We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, room & hosts”
Review of Downland House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woolacombe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Downland House
Ranked #9 of 20 Woolacombe B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Cannot fault downland house; perfect location (only a few minutes walk and you are on the beach), spectacular views from your own private balcony of the rolling countryside and the Sea, the room was beautiful & v.clean, hosts are lovely too!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank leannedancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 67 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2014

We decided to go for a short two night walking break in Woolacombe and chose to stay at Downland House and what a good choice it was. We were treated very well by our hosts and you can see they have worked very hard on every little detail. Our room was superb, excellent decor spotlessly clean and very light and airy with a balcony overlooking the sea, good idea to put a wine cooler in the room so we could enjoy a nice cool glass of white admiring the view. Breakfast was delightful served in the newly constructed conservatory. The hosts have been in the trade for many years running larger hotels in Woolacombe, so you are getting a wonderful experience with people who enjoy and know how to make your stay special. A very satisfied Brian & Helena.

Room Tip: They are all nice with sea views and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Capelfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Just stayed here for three nights and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in woolacombe. Fantastic room, hosts and breakfast! All rooms have balconies with sea views, are tastefully decorated, comfy and spacious.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Diana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Everything is very high quality. The owners have very good taste in furnishings and finishes. There is a balcony overlooking the ocean at every room (at least the ones I saw.) The food was excellent. The bed was too soft for my husband but I thought it was wonderful. Internet was good. It's close enough to town that it's an easy walk, but far enough away that you get a good deal. Breakfast is served in the conservatory - very nice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CultureSeeker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We traveled to Woolacombe to meet up with friends who were staying at a nearby hotel .What we found at Downland House made our visit a great success .The room was delightful with a balcony to look out on stunning views .The room was spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated .Everything was there to make your stay comfortable .Keith and Cilla were very friendly and welcoming .After a comfortable nights sleep we enjoyed a fantastic breakfast .We highly recommend Downland House and if we return which we would love to as we found Woolicombe to be a friendly seaside resort with a beach to die for .This would be the place we would stay .

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 870warrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I have just returned from a weekend stay. What an amazing Bed and Breakfast. Keith and Cilla are the perfect hosts and instantly make you feel welcome. My room was beautifully decorated and the view was stunning. The breakfast was really good too.
I cannot thank them enough. I couldn't have picked a more perfect place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Urolthom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed at Downland House for the weekend while friends were getting married at the big Woolacombe Bay Hotel. I really don't think we could have chosen a nicer, more comfortable place to stay. Keith & Cilla are very friendly and wonderful hosts who made us feel so welcome in their lovely little B & B. Our room was room number 3 and it was perfect...very clean and tidy with lovely décor... the en suite was clean and nice size ...the power shower was great too with hot running water whatever time of day, the bedroom was furnished in a modern taste, with nice little touches like scented heart shaped pot pourri pockets that hung on the door handles, a wine cooler and a good hairdryer. We were surprised when we only stayed 2 nights over a weekend, Cilla and Keith came in on the Saturday morning after breakfast to clean, hoover round and make up the bed for us... Breakfast was delicious with choice of either cereals, fresh pears or croissant and jams, then full English or smoked salmon and scrambled egg muffins, all of which were very tasty. The B & B itself is a 5 minute walk uphill from the centre of Woolacombe, shops and few minutes more to the beach. The beach stretches the whole of the bay, is great for surfers and is very clean.
I cannot recommend Downland House highly enough and if I ever came back to Woolacombe, I would always try and stay here.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms have a sea view and are south facing, room 2 is not en suite but has bathroom opposite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lizzy2069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
0.2 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
844 reviews
0.6 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
879 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Fortescue Arms
The Fortescue Arms
#3 of 4 in Woolacombe
121 reviews
3.9 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,795 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#10 of 15 in Woolacombe
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downland House

Address: Downland House Beach Road, Woolacombe EX34 7BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Woolacombe
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated Edwardian residence offering stylish and comfortable Bed and Breakfast accommodation. All three rooms are king size doubles with their own private facilities and each has a balcony with sea, beach and countryside views. Ample parking and just a short stroll to the beach, local shops, pubs and restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Downland House Woolacombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing