We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great beer and great locals”
Review of The Fortescue Arms

The Fortescue Arms
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Fortescue Arms
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Woolacombe
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights last weekend and had a great time. Rob and Eddie really looked after me and the locals at the bar are a hoot. The carvery's a snip if your hungry-I particularly like the leeks, yummy.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petesambista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
There are newer reviews for The Fortescue Arms
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 118 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

My wife, myself and 2 daughters stayed here for a long week-end for a wedding. Received a great reception and really enjoyed our time there. The rooms were clean and comfortable, breakfast was smashing, the carvery and choices from the extensive menus were excellent. Catered well for a vegetarian and a vegan into the bargain. The bar had a decent selection of local beers as well as more well known lagers/ beers.

The venue had a very large dining room which was transformed into a fitting venue for a wedding reception for approx 70 attending. Again the team at the Fortescue Arms done a fine job of making this event a success. No reason to think the venue wouldn't be suitable for any type of party/ event.

Would definitely recommend and would be happy to return here when in North Devon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Went here Sunday evening for the carvery,it was quite busy which was a good sign,the staff was friendly,the meal was great,no complaints at all from all four of us.would certainly eat here again.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank bazzerbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

I don't know where to start.The food was overpriced and extremely poor quality. My curry looked like a dogs dinner and I couldn't even identify the meat. The rest of my family's meals were pale and tasteless.To make matters worse, the beer was flat,the bar tender very grumpy and although we were refunded the price of the curry, I still can't believe we paid for the rest. Particularly as that night, my husband was up all night being ill. If it had been very cheap, we would have expected that the food might have been basic, but the meals were averagely priced but of a very low standard.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheffieldmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

my husband and I went for B & B last night, fantastic service, staff friendly food the best, bedrooms are fine and we had clean towels, tea coffee etc could find no fault, waitress may be young but were all smiling and friendly, we will be returning

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

Having stayed in hundreds of hotels around the world, this is the first review I have ever written.. my family and I (5 of us plus dog) , stayed for two long weekends and were made v welcome by the owner (Robert), and all his staff. Room was large and v clean. The room service was incredible, even my kids toys were tidied and caringly placed on their beds.

The carvery restaurant offers a good choice and if you are patient enough to wait 30 minutes the fish dishes are divine (this isnt Mcdonalds so be patient).

Our dog was welcomed and I would thoroughly recommend this place for a short or long term stay if surfing is your thing, or just visiting the beautiful north Devon coast.

We will be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rmch1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Stayed a few times never been disapointed, the staff and locals are very friendly-always a warm welcome. The rooms are always very clean, plenty of fresh towels and tea and coffee making facilities, TV with built in DVD. The accomodation being above the bar and restaurant is a welcome bonus for my family - a pool room for the kids and sport on the tv in the bar area for the adults, then the food - well it is up there with the best, eiher the fabulous carvery or off the menu the only trouble is deciding what to have, everything is cooked fresh not buz ding (microwaved frozen food) like a lot of other pubs nowadays, it can be quite busy for food but they still deliver and the breakfast is just what you need before spending the day on the beach. Excellent value for our family of four. Going back soon with the in laws.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shaneo64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
1.5 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
836 reviews
1.8 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
862 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,779 reviews
1.0 mi away
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
3.1 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fortescue Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fortescue Arms

Address: Woolacombe Station Road, Woolacombe EX34 7HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Woolacombe
Price Range: $95 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Fortescue Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortescue Arms Woolacombe
The Fortescue Arms Woolacombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing