We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for the money.”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Woolacombe
Worcester
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent for the money.”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

At £38.00 per nigh for two, what do you expect. When everyone else charges £70.00 plus.

Don't take it on face value. The staff area welcoming and friendly. They can't do enough to help.
The place is clean but old. So don't expect the Ritz.
The towels and sheets are clean and fresh. The building tied, but who wants to stay inside.

Not sure how long this place will last, but if money's tight and you want to stay walking distance to the sea, you could do worse than the Royal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodcock1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    230
    194
    128
    179
See reviews for
221
330
20
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend break at The Royal Hotel in Woolacombe. Its a fair walk down to the lovely Woolacombe beach and the shops, bars and restaurants and a bit of hike back up the hill to the hotel.
The hotel is quite tired and shabby and really needs a makeover. The restaurant is buffet style not only for breakfast which is 8.30-9.30am but for Dinner as well 6.30-7.30pm. Get in early or your eggs will be hard and you may have a limited choice of sweet.
We had a large clean room at the front of the hotel which had a patterned carpet, patterned wall paper and patterned curtains (with absolutely no colour coordination). However the bed was comfortable and we slept well. The bathroom was clean but very basic and old fashioned. We had to run the water some time before it came through hot and only soap and towels are provided (no shampoo or shower gel).
Tea and coffee making facilities are there but no biscuits and no hair-dryer in the room but you can obtain one from reception with a deposit.
There was a balcony with moss growing on the floor, capping stones missing from the party walls and tatty decor accessed via the patio doors which had a poorly fitting security catch and dirty glass.There was a fabulous view over the sheep hills opposite and down to the bay.
We went for a swim in the heated indoor pool, again facilities old fashioned and leave a bit to be desired. However the water was warm, we had the pool to ourselves, towels are provided and we enjoyed our swim.
There was evening entertainment both nights with a live singer and backing tracks. We danced and enjoyed the evenings.
Pleasant and friendly staff, but overall we were a bit disappointed and we wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room at the front overlooking the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnRingwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Woolacombe hotels

Wiltshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Have just come back from a three night stay at the Royal. Our room was very comfortable, clean and warm, having been up-dated since my last stay. The food was plentiful with 3 or 4 choices of meals to choose from each night. The swimming pool was busy and I could see why as it is excellent. A separate properly sprung floored ballroom makes this hotel unique for dance groups or private parties.

If you are looking for something very affordable in a beautiful part of North Devon then the Royal is definitely worth a try.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiltshireBracken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I took my 2 girls for a short get away break. We had a family room which had a double and a single. The room was huge, and very clean, we liked the comfortable and homely feel about the place and as it's a no smoking (anywhere) it smelt fresh. The breakfast is buffet style, full english, fruit in the form of prunes or grapefruit (tinned), orange or grapefruit juice and unlimted tea and coffee. A selection of cereals also available along with brown or white toast with a selection of jam or marmalade, self service so youcan eat as much as you like. We booked evening meal at £12 for adults and £6 for kids, 3 courses and unlimited tea and coffee,disappointing as everything was clearly frozen, veg, roasters, puddings etc, well done but easily identified as frozen. All the staff we very freindly and nothing was too much trouble, the hotel itself was a little dated and in need of some repair in places but perfectly servicable. The hotel swimming pool was an added bonus as my kids love swimming. I would recommend this hotel for a short out of season break and will definatly use it agai..

Room Tip: We stayed in room 100 we paid for a balcony with a view which would be nice in summer but not really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjandall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Brent, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

having just stopped at this hotel again , I find it rather odd people say it is a cold hotel, have they thought of turning the radiators in their rooms up? They are individually controlled.
The staff at this hotel are very friendly and hard working, they are very happy to oblidge customers where possible.
The food is great and plentiful and the kitchen has a five star hygiene rating.
The pool was very clean and warm and there is plenty to entertain a family if the weather is bad. The evening entertainment was also excellent! the dance floors are very good, we had a great weekend and the price is phenomenally cheap.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, like me, just let them know when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We visited this hotel in December last year and was really looking forward to it. The staff were friendly (especially in the restaurant) and the entertainment on the one night was very good. The food was basic but very tasty and we had no problem with what was offered. However, this hotel caters more for the coach trips and NOT the individual traveller. We booked a sea view Room 108 (big mistake) as it was a very cold room (pine end). The room was single glazed and the weather was very windy so we had lots of draughts in this room. Also the hotel switches off the heating after the coaches have departed for their daily trips and would not turn it on until the evening (when the coaches returned). I requested the heating to be put on but was told (by an unhelpful receptionist) this this could not be done before the set time so my husband and myself had to sit in our rooms with our coats on. Only when we left the next day and I complained to the hotel by phone that I had a chest infection and needed heating was I informed that I could have had an independent heater for my room. The Manager would not even speak to me on the phone!

Room Tip: If you are a single traveller and go in the winter, request a heater otherwise you will find that th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I went to this hotel last January and it was awful!
The food was disgusting and we had to leave after the second night as there were massive gaps around the window and we spend both nights shivering!
The pool was brown and smelly the only good thing was the bar and the friendly bar man!
we booked this hotel despite the reviews but wish we didn't!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
0.4 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
815 reviews
0.7 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
843 reviews
3.9 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
4.0 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
416 reviews
3.5 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: Beach Road, Woolacombe EX34 7AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Woolacombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100 Bedroom budget hotel, overlooking the beautiful village of Woolacombe. Ideal base for exploring North Devon or just spend time relaxing on the award winning beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Woolacombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing