We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woolacombe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed here again this year, this time for five nights, and I can thoroughly recommend the hotel. I had a room with a balcony and a sea view: well worth the extra cost. The room was clean and quite spacious. I particularly liked the elegant and well kept lounges. Dining either in Doyle's or the Brasserie was memorable but the Bar area in the Brasserie was too dark and gloomy for my taste. Finally could I commend the staff. They were very well trained, friendly, and efficient - the best around. Management should be very proud of them. I'll be back again next year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TWJ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoolacombeBayHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear TWJ, firstly thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. It is always reassuring for us to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. At the Woolacombe Bay we do pride ourselves on having a very friendly and professional team who enjoy working here and want to do their utmost for all of our guests to ensure the best possible experience.
We are sorry that you do not like the decor in the bar - whilst we absolutely want to retain our heritage and the Victorian elements of the building, we felt that certain areas required their own identity, hence the colour choice!
We will very much look forward to welcoming you again at the hotel next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (837)
There are newer reviews for The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

570 - 576 of 837 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the WBH Copperfield Flat with our children (2yrs old & 4mths old) in early October. The 3 bedroom flat was perfect for our young family having all the flexibility of self catering but use of the hotel facilities and situated immediately opposite the hotel. The flat itself was clean, spacious and well provided in terms of plates, pots/pans, indoor/outdoor seating. The hotel was beautiful and had excellent facilities for young children (indoor playroom with lots of toys, outdoor play area, pool with baby changing&playpen). We used the babysitting service one night and the hotel provided a lovely lady babysitter while we ate a first-class meal in Doyle's. We also had great customer service from reception staff throughout our visit. Thank you WBH, we had a great week and we'll definitely be back.

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank GMoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoolacombeBayHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review regarding Copperfield, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your week and made the most of the facilities at the hotel that come with booking one of our self catering apartments.
Our babysitting service is always popular with guests and again we are pleased that you made the most of your time here (and also had some adult time in Doyle's!). We will pass on your compliments to our chef, and look forward to seeing you again soon at the hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had a 3 night break here from 0ct 13th-16th 2013. Our room was 202 and had the most wonderful views of the sea across the lawn from floor to ceiling windows. The room was a brilliant size with plenty of room to sit and watch the view and had excellent wardrobe and storage space. The bathroom was a little small but beautifully appointed. A request for extra pillows was swiftly acceded to and the housekeeping in general was top quality. The breakfast was very good indeed as a buffet selection with attentive and exceedingly polite and helpful staff. We used the indoor pool which is an excellent size allowing for a real swim. We did not eat at the hotel in the evening but found great pubs in Morthoe a few miles away and also in the village as well. Wonderful weather added to the experience which was most relaxing. All told the 3 nights we spent there were just great and we will return.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are often at a supplement but so worth it that it is well worth paying a littl...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monal19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoolacombeBayHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for highlighting our housekeeping team - they do a fantastic job here at the Woolacombe Bay and it is always wonderful to pass on positive feedback from our valued guests. It is a shame you did not eat at the hotel but we are pleased that you found some great pubs nearby. We are always happy to recommend some fantastic restaurants and local pubs, and also hope that the next time you are here you have the chance to try Doyle's or our Bay Brasserie. Since introducing our Autumn menus we have had some superb feedback.
We will look forward to seeing you (in the restaurants especially!) the next time you are here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I came for 3 nights short break and was not disappointed in any way. All the staff went out of their way to be as helpful as possible. \we ate in the Brasserie for convenience - the service and food were of excellent quality. I had a room overlooking the town as the seaview rooms were full, but the room was satisfactory and of a reasonable size - the bathroom was large and modern. I was very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice.
The position of the hotel is superb with comfortable lounges overlooking the sea and last but not least- the car park is of adequate size.
Many Thanks

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtd82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoolacombeBayHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear mtd, thank you for your recent review - we are very happy that you had a comfortable stay with us and you found that our staff went out of their way. We are always happy to go the extra mile, and when our guests notice it makes it even more rewarding and enjoyable.
We will look forward to seeing you again soon at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel, we stayed for one night as a treat and we really enjoyed it. We ate in the brasserie which was delicious but the real treat was the new outdoor lido with a crystal clear pool lots of different loungers and waitress service at a reasonable price. The hotel is beautifully situated overlooking its own pitch and putt course leading onto the beach at woolacombe. The staff were very friendly and attentive without being overly so. The room was lovely and spacious with a super comfy bed and a brand new bathroom and powerful shower. The buffet breakfast was in a lovely dining room opening up with views to the beach and the quality and choice of food was excellent. I would definitely return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzyrobot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoolacombeBayHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel after your night with us, we are thrilled that you enjoyed the location, room and the facilities we have here. If you fancy another treat then please call us direct - all of our rooms are so very different we are always happy to talk you through which will give you the best stay possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I came on business. This hotel was sold heavily to me as being "wonderful". Certainly charming. Lots of quirky features although you can get lost very easily. Location stunning. Gardens amazing. Service good although I did have to explain I needed gluten free food, even though I had been assured it was all taken care of. Spa facilities OK. Nowhere near as good as some of the ones I have experienced.
I ate in both the Brasserie and the main restaraunt. Advice is to stick to the main restaraunt.
Probably be back, but on business not leisure.

Room Tip: Eat in the main restaraunt. Don't bother with the Brasserie.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WILLIAM1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoolacombeBayHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review. We are very pleased that you will be back on business, and perhaps the next time you are here you would like to try a treatment in our Haven Spa - whilst the spa is not huge we often have great feedback on the quality of the treatments our highly experienced therapists provide. We hope that you were happy with the gluten free offerings and are sorry that you had to remind us of this when you were here. We always ensure that these important details are noted on our guest profiles and therefore you should not have this problem again. We will look forward to welcoming you again at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed in the hotel's self catering apartments ( Woolacombe Court Apartments -very good) for a holiday week arranged around a family wedding in the hotel itself. We ate the first night in the Brasserie courtyard and enjoyed the very best smoked haddock tartlet starter I've ever eaten. I also enjoyed the excellent Spa facilities with its lovely swimming pool, jacuzzi ( the best! ) and sauna plus a very relaxing aromatherapy massage from the highly competent resident Canadian Devonian therapist. The weather was characteristically British ( mist, wind and sunny periods) and the beach superb if you wore a wetsuit or a warm jacket with your bare feet. Lovely place. great wedding venue. Great food.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celticsulis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoolacombeBayHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review of our self catering apartments, Bay Brasserie and Haven Spa - we are very pleased that you enjoyed the wedding you attended and that you also had the opportunity to have a relaxing stay whilst you were here. We have passed on your kind comments to our Canadian/Devonian therapist (Claire!) and will very much look forward to seeing you again soon at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
0.6 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
865 reviews
3.7 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,779 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Fortescue Arms
The Fortescue Arms
#3 of 4 in Woolacombe
118 reviews
2.5 mi away
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
7.1 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woolacombe Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woolacombe Bay Hotel

Address: South Street, Woolacombe EX34 7BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woolacombe
Price Range: $206 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woolacombe Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Much of the Hotel has been lovingly restored from the mid 1800's, creating it's unique and tranquil atmosphere. High ceilings, chandeliers and comfortable, quiet lounges are a testament to that era, and where first class modern amenities are required, they have been skilfully incorporated into the existing Woolacombe accommodation. We place high value on our staff. Trained to be attentive yet unobtrusive and to provide the kind of personal service that is so often hard to find. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, HRS and Booking.com so you can book your The Woolacombe Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolacombe Bay Hotel
Bay Woolacombe
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing