We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B”
Review of Ossaborough House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woolacombe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ossaborough House
Ranked #14 of 20 Woolacombe B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We had a lovely time at Ossaborough House B&B, Trevor and Rosie were lovely people, making us very welcome with our two children. The rooms were very clean and a lovely layout with our children having own room attached to ours. Location was lovely with the offer of use of the facilities of Golden Coast Holiday Park which was also useful with children. Breakfast fantastic every time and very flexible to our needs. We are definitely booking for next year. Weather was great too

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank julie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 54 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

Rosie & Trevor are the perfect hosts who run an excellent B&B. We were made to feel very welcome and nothing we asked for was too much trouble. We stayed in one of the garden rooms which was very tastefully decorated and kept spotlessly clean, we enjoyed our stay there very much and would certainly recommend Ossaborough house to others. However, perhaps we shouldn't tell too many people this information as we wouldn't wish to hinder our chances of getting booked in again.

Room Tip: We certainly recommend the garden rooms particularly for their splendid views from both the room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 630DandJ630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor D, Owner at Ossaborough House, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Hi

Thanks so much for your brilliant review. Much appreciated especially as this might lessen your chances of getting booked with us again, as everyone will want to book a Garden Room!

We are so pleased when the sun shines & you are able to take advantage of the patios.

We do aim to help our guests & provide them with "service with a smile"!

We look forward to your next stay with us ...get in quickly!

Trevor & Rosie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Ossaborough house was really good value for money. The rooms were well designed and spotlessly clean, the owners were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was superb. It was easy to find and although outside Woolacombe, it was still within reasonable walking distance. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JohnDS_13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor D, Owner at Ossaborough House, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to write your "glowing" review of us. Although we are not on The Esplanade & do not have sea views we do have lovely views of the countryside & most of our guests, like yourselves find our location easy to access the village & the beach.

We are really pleased that you find Ossaborough House really good value for money.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Rosie & Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Only two nights here but could have stayed longer. Mine Hosts were very welcoming and friendly, Trevor even took time to help us with our cases which was most welcome as my partner is disabled. The room was very clean with a pleasing view of the valley opposite and en suite facilities. My only... very minor... moan is that the TV in our room was very small and due to digital nature of TV today... cinema width... the picture was even smaller. The breakfast? top marks, freshly cooked and a comprehensive menu. Would I book again? YES. WHY? because the whole experience was relaxed, very quiet and we could do with Rosie to cook each morning for us.

Room Tip: I would try and book one of the garden rooms if returning because access would have been easier for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MayJay47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor D, Owner at Ossaborough House, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Hello thank you so much for the lovely review of your "last minute" stay with us. We are sorry we were not able to offer you one of our (very popular) garden rooms. As yours was a last minute booking unfortunately we only had one of our upstairs room left.

As regards to the TV's , unfortunately technology seems to be overtaking us at an ever increasing rate but we do hope to be able to replace some of the smaller ones in the near future.

We hope that our breakfasts have made up for it!!

We're really pleased that you had a great stay with us if you do come return we hope you will be able to try out either "Lundy" "Poppy" or "Meadow"!

With Thanks, Rosie & Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We have just returned from a thoroughly enjoyable weeks stay at Ossaborough House. Trevor and Rosie made us extremely welcome and went out of their way to help where possible. Excellent breakfasts and clean and comfortable room. We will be back!

Room Tip: Garden rooms terrific
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hannahhogen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor D, Owner at Ossaborough House, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

It's good to know that you had a great stay with us. We always try to make our guests feel welcome and "at home", here at Ossaborough House.

As always, we have a high standard of cleanliness and try to keep the place as clean as possible, as we know this is important to our guests.

Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate you taking the time to do this.

Trev & Rosie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We have just spent a weeks holiday at Ossaborough House, Trevor and Rosie are a very friendly couple and made our stay very enjoyable, the breakfasts are truly superb and the room was very clean and comfortable with a great en suite shower, we would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone looking for accommodation in Woolacombe, it is also ideal for people touring around the area and we will certainly be staying there again.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a garden room, excellent accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Terence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor D, Owner at Ossaborough House, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thanks so much for taking the time to write your review of us. Devon is THE best place to take your holidays & we're so pleased you chose to stay with us.

We are so lucky that we have lovely friendly people stay with us & we really look forward to you returning to us.

Our Garden rooms all have slightly larger showers which many of our guests comment on.

We look forward to seeing you again !

Trev & Rosie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We had a 3 night stay recently as we attended a wedding at the Woolacombe Bay Hotel. We looked on-line and decided to stay here instead. What a great find. The owners, Rosie & Trevor, certainly go out of their way to ensure you have an enjoyable stay. The rooms are large with lovely views over the countryside. The breakfast, which is freshly cooked to order, are excellent and nothing is too much trouble. We will certainly stay again if in the area. Thanks Rosie & Trevor. You deserve a very busy season!

Room Tip: We had a family room as we were 3. Would be excellent for a family with 2 children as there was an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor D, Owner at Ossaborough House, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to include your great review for us.

We aim to make all of guests welcome & feel at home. Our family suite offers great alternative accommodation for either a family with children where they need to be nearby but without having to share a room or like yourselves with three adults.

We were so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us, including the breakfast, which we cook freshly to order.

We hope that you are able to come back & see us again when you are visiting North Devon again.

Trevor & Rosie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
1.8 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
879 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Fortescue Arms
The Fortescue Arms
#3 of 4 in Woolacombe
121 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,795 reviews
1.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
837 reviews
3.9 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ossaborough House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ossaborough House

Address: Ossaborough Lane, Woolacombe EX34 7HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Woolacombe
Price Range: $44 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ossaborough House bed & breakfast is a 17th century home from home, family run guest house, with panoramic views overlooking an area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. The golden sands of Woolacombe Bay, a beautiful Blue Flag beach are but a mile away with the wonders of Exmoor just a further short drive. We have a golf course for the keen golfer and the Tarka trail for cyclists, both within four hundred yards. If you do not feel so active why not enjoy the scenery in full, when choosing one of our newer “garden rooms”. Relax on your own patio whilst sipping your wine, (glasses and corkscrew provided) or if you prefer, move inside to your comfy sofa with the view still to be appreciated. As an alternative, within the house we have rooms with an “older feel”. All are en-suite, have spacious seating areas with comfy sofas. The public areas abound with the “olde world” charms of beams, thick cob walls, gleaming copper and brass. Rosie’s succulent breakfasts are always freshly cooked to order with use of local produce wherever possible, including free range eggs direct from our neighbour’s farm. We serve breakfast in our cosy breakfast room, which boasts a log burner for the colder, winter months. Our guests have always been in raptures over the breakfasts at Ossaborough as can be seen by the ecstatic comments in the guest book. For romantic and other special occasions we can arrange for Flowers, Champagne and Chocolates to be provided as a surprise for your loved one, on your arrival. Over the fourteen very rewarding years that we have been at Ossaborough House we have made many friends with the people who have stayed with us, many of whom return year after year. We have added enjoyment to their holidays and we would love the chance to add enjoyment to yours. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ossaborough House Woolacombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing