We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woolacombe
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Family Holiday”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed here in August for a family holiday with my parents. The facilities are really good, the outdoor pool which I think is fairly new is really lovely and a bit of a sun trap. The indoor pool, sauna, steam room and spa were all immaculate and very relaxing.

There is a golf course in front of the building which my children loved. We surfed every day and there is surf board storage available for a small deposit.

The gardens are immaculate.

Our room was nice but lacking on storage space, no drawers whatsoever in the childrens room which meant we had to use the window sills to stack all their clothes up which was always a mess and not very relaxing. There was a disused door in their room which could easily have taken a chest of drawers in front of it. On the plus side we had a very spacious bathroom which we hung our wetsuits to dry every night without them getting in the way.

The brasserie is really good for an evening meal. We ate once in the main restaurant (Doyles) but found it to be very stuffy and we did not go back. The food was good though.

The best part was breakfast which was a delight every day. They do homemade pancakes which the children loved.

Would definitely recommend eating at The Boardwalk which overlooks Woolacombe Bay. The mussels were to die for!

Tip: Take lots of coat hangers!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thegr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    236
    99
    41
    20
See reviews for
304
333
14
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely stay here last week with our 15 month old. Huge spacious rooms, proper cots for the little ones and the baby listening service is such a brilliant idea. Fantastic food and location. This hotel is a credit to the hardworking staff. The porters still smiled even after helping my husband with our luggage in the pouring rain and gale force wind.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flims, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
213 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is a good hotel for happy holidays. An old lady well restored with modern facilities and at a perfect location. The staff is friendly and very young. They do their job well and professional. The hotel fits good for families and also for us, as a couple. We stayed in room nr. 302 which is in the little tower with a awsome view. The room is in good shape. It's more on the ordinary side than luxury. No wooden floors, only carpet. Breakfast is good. Dinning room is very impressing. Parking in front of the hotel is easy and free. The price is right. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotbath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

It was last min booking but we were not disappointed, this hotel has cust service at it's core and reinvests in the whole hotel. Nothing was too much trouble and we had a lovely break, the brasserie where we ate often was very tasty even for teenagers. Having everything included really made the break, pitch and putt, lido all spot on.

Room Tip: Up high to avoid the patter of feet:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hogfairfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwood
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

While camping in Morthoe we decided to go out for a meal. Having spoken to fellow dog owners we were recommended the brasserie at the Woolacombe Bay Hotel. An extremely good meal in a dog friendly environment. Great food and staff.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed many times at WBH over 20 years and loved every visit. This time stayed for three night as a party of 5 (multi generations) in three rooms (202, 207 & 308)each with seaview. Although the rooms decor lack individuality this is more than made up by the views! Wonderful reception on checking in and out. The rooms were always serviced during breakfast, many thanks to the housekeeping team. We ate each evening at Doyles, lovely food, excellent service, the Sunday morning breakfast queues should be addressed but the staff seemed to manage the situation always with a smile, well done. The Brasserie bar had some fabulous cowskin rotating pouffes and amazing lizard wallpaper! All the staff were professional, polite, friendly and nothing seemed too much trouble, and they seem to work quite hard with a very happy attitude, the management should be very proud of all the staff, many thanks. Very sad to leave on Sunday but we will return!

Room Tip: Sea view room essential and worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel. The room we stayed in was lovely, not so large, but the beds were extremely comfortable. The bathroom was huge and had a gorgeous bathtub in the middle of the room. We stayed in August and the room was very hot at night. The facilities are great, a nice indoor pool and a fantastic outdoor lido which is lovely for lounging around on sunny days in the comfy chairs and beanbags they provide. A very short walk to the town and beach, a great location, and I would definitely book to come back again.

Room Tip: More expensive rooms on the front have a fantastic view, especially at sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willowclose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
0.6 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
843 reviews
3.7 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,765 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
8.2 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,236 reviews
3.2 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woolacombe Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woolacombe Bay Hotel

Property: The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
Address: South Street, Woolacombe EX34 7BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woolacombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woolacombe Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Much of the Hotel has been lovingly restored from the mid 1800's, creating it's unique and tranquil atmosphere. High ceilings, chandeliers and comfortable, quiet lounges are a testament to that era, and where first class modern amenities are required, they have been skilfully incorporated into the existing Woolacombe accommodation. We place high value on our staff. Trained to be attentive yet unobtrusive and to provide the kind of personal service that is so often hard to find. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HRS, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your The Woolacombe Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolacombe Bay Hotel
Bay Woolacombe
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing