We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant surprise for an English seaside Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woolacombe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We were part of a walking roup staying for three nights in late April. The room was OK, although the mattress was rather on the soft side for our taste.

The staff were very helpful and friendly, especially in the restaurant where the smiles kept on coming from the Polish and Romanian waiters and waitresses. The food was, on the whole, excellent and better than we had dared to hope for what is quite a large hotel serving many guests for dinner. Breakfast was entrirely adequate served with good coffee (one of my important parameters!)

The situation is excellent, being just a few metres from the excellent beach.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bakerlite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (844)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

542 - 548 of 844 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for business. Superb welcome and warm honest welcome. Brilliant food and fantastic service . The attention to detail is superb. It is genuine and not from a branded high street menu. Keep up the good work. Don't loose your staff they are such an asset to your hotel. Can't wait to return

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank cramone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from our weeks break at the WBH during where myself and my partner got married at the hotel. We have spent countless happy holidays in Woolacombe over the last 15 years and always thought one day we'd stop at the WBH so it was an obvious choice for us when looking at wedding venues.

We have had nothing but exceptional service from our first contact with Adrian the wedding coordinator 12 months ago right through to check out yesterday. The staff are fantastic from the girls on reception, the bar and serving staff through to the room cleaners. All were very happy, smiley and welcoming and were prepared to do all necessary to make our stay a lovely time.

With getting married at the hotel we obviously had some pre event concerns and like all brides to be my wife had numerous requests and wanted everything perfect. Adrian and all the staff met all of her requests with a smile and nothing seemed too much trouble.

Breakfast was fantastic with more choice than you can shake a stick at. I can highly recommend the smoked haddock and poached eggs!

The facilities at the hotel are great with more than we could make use of during our stay. The surf shack where you can secure your board and hang up wetsuits is great. The sauna/steam room and pool area is great.....my only 2 niggles are that the spa area could use some sort of drinks fountain and that on the 3 occasions I tried to get towels from the spa reception they had run out which meant a trip back to my room to use the ones from there.

Prices are high but so are the standards so you get what you pay for. All in a fantastic stay and we would definately recommend and return ourselves in the future.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Stayed after trying various places in Woolacombe. This place being the best of all the places I've tried. Polite staff and refurbished rooms. Great breakfast too. The location is outstanding for the beach and the 'amenities' that Woolacombe can offer! I would have expected some water and some biscuits in the but this is minor really.

Room Tip: Don't have a room near the ballroom when a wedding is happening!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simon_jones3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I came here for a spa day as a treat. Very friendly reception staff. Got a half price meal voucher for their brassiere had an amazing open devon crap sandwich and a gorgeous glass of wine.
I had use of the jacuzzi steam room showers and sauna, it was not busy just me at odd times. I have a signature treatment lasting 1hr 30mins. Melissa my therapist explained everything and listened to my needs also. The treatment was amazing i even nodded off.
In the afternoon 4pm ish children are allowed in the pool and yes got noisy i was glad i was leaving then. Lockers are £1. The changing rooms where clean and tidy as was all areas of the spa.
Would def recommend to others..

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sassybabe10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoolacombeBayHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Thank you for writing such a great review about your day in our Haven Spa. We are really hoping you meant crab sandwich!!!
It is fantastic that you took advantage of the 50% off voucher in the Bay Brasserie and that you enjoyed the treatment with Mel. Our therapists have been here for several years and we always get amazing feedback of which we are very proud.
The morning is always the quieter time to enjoy the spa and we have an adult only time in the pool of between 6 and 7pm so that adults can relax. We very much appreciate you recommending our Haven Spa to others and hope you will be able to come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

We had a good stay in this hotel. In particular, we enjoyed the view of the beach from our hotel room which was special. The service at the front desk was also good and staff generally helpful.

However, I would've expected bottled water in our rooms and possibly a fridge to keep drinks cool. The breakfast service was slow, I waited 30 mins for one poached egg and had to remind staff a couple of times. One further point is that signage in the hotel is not particularly clear, i.e. it was difficult to find the entrance to the swimming pool.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank AHW83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoolacombeBayHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Thank you for writing your recent review. We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay, and can only apologise for the wait you had for your poached eggs at breakfast. We are very disappointed that you have only given us 3 stars as we strive to offer the best rooms, view, service and facilities in the area and only hope that if you return to the UK you will try us again and we can improve your rating!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Great Easter break - the facilities are ideal for families (although why remove the creche??), and the staff extremely courteous. Children (and us!) appreciated the childrens tea time and the film room. We felt it was safe enough to let the older children go off on their own, which they were thrilled about! Some feedback - the bar area is now really too dark, bring back the creche and you missed a trick with the pool being closed at such a busy time. We have re-booked to again very soon.....

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank NeilSurrey01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoolacombeBayHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us - it is great that the older children were allowed to go off on their own and that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for your suggestions - the film room / Den is the replacement for the creche and we would always welcome ideas if you feel something is missing. The outdoor Lido opens at the end of May as we feel that in March and April it is just a little bit too chilly! We are also in the process of building a super outdoor bar which hopefully you will be able to take advantage of the next time you are here.
We are thrilled that you have already booked to come back and will look forward to seeing you and your family soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
0.6 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
878 reviews
3.7 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,795 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Fortescue Arms
The Fortescue Arms
#3 of 4 in Woolacombe
121 reviews
2.5 mi away
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
7.1 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woolacombe Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woolacombe Bay Hotel

Address: South Street, Woolacombe EX34 7BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woolacombe
Price Range: $209 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woolacombe Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Much of the Hotel has been lovingly restored from the mid 1800's, creating it's unique and tranquil atmosphere. High ceilings, chandeliers and comfortable, quiet lounges are a testament to that era, and where first class modern amenities are required, they have been skilfully incorporated into the existing Woolacombe accommodation. We place high value on our staff. Trained to be attentive yet unobtrusive and to provide the kind of personal service that is so often hard to find. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Woolacombe Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolacombe Bay Hotel
Bay Woolacombe
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing