We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, Expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woolacombe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Nice building, looks expensive and feels posh when inside. A few rooms and a downstairs lounge that you can relax in. There is also quite a nice swimming pool and sauna - but Communal Changing! The room was nice with 3 single beds, a flat screen wall mounted tv and luggage/ drinks making area. There was also a small balcony, not much of a view though. The meals were rather expensive and for breakfast there was a buffet. There is also a Snooker room that you use if you ask for the key. Overall nice stay - If you're willing to pay the Money!

Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank Xcod S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (868)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

685 - 691 of 868 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

I loved the Woolacombe Bay hotel and have been there on many occasions.
The hotel is spacious, comfortable and you very soon feel at home in this family run hotel.
You can enjoy the great amenities and environment including the spa, indoor swimming pool, tennis and lovely gardens leading to the 3 miles sandy beach.
Dining and sitting rooms are very comfortable and cosy, the Brasserie is a very nice place for lunch or for a drink. The hotel is either a perfect retreat during rough weather or ideally located to take advantage of the stunning surroundings. Woolacombe is ideal for long walks along this amazing piece of cost and surfing.
Rooms are not luxurious and some are not huge though but still comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DudeLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I feel compelled to write a review as there are so many positive ones and we had such a dreadful experience. These hotels need to offer a more balanced opinion rather than shamelessly only posting positive reviews on facebook. We stayed in August and had booked for 5 nights, we checked out after 1 night. In summary:
Our suite was described as 'non sea view' not a problem we thought. We arrived to have a lovely view of the bins from the kitchen, the balcony looks onto other rooms and the vent from the spa fires out strong smells right onto your balcony. The hill view we were promised is there and is lovely as long as you don't mind the kitchen buildings in front of it. We asked to change rooms and we given a small room with a sea view. The room was filthy with holes in the skirting board and thick layers of dust. The kids were tired, we were fed up so we stayed. Got the kids to bed, had a shower when the phone rang. It was reception asking if we had used the shower. We had. Apparently water was leaking into the room below and we were asked to hold off using the shower! We didn't hear from anyone again.
Went down for dinner. Very average food. The next morning we picked our son up out of the cot to find that he had managed to undo the catch that holds the cot together (worrying as it could have collapsed and he was only 18 months old) and as I picked him up the sheet came off to reveal a nasty, ripped cot mattress.
We checked out. No apology or discount from the hotel. In fact I doubt they cared as they were fully booked.
We drove to Soar Mill Cove Hotel. What a lovely, clean place it was and such lovely staff.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank HVR174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoolacombeBayHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. I am very concerned to hear about your experiences, which, as you have seen from other reviews of the hotel, do not reflect the level of service usually received by our guests. I apologise that in this instance you were left feeling let down.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I have stayed in numerous hotels around the world and I rate this among the nicest. The hotel is spacious, comfortable and elegant, yet it is entirely free of any tendency to intimidating grandeur. The staff are superb - always cheerful, helpful and professional - and Doyle's Restaurant is excellent. The chef clearly knows what he is doing and meals are imaginative, varied and well-balanced. Woolacombe is small, attractive and quiet (out of season), and the hotel is perfectly placed for the enormous sandy beach and walks along the coastal path. Moreover the hotel itself has very good leisure facilities, including a fair-sized and warm indoor pool, squash courts, gymnasium, outdoor pool, tennis courts and pitch-and-putt golf. All that said, the price we paid for a mid-week break in early November was very reasonable at less than £70 per person per night for dinner, bed and breakfast. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Worth paying a small supplement for a sea view room with views across to Lundy Island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rmhinde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoolacombeBayHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Thoroughly delighted to read that your stay with us was so 'wonderful'. I will gladly pass on your extremely positive comments to the rest of the staff here and hope you will return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed for two nights at the beginning of October to celebrate a relations's wedding at this hotel.

By all accounts the bride & groom were exceedingly well looked after & the ceremony, arrangements, dinner & evening event were fantastic & enjoyed by all.

We had a dinner the evening before the wedding in the hotel bistro which was excellent.

Staff very friendly & efficient, including prompt provision of fresh milk for the in room tea on request.

The hotel rooms are constrained by the age of the building but have been refurbished to a good standard. Although good toiletries & dressing gowns are provided (& very decent size flat screen TVs), it would have been nice to provide bottled water in the room.

Room Tip: Sea view worth it as although not directly on the sea front one can see Lundy Island & the skies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

What a beautiful hotel! We were staying just outside of Woolacombe and treated ourselves to a meal at Doyles Restaurant at the Woolacombe Bay Hotel. The meal was absolutely delicious. The chef really pays attention to detail. I think the restaurant has recently undergone a redecoration, which compliments this beautiful room, with it's high ceilings and large windows. On the night we dined, the restaurant was quite busy, but the staff were extremely attentive. All in all, it was a fabulous evening. Definately 5 star treatment!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoolacombeBayHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Thoroughly delighted to read that your stay with us was so 'wonderful'. We strive to make sure all our guests feel special and our food is made to the highest standards. I will gladly pass on your extremely positive comments to the rest of the staff here and hope you will return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We've stayed here as a couple, got married here and have since been back as a young family. Each time all the staff at the hotel have been friendly and helpful. Woolacombe is a great UK holiday destination. Lots to do, regardless of the weather. The hotel offers a high standard of comfort with stunning views of the bay (provided you buy a seaview room!). Even though our wedding was a small one, they treated us with the same level or professionalism as if it had been a 120+ guests they usually cater for. We'll be going back.

Room Tip: Book a seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkOllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
0.6 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
906 reviews
3.7 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,870 reviews
7.1 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Fortescue Arms
The Fortescue Arms
#3 of 4 in Woolacombe
123 reviews
2.5 mi away
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
9.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woolacombe Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woolacombe Bay Hotel

Address: South Street, Woolacombe EX34 7BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woolacombe
Price Range: $220 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woolacombe Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Much of the Hotel has been lovingly restored from the mid 1800's, creating it's unique and tranquil atmosphere. High ceilings, chandeliers and comfortable, quiet lounges are a testament to that era, and where first class modern amenities are required, they have been skilfully incorporated into the existing Woolacombe accommodation. We place high value on our staff. Trained to be attentive yet unobtrusive and to provide the kind of personal service that is so often hard to find. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Woolacombe Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolacombe Bay Hotel
Bay Woolacombe
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing