We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woolacombe
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very basic!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed in the Pickwick ground floor flat, opposite the woolacombe bay hotel in October. We have stayed in the hotel several times previously and decided to stay in the self catering flat this time so we could bring our dog along. Unfortunately, the level of comfort and attention to detail given to the hotel rooms is sadly lacking in the self catering accommodation. The decor was stark eg. no pictures on the walls, the lighting was awful, the furniture was shabby, only 1 television in a 3 bedroomed apartment, no clock radios DVD's etc., no WIFI access, several radiators didn't work and the bedding, in particular the duvets, were very basic and nothing like what is provided in the hotel. In addition to all this the accommodation smelt of cigarette smoke! As self catering guests we had access to all hotel facilities, (except if we wanted to play snooker and then we were charged an extra £5 per session) although there was no information about the facilities left in the accommodation or general details about the hotel etc. Overall, we were disappointed and will not be booking this accommodation again. I don't understand how the hotel managment can justify their high rates (we paid £1100 for the week) for such basic accommodation.

Room Tip: Avoid the self catering apartments, they are nothing like the hotel and not much cheaper than the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank golden47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoolacombeBayHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Golden, you are indeed correct that our self catering apartments are not luxurious like our hotel. It quite clearly states on our website that they are not to the same four star standard as the hotel, and we are sorry that your expectations were not met on this occasion.
We are aware that the decor in the apartments is in need of updating, and we do have plans in place which are already underway. Many people (please see review below) are happy with the standard of the self-catering apartments, and we justify the cost (from £475 in low season) by the fact that they are consistently let for ten months of the year. Next time you come to Woolacombe we strongly suggest booking the hotel and can recommend some very good doggie kennels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    230
    95
    40
    20
See reviews for
286
317
14
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in October on a dinner, bed & breakfast deal which I think is excellent value.

We at in Doyle's Restaurant on both nights and enjoyed the variety and quality of food on offer. All of the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and breakfast was 1st class.

One niggle only - the restaurant seemed very warm at times.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 194Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoolacombeBayHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for writing such a lovely review, we are very pleased that you took advantage of one of our current dinner, bed and breakfast packages and that you enjoyed the food in Doyle's.
Apologies for the restaurant being warm, we do have air conditioning in there and it must have been very low on the nights you stayed. We will very much look forward to seeing you again soon at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I paid £560 for 2 nights B&B in August and to be honest it wasn't worth it. The pretty small room had a sea view with a balcony which was nice. But - it was as hot as hell in the room which did not have air conditioning. This is the 21st century and supposedly a 5 star hotel. Overall I thought it was poor value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank North_Beach_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoolacombeBayHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our Victorian building does indeed retain heat which works well in the winter months but not so well in the summer, especially when we have a welcome and overdue heatwave! We have looked at the possibility of installing air conditioning in our bedrooms, but feel that for a few weeks of the year it is simply not justified.
We are actually a four star hotel and therefore feel that we offer very good value for money to our guests, most of whom are very satisfied, thoroughly enjoy their time with us, and return year on year. We wish you all the best and hope to see you again at the hotel in the hope that we can change your views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed here again this year, this time for five nights, and I can thoroughly recommend the hotel. I had a room with a balcony and a sea view: well worth the extra cost. The room was clean and quite spacious. I particularly liked the elegant and well kept lounges. Dining either in Doyle's or the Brasserie was memorable but the Bar area in the Brasserie was too dark and gloomy for my taste. Finally could I commend the staff. They were very well trained, friendly, and efficient - the best around. Management should be very proud of them. I'll be back again next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TWJ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoolacombeBayHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear TWJ, firstly thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. It is always reassuring for us to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. At the Woolacombe Bay we do pride ourselves on having a very friendly and professional team who enjoy working here and want to do their utmost for all of our guests to ensure the best possible experience.
We are sorry that you do not like the decor in the bar - whilst we absolutely want to retain our heritage and the Victorian elements of the building, we felt that certain areas required their own identity, hence the colour choice!
We will very much look forward to welcoming you again at the hotel next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the WBH Copperfield Flat with our children (2yrs old & 4mths old) in early October. The 3 bedroom flat was perfect for our young family having all the flexibility of self catering but use of the hotel facilities and situated immediately opposite the hotel. The flat itself was clean, spacious and well provided in terms of plates, pots/pans, indoor/outdoor seating. The hotel was beautiful and had excellent facilities for young children (indoor playroom with lots of toys, outdoor play area, pool with baby changing&playpen). We used the babysitting service one night and the hotel provided a lovely lady babysitter while we ate a first-class meal in Doyle's. We also had great customer service from reception staff throughout our visit. Thank you WBH, we had a great week and we'll definitely be back.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GMoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoolacombeBayHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review regarding Copperfield, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your week and made the most of the facilities at the hotel that come with booking one of our self catering apartments.
Our babysitting service is always popular with guests and again we are pleased that you made the most of your time here (and also had some adult time in Doyle's!). We will pass on your compliments to our chef, and look forward to seeing you again soon at the hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had a 3 night break here from 0ct 13th-16th 2013. Our room was 202 and had the most wonderful views of the sea across the lawn from floor to ceiling windows. The room was a brilliant size with plenty of room to sit and watch the view and had excellent wardrobe and storage space. The bathroom was a little small but beautifully appointed. A request for extra pillows was swiftly acceded to and the housekeeping in general was top quality. The breakfast was very good indeed as a buffet selection with attentive and exceedingly polite and helpful staff. We used the indoor pool which is an excellent size allowing for a real swim. We did not eat at the hotel in the evening but found great pubs in Morthoe a few miles away and also in the village as well. Wonderful weather added to the experience which was most relaxing. All told the 3 nights we spent there were just great and we will return.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are often at a supplement but so worth it that it is well worth paying a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monal19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoolacombeBayHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for highlighting our housekeeping team - they do a fantastic job here at the Woolacombe Bay and it is always wonderful to pass on positive feedback from our valued guests. It is a shame you did not eat at the hotel but we are pleased that you found some great pubs nearby. We are always happy to recommend some fantastic restaurants and local pubs, and also hope that the next time you are here you have the chance to try Doyle's or our Bay Brasserie. Since introducing our Autumn menus we have had some superb feedback.
We will look forward to seeing you (in the restaurants especially!) the next time you are here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I came for 3 nights short break and was not disappointed in any way. All the staff went out of their way to be as helpful as possible. \we ate in the Brasserie for convenience - the service and food were of excellent quality. I had a room overlooking the town as the seaview rooms were full, but the room was satisfactory and of a reasonable size - the bathroom was large and modern. I was very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice.
The position of the hotel is superb with comfortable lounges overlooking the sea and last but not least- the car park is of adequate size.
Many Thanks

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtd82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoolacombeBayHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear mtd, thank you for your recent review - we are very happy that you had a comfortable stay with us and you found that our staff went out of their way. We are always happy to go the extra mile, and when our guests notice it makes it even more rewarding and enjoyable.
We will look forward to seeing you again soon at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
0.6 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
805 reviews
3.7 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,746 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Fortescue Arms
The Fortescue Arms
#3 of 4 in Woolacombe
105 reviews
8.2 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,174 reviews
2.5 mi away
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woolacombe Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woolacombe Bay Hotel

Property: The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
Address: South Street, Woolacombe EX34 7BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woolacombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woolacombe Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Much of the Hotel has been lovingly restored from the mid 1800's, creating it's unique and tranquil atmosphere. High ceilings, chandeliers and comfortable, quiet lounges are a testament to that era, and where first class modern amenities are required, they have been skilfully incorporated into the existing Woolacombe accommodation. We place high value on our staff. Trained to be attentive yet unobtrusive and to provide the kind of personal service that is so often hard to find. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and HRS so you can book your The Woolacombe Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolacombe Bay Hotel
Bay Woolacombe
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing