We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but not cheerful !”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Woolacombe
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 2 nights at the royal, first the bad....the rooms were dated beyond believe I don't think they have been touched in 20 years ! And the ceilings and walls paper thin so if above you or at the sides people are in the rooms it's like being in there with them !! I found the staff quite rude and unhelpful. However the bedding was spotlessly clean. It was very cheap to stay here, and the location is excellent. So if its a cheap weekend away in gorgeous north Devon and you don't expect 5 star more a 2 then this hotel is worth booking.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (837)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

567 - 573 of 837 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

our first time to woolacombe bay and couldnt miss the bright orange hotel that greeted us. lovely view from this very dated hotel.we went here celebrating my partners 40th and felt like we were celebrating his 80th.the room we was given was sufficent and comftable but thought i was hallucinating when in the bathroom when the balcony door was open that the floor was moving it was actually where the lino hadnt been sealed down. we decided to have a little adventure around this 600 room hotel and reminded us of the the hotel in the shining. we had a game of hide and seek which we found the further we went up a level the filthier it got. felt sorry if kids stayed here as they advertise a games room but consisted of some very dated arcade machines that wasnt switched on or either out of order and the toys were from the 70's. the breakfast was good and was so excited to see an hash brown on the last morning as being vegatarian there wasnt offered an alternative. had a game of darts and asked for the lights to be switched on and was greeted by an elder gentleman with not very good manners and decided to put a very dated film on the big screen without us being asked if we would like to watch or listen anything particular.lucky for my partner he is very good at piano as there plenty of them about 12 in total. the area,views and breakfast were good but definetly needs a good updating to attract a wider range of age occupancy. to leave this on a positve good price for money but could be cheaper for what it is.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nataleia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Looked lovely in reception area, pleasant girl at check in so all great until we went into our allocated room. The bed was as the previous occupants had left it, bedding all astray, pillows still dented where there heads had been. Cups still dirty with coffee drips down outside of cups. Their dirty towels in the bath. We didn't look any further. All I can say is the previous occupants were obviously clean people as everything was as I would have left it but come on this is a Hotel aren't they supposed to change and clean everything when 1 person leaves and another is taking the room UNBELIEVABLE!!!! We had come away as I have been ill for a long long time and am starting to be getting a bit better so not a very good start to our relaxing stay. I was really looking forward to using the heated indoor pool. OH Well! We decided we could not stay at this hotel even though the girl offered to show us the only other room available I didn't even want to look at it. We had to go hunting for another hotel within our budget - our £60 deposit we had had to pay the Royal, which they still have. We were out looking until 11pm at night when we settled for the Travel Lodge which we all know is always spotless.

Room Tip: Do NOT go here, find somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harrywilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This hotel is in need of refurbishment, particularly where the window are concerned, but look at the price you are being charged and you will find this hotel gives real value for money. The rooms are comfortable our bed was very good and we had a good nights sleep, the bathroom was small, but how many people do you want to fit into a bathroom, the water pressure was abysmal and difficult to control, but that along with the windows that were metal with no stays and these could be blown by the smallest breeze were the only 2 points we were unhappy with. The breakfast was superb, with helpful waiters and waitresses and plenty of it.
All the wingers who have written bad reports about this hotel want to get into the real world and find out how much more the Woolacombe Hotel costs and pay that, then come back and tell us it is not good value for money. Well done Royal Hotel, thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

excellent value for money, great entertainment, not my thing but still good. staff friendly and helpful.
plenty of safe parking, food was very good, top marks. yep the hotel is dated but so are the price's.
value, value, thanks. keep doing what you do. cheers

Room Tip: best beach, the open mic on weds, top night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank simon23_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

we booked a two night stay ,as the weather was good. we had booked a twin room ,but were given a double room. we were offered another room which we were told had a double and single bed,,but it had a double bed,and a side room with 3 bunk beds.,. we decided to keep the first room. the rusty balconey had two filthyplastic chairs that no one would sit on they should have been thrown away. the bathroom was very basic with a basic plastic shower spray to be inserted over the bath. a very creaky floor.surprisingly the bed was quite comfortable. the walls very thin next doors tv, and conversations ,could be heard.we went out for walks as we love woolacombe coastal area, when we retuned to the room there was a horrible smell, I don,t know if it came from the kitchens or the toilet. we stayed out of the hotel as much as possible,we did not look at the swimming pool or the bar, as we were put off by the general look of the hotel.

Room Tip: room 318 smells
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bezken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Turned up after a lovely day in Ilfracombe and was mortified when I saw the monstrosity of the hotel, thought to myself it can't be that bad on the inside. To my horror it was far worse, I swear its hasn't been updated since the 60's. However there is a very nice bar on the corner which certainly helps you forget that you have to spend a night there. My advice book somewhere else or your spend the equivalent that you would have spent on a better hotel on alcohol!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jbt1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
0.4 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
861 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Fortescue Arms
The Fortescue Arms
#3 of 4 in Woolacombe
122 reviews
0.7 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,834 reviews
2.2 mi away
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
9 mi away
Travelodge Barnstaple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: Beach Road, Woolacombe EX34 7AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Woolacombe
Price Range: $16 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100 Bedroom budget hotel, overlooking the beautiful village of Woolacombe. Ideal base for exploring North Devon or just spend time relaxing on the award winning beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Woolacombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing