We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Self catering apartments Woolacombe Bay Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woolacombe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We have been spending a week In the apartments out of season for many years. Woolacombe is quiet in March and wonderful for beach and cliff walks. There are a good number if pubs and cafes open around the area. The flats are reasonably well furnished and warm. Hotel facilities i.e. Pool, sauna and steam room are free to use. A great way to shake off winter blues.

Room Tip: Self catering apartments have two bedrooms and sleep 6 although more comfortable with four people. S...
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
11  Thank patricia186390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (857)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

720 - 726 of 857 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2012

Holidayed here multiple times and would come again and again (5 stays so far). The location is perfect and children of all ages have fun. The bar and brasserie are contemporary whilst restaurant is formal. Lack room service and adequate lounge areas.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blondetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Third visit for lunch after a lovely walk along the beach. Everytime the food and service has been superb and looking forward to trying it for dinner. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingMole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We took the kids for a break during this last half term at thei hotel, and as with previous expereinces of stays here, we have been very happy with the service they provide. Kids love the entertainment at night and lots to do with them within the hotel even on a rainy day. Food at the restaurant was very good, however I think that there could be a little bit more variety with the breakfast offerings. Limited continetal selection for breakfast, apart form croissants and some bread and cheese. A variety of pastries and some cold meats would be appreaciated by those who do not prefer the traditional british cooked breakfast.


The hotel has removed the "monkey bars" clibming frame for the kids and was told that this was due to health and safety issues. Kids very much enjoyed this facility last year. This year the kids play area could benefit from some refurbishment.

My only real complaint is the matress in the double bed. The quality could be better i.e. pocket sprung mattress with a matress enhancer (feather or memory foam) would have improved the quality of our sleep.

Other than that staff were very helpful and accomodating to guests and thier requests. Most importantly, my kids enjoyed thier stay and as parents we feel rested and happy.

Keep up the good work at Woolacombe Bay Hotel!

Room Tip: if you are with children ask for communicating rooms when making a booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WelshFamily040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Lovely hotel with great views and fantasic food plus service ,what else can you ask for? We took our 2 young children ,lots to do for them . All great

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twist1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We stayed over the Royal wedding weekend, and paid extra to upgrade to the sea view/balcony room.
Overall the stay worked out quite expensive for 4 nights, but we enjoyed our time here. Some Pros/Cons:

Pros
Amazing views out to the sea - balcony was nice to sit out on
Loved having use of the squash courts
The reception lounges were perfect to relax in and read the papers
It has a lovely aura of faded glamour
Few minutes walk down to the beach

Cons
Breakfast was so so busy, was difficult to get served for tea/coffee and they kept running out of things like juice glasses at the buffet.
You really need to book way in advance to get any treatment in the spa
The gym was only average
Some areas of the hotel were in need of modernisation
Wedding receptions can get pretty noisy
Rooms were a little on the small side

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

rooms comfortable and roomy. Staff friendly and helpful. Food was plentiful and good variety with the buffet service. Swimming pool n added bonus. In need of modernisation but this is being addressed on a daily basis. It all takes time, If you want value for money you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ann c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
0.6 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
897 reviews
3.7 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,830 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Fortescue Arms
The Fortescue Arms
#3 of 4 in Woolacombe
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
837 reviews
2.5 mi away
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
7.1 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woolacombe Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woolacombe Bay Hotel

Address: South Street, Woolacombe EX34 7BN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woolacombe
Price Range: $208 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woolacombe Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Much of the Hotel has been lovingly restored from the mid 1800's, creating it's unique and tranquil atmosphere. High ceilings, chandeliers and comfortable, quiet lounges are a testament to that era, and where first class modern amenities are required, they have been skilfully incorporated into the existing Woolacombe accommodation. We place high value on our staff. Trained to be attentive yet unobtrusive and to provide the kind of personal service that is so often hard to find. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HRS, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Woolacombe Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolacombe Bay Hotel
Bay Woolacombe
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing