We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Downland House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woolacombe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Downland House
Ranked #9 of 20 Woolacombe B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This B&B was a real find. Just by chance saw the owner outside. Rooms were decorated beautifully.
Everything you needed was on hand.
Breakfast was really good but a just to much for me,scrambled eggs with smoked salmon on a muffin.
Our room looked out over the water.
So going back one day
Thanks for a lovely stay

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rinds1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 67 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

If you want to stay in a good bed and breakfast in Woolacombe, stay at Downland House. The welcome is excellent, the view superb and the entire house is elegant and very clean- oh I forgot the very tasty breakfast. Keith and Cilla are very experienced and it shows in their attitude to their guests. Don't forget to take your glass of wine from the wine-cooler provided onto your balcony overlooking Woolacombe Bay.

Room Tip: all rooms have a superb view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DerryBracknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Excellent few days in Woolacombe, lovely room with great views - able to sit outside and check the conditions for surfing without leaving the house! Great Muesli and smoked salmon muffins. Ginger cat from next door made it feel like home!!!

Room Tip: room one has dual aspect for views to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bartyWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights over the bank holiday weekend and were blown away by the place. Downland house is nicer than any 5 star hotel! Keith and Cilla's attention to detail makes this place extra special (down to the wine cooler in the room). The room was spotless and beautifully decorated and the views from the balcony are amazing. You are made to feel so welcome from the moment you arrive with a warm hand shake from Keith and Cilla. The breakfasts are lovely with the choice of scrambled egg and smoked salmon if you want a change from a fry-up. Every morning you can get tips from Keith and Cilla about where to go and what to see..... they love to chat! Would definitely return if ever back in Woolacombe!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

what a place!. welcomed by Keith and Cilla and knew straight away we would be happy and comfortable at Downland House.Our room was perfect with a balcony and windows with views of the sea and countryside. The breakfast was very good. Its a few minutes walk into woolacombewith plenty of restaurants and bars .If your thinking of going to Woolacombe ,you should check this place out. Keith and Cilla have a lot of experience in the holiday trade and know how to run a place to make you feel at home

Room Tip: go for room 1 as it has an extra window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelersHorsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Great B&B, with everything you could ever want from a place to stay. We stayed in Room 1 which was light and airy with a lovely sea view from the bed! All 3 rooms have a balcony with a table and chairs and sea views and countryside views too. There is a wine cooler in the room so you can sit out and relax with a glass or two of wine. The town is a short downhill walk, and you get to work off dinner on the way back! There is a lovely relaxed atmosphere, with Keith and Cilla being excellent hosts. Breakfast was delicious, and very filling. We really enjoyed our stay in Woolacombe and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a window on the side looking straight towards the sea, it also is the end room so it has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsND2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Amazing B&B in close proximity to Woolacombe beach. The room was very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was excellent with a good variety of options. Having the balcony which overlooked Woolacombe was a wonderful addition and meant that if we'd had enough of being on the beach we had the option to retreat to the B&B and sit outside. Keith and Cilla were very welcoming and always happy to give advise on what to do and recommend a good cream tea! Will definitely be coming back here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Woolacombe hotels
0.2 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
861 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sunnymeade Country House
Sunnymeade Country House
#8 of 20 in Woolacombe
71 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Smugglers Rest
The Smugglers Rest
#2 of 4 in Mortehoe
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marine House
Marine House
#10 of 20 in Woolacombe
19 reviews
0.6 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
903 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#10 of 15 in Woolacombe
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downland House

Address: Downland House Beach Road, Woolacombe EX34 7BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Woolacombe
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated Edwardian residence offering stylish and comfortable Bed and Breakfast accommodation. All three rooms are king size doubles with their own private facilities and each has a balcony with sea, beach and countryside views. Ample parking and just a short stroll to the beach, local shops, pubs and restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Downland House Woolacombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing