to remove the pond weed on a regular basis and will continue to do so.

Aidan Glover - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

I spent a week in an exclusive lodge with my young daughter and family. Fabulous accomodation, very clean and a well stocked welcome pack. There was plenty to do for my 17 month daughter as the weather wasn't the best. She loved the kids clubs and disco. All staff from cleaners, reception staff and entertainers were so friendly and really made the holiday. A big thank you to Nathan, Chris and Kayleigh on the entertainment staff. They were brilliant with the children and always went above and beyond to make sure my daughter was happy. The Old Mill pub was nice with great food and a lovely outdoor play area. We have already booked for next year and hope to get a weekend there around Easter.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Binty33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2011

Thank for you taking the time to post a review of your recent holiday with us at the Golden Coast. I am glad you hear you liked your accommodation and found all our staff to be helpful and friendly.

I will pass on you kind comments to Nathan, Chris and Kayleigh on the entertainments team, they will be happy to learn that they made your daughter's holiday.

We look forward to seeing you again in 2012.

Aidan Glover - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews