We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap is the only positive”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Woolacombe
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Cheap is the only positive”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The entire hotel could do with a revamp inside and out. I can not fault the staff and our room appeared as clean as possible but the decor, carpets, bedding etc is so old and battered it felt grubby. We did not try the food or entertainment so have no opinion on these but another guest commented that his breakfast was good there. Its a short walk down hill to the beach and if at the front of the hotel you'd get a great view. I'd only ever stay here again as a last resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    223
    192
    125
    171
See reviews for
212
321
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bury
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed for a family holiday in August, thankfully weather was great so not in the hotel much. Public areas are not so bad but my big issue is the rooms. They are spacious but that is the only positive feature. Decor is very tired but worst of all is the carpet and flooring. You are woken up each morning when the people above get out of bed because its so loud you feel they might come through. There were holes in the carpet and massive gaps in the floorboards. Needs to shut for the winter for a massive refurb.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thmps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Woolacombe hotels

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel is in great position just outside town with a beautiful view. It has so much to offer but is tired looking and in need of an overhaul. However, though the rooms were shabby they were cleaned to a high standard.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saracasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

we went to this hotel with David Urquart coach trip and stayed for four nights at the Royal. The hotel had good facilities including indoor swimming pool and snooker room. The food was buffet style with plenty of variety for breakfast and evening meal.
The only down side was the bathroom which needs updating with a new bath and shower and better bed room furniture

Room Tip: ask for upgraded room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank terry1947186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere in England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I would like to say what a wonderful hotel this is, I would like to say how very helpful all the staff are, I would like to say that the room was perfect . . . but I cannot.
The first impression was not great. I struggled into the reception with two large cases after having come from a very steep car park. I checked in as was told that are room was 501 and that the lifts were not working so we would have to use the stairs. That was not the only instruction, in a dialog reminiscent of Slim Dusty’s ‘You Just Can’t Miss it Mate’ we were told take the right hand stairs, go along the corridor turn right, go up some more stairs, this time to the left. Did I get an offer to help with the bags, of course not, despite there being a man on reception working at a computer. It is all about customer service and I have work on the reception and trained people to work on the reception of a major telecommunications company – if you are doing something and a visitor comes you leave what you are doing and help the visitor.
The hotel seemed to be such a maze of corridors that I was half expecting to find a Minotaur at the end, rather than our room. So we found the room and fell in! Yes, that is right; the floor was sloping from the door to the window.
The electrical sockets looked a little odd as well as we had a multi socket extension lead fixed to the wall in a way that the slightest touch sent it crashing to the floor. The bathroom was interesting as well. A glass shelf over the wash basin fell off as soon as I touched it, but surprisingly did not smash. Of course the bath was stained, I would have expected nothing less.
Although the building does have a vague resemblance to a Le Corbusier design (done at the end of a hard day and after after several bottles of wine), I doubt that in his most eccentric moments he would not have apprieciated a mixture of pink and white tiles together with yellow walls.
When I walked out to explore the hotel I encountered a member of staff who said ‘Alright mate’. Maybe this is the appropriate greeting for some Ocker from the Outback but not for a paying guest a hotel.
To paraphrase W.C. Fields; on the whole, I’d rather be in Paisley.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Purrinian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The Royal is a Two Star Hotel,
But it’s easy to forget, The Hotel is unique in its 1960,s style and it must have been an impressive building in its day. The rooms are massive. We had a 2+1 and a single

The single could have taken a double bed rather than a queen size and been sold as a double,

The two plus one would have taken two double easy. It had a balcony with a countryside and sea view.

The service is exemplary and the staff are extremely polite, The rooms are cleaned to a high standard as is the rest of this aged Hotel, The entertainment room , resturants lounge, and another function room are huge. I’m not sure what the max occupancy is but this is a big hotel.

Breakfast was buffet style and excellent. At the time we visited I would suggest full occupancy and would guess on spec customers where being turned away.

So why two star…. The hotel being 1960’s style where I would guess are of concrete construction making the walls and floors very thin and noises travel through them.
The rooms decorated in 1960 styles but not coordinated and not in any way “trendy”. Although the maintenance of the rooms was good it was obvious that it was at a budget rather than to emphasis its 60’s style.
The balcony's where not maintained.
Some of the issues where created by the clientele the price attracts noisy residents and of course the hotel attracts bus tours... so there is wide range of age groups.

I would imagine any negative reviews come from the high number of clients looking for a higher standard and who normally pay a premium. Most of the people we spoke to where at the Royal because there was a shortage of 3 – 4 star accommodation in Woolacombe.

My suggestions would be to section off some parts of the hotel and upgrade the rooms including insulation to floors and walls, replace aged double glazing upgrade the bathrooms with added power showers and coordinated décor.
A/C would be nice but the south facing rooms need roof fans at least..
I’m sure these rooms would sell out very quickly at a premium

Keep other sections for the coach parties and lower floors for budget 2 star clients.

During the visit the lift was out of order and it was clear the older clientele was suffering using the stairs as it was obvious the hotel had been built with the need for a lift.

So as an overview don’t forget it is two stars and the price. If 4star is your standard don’t criticise because that isn’t what you get.

Room Tip: Don't worry about the size of the rooms they are massive. It will be the best two star experi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neil j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed here as a family of 5 for a week in August & had a large room on the second floor with a balcony overlooking the front.

The other reviews are right, it is a bit dated but not as bad as they're making it out to be. It's very clean & the staff work hard at keeping it that way. All the staff we spoke to were friendly and helpful particularly the barman and the older guy who we think might be the owner. Yes you do see them having a fag break now and then but they do smoke in a designated area so what's the problem?

The breakfast was great, enough to choose from & always hot and cooked well. We only had one evening meal there as we like to try a different restaurant every day but what we had was nice and you could have as much as you wanted.

The swimming pool was well heated and clean, we used it three times during our stay. The terrace and bar were great places to relax in the evening and the hotel had good views. The car park is up a hill but you've got to expect that, it's in Devon after all.

Overall it cost £790 for 5 of us to stay there for a week which we think was great value for what we got, clean & tidy, good staff, good food, good entertainment, good location.

We'll stay there if we're ever in Woolacombe again.

Room Tip: The room we had was great, second floor facing the front with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeitchFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
0.4 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
780 reviews
0.7 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
802 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Fortescue Arms
The Fortescue Arms
#3 of 4 in Woolacombe
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,746 reviews
2.2 mi away
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
4.0 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: Beach Road, Woolacombe EX34 7AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Woolacombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100 Bedroom budget hotel, overlooking the beautiful village of Woolacombe. Ideal base for exploring North Devon or just spend time relaxing on the award winning beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Woolacombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing