We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Watersmeet Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Hotel(Woolacombe)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Fortescue Arms(Woolacombe)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Average 3/5
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Pool
    Westwell Hall(Ilfracombe)
    View Hotel
    Excellent 5/5
    • Restaurant
    Westaway(Ilfracombe)
    View Hotel
    Excellent 5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Bar/Lounge
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (926)
    Filter reviews
    926 results
    Traveler rating
    553
    247
    73
    29
    24
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    553
    247
    73
    29
    24
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsbistro restaurantlovely hotelhotel is situatedsea viewsteam roomspa facilitiesstunning locationcream teaoverlooking the beachrelaxing staylundy islandindoor poolpublic areasshort breaklovely roomfabulous viewscooked breakfast
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    703 - 708 of 926 reviews
    Reviewed September 5, 2013

    We visited Morthoe and the Watersmeet Hotel for a two night stay at the end of August, a mix of business and pleasure. The views are stunning and the hotel is generally in good shape although we opted for the 'Classic' room as our trip was part business. The room was tired and in need of refurbishment.
    Our general view was that because of the fabulous location the staff felt they didnt need to try. It was like stepping back twenty years in regards to service. We found the only friendly people were the reception (a good start!) but in the restaurant and bar the impression was that they didnt want to be there. The lady in reception telling us to 'pick up our bag's and follow her..' made us smile. The breakfast staff asking us 'what will we be eating for dinner' made us think of English hotels of our childhood.
    Oh well they'll stay busy because of the views and us Brit's will put up with almost anything!

    • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Geoff G
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed September 3, 2013

    This is a very lovely hotel, but feel at 68 that I'm a bit too young for this yet! Front desk staff were very helpful. Location is as good as it gets, and the food in both restaurants was very good, but I preferred the bistro as it had more variety.
    The one thing that lets this hotel down is the lack of professional staff. When we first went to the bar to order a sandwich and drink after our trip down from Birmingham, we rang the service bell and after the second ring a girl popped her head around the corner and said she was busy, but she would be with us soon. 5 minutes later a waiter appeared and we aware able to order. How do I get to the beach? was met with a blank stare. Is the ham on the menu carved from the leg or is it processed? also drew a blank. There were other little things that annoyed us, but it was overall a very nice place to stay. The room we had was quite spacious, but they don't have any luggage racks to put your suitcase on, so you spend time on your knees finding things.
    If you are down this way, travel the extra miles and go to the Scarlet Hotel at Mawgan Porth - worth the extra miles and money.

    Room Tip: Make sure you have a balcony
    • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank petandi
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed September 1, 2013

    Staff were very friendly, room was newly decorated (spacious but the bathroom was a bit small), and the food was pretty close to fine dining (wine list was limited though and the service was a bit slow) ; the bar and reception areas were very pleasant with the price of drinks in the bar being very reasonable. The hotel had a indoor poll which we didn't use. We ate in the main restaurant ; there was also a bistro which was a bit cheaper and had a good looking menu. The views from our room were stunning - we had a sea view. All in all we enjoyed our stay..... i guess for the price, and the Johhannssons rating the hotel just lacked the wow factor.

    Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view!
    • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank MacKilt
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed August 29, 2013

    Very friendly and helpful reception staff, restaurant and bar staff miserable. Was horrifiied at breakfast when after a small child had badly smeared the adjacent table cloth with jam and juice the waiter just turned the cloth over and relaid the table for the next guests! Magnificent views and location, lacking in atmosphere. Some kind of waterproof backed mattress cover meant the bed rustled every time you turned over and was similar to sleeping on a crisp packet.

    • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Philippa L
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed August 27, 2013

    Stayed for a short break in the last room available, the four poster room with an additional bed for our daughter. The location of the hotel is great, and just what we wanted - minutes walk from a lovely cove, and very near to the main beach. Reception staff were excellent, but some of the other staff were not so great - a bit unhelpful, everything was a bother, and a bit of an attitude. Breakfast was fine. Dinner not great for a young family - we headed into town for food each evening.

    It's worth noting that the hotel, as well as Woolacombe itself, seems to be about 15 years behind the times. Most eatieries are closed until 6pm-ish, although there are some others that are open all the time. The room service in the hotel is very limited - specific times and small menu; again, a little old fashioned.

    Overall, it was a pleasant stay, but in all honesty I think it would have been if we had stayed anywhere else as well. The hotel is really very expensive, and peddles off it's location. I think it's overpriced, and should be £100 a night cheaper (for the room we had anyway), but I guess the location means that they have no shortage of customers.

    The four poster bed wasn't very comfortable - the mattress is old and knackered, and the pillows were cheap and uncomfortable. We didn't get a good nights sleep at all. The bathromn was large and fine. Everything appeared clean and in decent order. Liked the l'Occitane toiletries.

    I'd say it's ok for families - we'd go back, but I will definitely be looking for a cheaper stay there.

    • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank py6km
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews