We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovely hotel, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woolacombe
Certificate of Excellence
west yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, lovely hotel, friendly staff”
Reviewed September 28, 2008

We were looking for a hotel that would suit our 1-year old as much as us - we found it in the Woolacombe Bay Hotel.
This hotel is in a fab location in a lovely bay, overlooking the beach, views of Lundy Island.... The grounds and golf course are well-maintained and tidy, the kids playground is really good and there's enough seating for everyone to sit out and sunbathe. There's plenty of car parking too.
The hotel itself is very well-maintained, inside and out. It is very clean and tidy but still has a lovely homely feel. The room had a sea-view and balcony, worth paying the extra for. Again, it was very clean and fresh.
The food is fantastic and the restaurant staff's attitude and service cannot be faulted.
We had a fantastic holiday and can't wait to go back next year!

  • Liked — Clean and fresh
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mouse0108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    236
    99
    41
    20
See reviews for
304
333
14
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oxfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2008

This year is the first year for 4 years we havent been....and I have missed it!
We go when there is an offer on (couldnt afford normal prices!)
The children love it too.
Indoor and outdoor pools and small golf course and lots more. 5 mins walk to the beach.
Food is amazing. Couldnt stay more than 4 nights as would double in weight.
You must go there!!!!

  • Liked — food!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank koolponies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset england
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2008

My Husband and I stayed at the woolacombe bay hotel 16th-18th May. As it was our anniversary we booked a superior room with balcony overlooking the sea. The room 102 was Fantastic, a bathroom to die for and a HUGE bed which was very comfortable. The added advantage of a superior room the bed linen gets changed daily- what a luxury! The food was fantastic and it was nice getting dressed up for dinner. The spa is very relaxing and I had a really fab massage. The girls in the spa are lovely, chatty and very welcoming. The only one fault with this hotel is dinner is served between 6.30-8-30pm and if you take the later option the staff start setting tables for breakfast! but apart from that- truely superb! Also fantastic for children- we felt a little guilty as we had left ours behind! Go- you will love it with or without Children.

  • Liked — Huge bed and bathroom
  • Disliked — early dinner
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lilyamseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2008

Stopped at the Woolacombe bay over May bank holiday. Having visited Woolacombe many many times previously but not stopped here before, we now have a 15month old son so decided to try it out. Was everything we thought it would be. Treated ourselves to a room with a balcony and seaview which was well worth the extra money. As we have a young toddler it was really nice to see the room wasn't over crowded and no stumbling blocks for him. The childrens supper at 5pm was brilliant and a choice of everything for the kids. We ate in the main restaurant on the first evening - the food was fabulous but we felt a little bit uneasy having a young child with us though there were others in there. The 2nd night we swapped our meal to the brasserie which was much more relaxed. Similar sort of food and to the same excellant standard. The only negative point I would say is that the staff didn't always no what was going on and we did ask for an extra bath towel to be delivered but never received it - but hey we could cope with that. Had a thoroughly enjoyable time in very comfortable surroundings. Will definatley be going for a week on our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lollaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2008

We (myself, husband, and 10, 7 and 2 year old daughters) recently stayed here towards the end of the Easter holidays, looking for a relaxing family break in a nice hotel, with good facilities, and child-friendly environment- we were not disappointed. The hotel is superbly located with lawns reaching down almost directly on the fabulous beach. The gardens include swings and great childrens "fort" style adventure play area, with a zip-wire that had the older girls hooked!

The indoor pool was lovely - nice and warm, with a hot-tub, sauna and steam room alongside if you want to use them. Deposit required for towels (fairly hefty at £5 per item), but we used the rtowels from the room. I guess that's the sort of thing that makes this 3* rather than 4*, but it's a pretty minor issue given the overall package price and the range of facilities on offer.

Children's entertainment is laid on during the school holidays, although the entertainer didn't turn up on the evening we were hoping to see the promised magic show. This was a little disappointing - don't know if this is a regular problem? The only other thing I'd say about the children's entertainment is that the hotel didn't really advertise what was available or where very clearly. They could do better on this, but I'd recommend asking reception and you might be able to get a "what's on" type of leaflet (we weren't given one and didn't realise they existed until it was too late for us).

Best of all is the food at dinner - excellent five course meal, superbly presented and cooked, infact the beef we had was amongst the two or three best I have ever tasted. Breakfast and children's supper a bit more average, but enough choice on a self-service basis so nothing really to complain about.

All in all outstanding value for money and a lovely, restful location - we'll probably be back!

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwinkleWorcester_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2008

We have just returned with our two children from a lovely few days at the Woolacombe bay hotel. The children are aged 3 & 11 and both were adequetly catered for even though we went out of season.
There was plenty for the children to do, the hotel was spotlessly clean, the pool and spa exceptional but best of all the restaurant served some lovely food in very elegant surroundings. We did the childrens supper and then ate on our own later on. In fact this is the only complaint i have about the break, in that as we ate around 8.30 and were obviously the last two diners of the night, we didn't appreciate the laying of breakfast settings whilst we were still on the main course. We were not the only couple to notice.

I accepted our room needs a refurb but the bathroom was new, was immaculatly clean with fresh bedding daily and was not distasteful. It was also well sized even with the children sleeping in the room.

We really enjoyed our little break which was excellent value for money and we will return very soon hopefully.

  • Liked — food
  • Disliked — nolisy preperations for breakfast whilst eating dinner
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank katewolohan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2008

I was in Barnstaple for an extended work assignment spanning 2 weeks. The admin who made my arrangements assumed I'd had enough of Barnstaple after multiple visits and booked me into the Woolacombe Bay Hotel for the weekend. She selected a package that included breakfast and dinner.

The room was on the first floor with a small terrace overlooking the grounds and the sea beyond. The room was small but comfortable. Breakfast was a little disappointing, with a selection of cereals and hot foods, coffee and juice. I would have preferred a better selection of pastries. Dinner was quite good with fresh seafood and meats. The dining room staff appeared pretty clueless - no knowledge of beer or wines, slow to return to the table to see if I needed anything, unclear whether to give me a bill or not. The waitresses were all pretty girls from eastern Europe so I was willing to overlook their shortcomings and put it down to being there in the offseason.

I wouldn't describe the hotel as outdated, but I've never been in such a rickety elevator (made entirely of wood) or had to go up and down so many stairs while allegedly remaining on one floor - not possible if I had been confined to a wheelchair.

Quiet, comfortable and sort of shabby chic. I was ready for another week of work in Barnstaple by the time the weekend was over.

  • Liked — Atmosphere
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BamaVol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
0.6 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
843 reviews
3.7 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,765 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
8.2 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,236 reviews
3.2 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woolacombe Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woolacombe Bay Hotel

Property: The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
Address: South Street, Woolacombe EX34 7BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woolacombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woolacombe Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Much of the Hotel has been lovingly restored from the mid 1800's, creating it's unique and tranquil atmosphere. High ceilings, chandeliers and comfortable, quiet lounges are a testament to that era, and where first class modern amenities are required, they have been skilfully incorporated into the existing Woolacombe accommodation. We place high value on our staff. Trained to be attentive yet unobtrusive and to provide the kind of personal service that is so often hard to find. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, HRS, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The Woolacombe Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolacombe Bay Hotel
Bay Woolacombe
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing