We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel,fab setting helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woolacombe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2010

We enjoyed a short break at this hotel after Easter. You have the choice to book the children in for their own tea at 5 or pay for them to eat in the restaurant in the evening with you.
The dinner is quite formal but children are welcomed. The menu is varied with about 4 choices of starter things like chicken terrine, gravadlax, pate,goats cheese etc. Then there is an intermediate course of soup or sorbet. Again there are 4 or 5 choices of main such as lamb shanks,sea bass, pork tenderloin, pumpkin risotto etc. There seemed to be a reasonable choice for vegetarians but I'm a meat eater myself. Sometimes our children struggled to choose something to their taste but the staff were very helpful in suggesting alternatives or cooking something plainer. Breakfast was buffet style and very good.
The room we had was lovely with a balcony and seaview. We could literally sit up in bed witha great view of the sea. The hotel had good facilities. We swam in the indoor pool which was fine. There is a spa but we didn't use it this time. There is a games room and you can hire various sports equipment such as golf and tennis for a refundable deposit. In the grounds there is a good adventure playground and a lovely lawn with sun loungers.
After dinner there was usually some form of entertainment. One evening there was a casino and the children were allowed to join in as it was fairly quiet. At about 6pm there is chldrens entertainment too.
Fortunately for us the sun shone the whole time and we were able to spend our days on the beach which was clean and uncrowded at this tme of year.
Overall a very pleasant stay and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panic41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (836)
There are newer reviews for The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

764 - 770 of 836 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2010

i have been coming to Woolacombe Bay Hotel for many years and have seen many changes often for the worse
We stay usually in the flats and the flats need updating and modernising. They are very dull and the bedding has not been changed for20 years.
we had a meal recently at the hotel it was a family celebration and the food was very poor
very ordinary and the staff did not make it special as we were celebrating a pearl wedding anniversary.
In my opinion they have cut costs to the detriment to the customer
Next year we are looking for alternative accomodation

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brewer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2010

We have just returned from a week at woolacombe bay, our first stay and first time in a hotel with our 1 and 3 yr old. We had reservations as always been self catering before with the children as thought it was easier but we are now converted! We have a suite and it was massive! Like an apartment without a kitchen. Plenty of room for our little ones and no feeling of being cramped. We had our own sitting room, 2 bathrooms and 2 bedrooms and balcony and it was decorated beautifully and spotlessly clean. We were only connected to next door by a bathroom so never felf too worried that we were disturbing next door.
Kids entertainment 6-7 every evening with professional entertainers following kids tea at 5pm which was perfect. Buffet selection, always with veg, plenty of fruit and yogurts and sweet puddings too. The timing of this worked in so well with our little ones and there was always something there they enjoyed eating.
Breakfast superb and evening brasserie food lovely (we had it in our room as didn't want to leave the children and we had our own sitting room and 3 tvs so felt like home from home but with no cooking!!)
Grounds immaculate and adventure playground brillaint. Front lawn lovely for football and short walk to beach so not far to nip back to hotel which is really handy. Beautiful sandy beach.
Staff relaxed and friendly. The hotel was so child friendly, there were loads of families there. Nothing was too much trouble and we felt at ease around the hotel with the children.
We will return for sure and feel it will be the place of many happy memories for us all.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marriedmumwith2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

The Woolacombe Bay Hotel has a premier position in the small Devon village of Woolacombe.
It is a clean, modern and well run Hotel with plenty of friendly staff.
The beach is 2 minutes walk as is the 'surfy' village main drag.
Food service was very good. Bag a window table if you can...

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fat-Tony1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2010

I decided to brave the winter chills to experience this hotel immediately on its opening for 2010. I had one of the loveliest few days I have spent in any hotel anywhere.

You must experience this hotel for yourself. It has four great advantages.

Firstly its location is perfect. Make sure you get a sea view so you can marvel at the lovely sunrises and sunsets - looking over the immaculate lawn to the sea beyond is a real tonic.

Secondly, it is a lovely old building, full of character and a real gem of design and comfort. The modernisation of the bedrooms has been done really well and they have cleverly left the rest of the hotel more traditional - the dining room is beautifully elegant and makes you look forward to breakfast and dinner. Each bedroom is different, so not all may be pleased, but the two I have stayed in have been terrific and they have clearly invested very generously in this place to bring all the bedrroms bang up to date.

Thirdly - the food - simply superb. I have never eaten so well - I was so impressed that I wrote an effusive email to the hotel. Dinner is something really to look forward to and the chef must surely be drawing acclaim. This makes the hotel very good value - as you arfe getting 4/5 star food without having to go to a hotel with elite prices.

Fourthly - the staff - charming and extremely well managed. When a hotel is well run it shines through in the staff - and it really shines through at Woolacombe Bay.

I realise I went when the hotel was relatively quiet, but I can imagine the WB will do well throughout the season, as it is spot on in its management.

Perhaps the best thing of all is whoever chooses the decor - it is beautifully uncluttered. And the lift is a delight - see for yourself !

I could go on but you must try it for yourself - but remember the sea view and - make sure you walk the coast each way as it is a little piece of heaven.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andersprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2009

We have stayed at Woolacombe Bay Hotel on 4 occassions now and have really enjoyed each stay. We always upgrade to have a balcony and sea vew and stay for 3 nights with the Autumn/Spring offer.

We really enjoy breakfast and always look forward to our dinner as there is a great choice to choose from. We also like dressing up for dinner.

All staff are very friendly and are very efficient.

We also enjoy using the swimming pool, steam room and hot tub.

The only thing that could be better are the pillows, we have started to take our own.

We are already looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CURLYSUEUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights on the hotel's Autumn break package and paid extra for a superior room with sea view and balcony. The room was spacious, well equipped, with a very modern ensuite and as we had hoped, had wonderful views. Bed/ linen extremely comfortable, although the pillows were not! Staff were pleasant and attentive and service was excellent.
We particularly liked the choice of lounges, with one being adults only. Both lounges were very comfortable, but the lighting was very strange. Much of the seating was poorly lit, and it wasn't to save electricity, as the hotel was warm- just right for November.
Breakfast is first class, great choice and hot, even with the buffet style. Our dinner on the first evening was superb. Sadly the second evening, we were both disappointed with our various choices- perhaps a change of chef?

The location of the hotel is ideal. Super walks and beach on the doorstep, with a range of little shops, etc, close by. A short drive along the coast to Croyde and Saunton Sands offers breathtaking views, with Barnstaple not far away if you want to do some shopping.

Overall, we were very pleased with our stay. Drinks were very reasonable for a four star hotel and we felt we had had very good value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seftonslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
0.6 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
862 reviews
3.7 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,779 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Fortescue Arms
The Fortescue Arms
#3 of 4 in Woolacombe
118 reviews
2.5 mi away
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
7.1 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woolacombe Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woolacombe Bay Hotel

Address: South Street, Woolacombe EX34 7BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woolacombe
Price Range: $205 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woolacombe Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Much of the Hotel has been lovingly restored from the mid 1800's, creating it's unique and tranquil atmosphere. High ceilings, chandeliers and comfortable, quiet lounges are a testament to that era, and where first class modern amenities are required, they have been skilfully incorporated into the existing Woolacombe accommodation. We place high value on our staff. Trained to be attentive yet unobtrusive and to provide the kind of personal service that is so often hard to find. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HRS, Hotel.de and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Woolacombe Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolacombe Bay Hotel
Bay Woolacombe
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing