We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location, big spacious property”

Review of Surf View - OC127

Woolacombe Holiday Cottages Surf View Lounge With Sea View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Woolacombe Holiday Cottages Surf View Lounge With Sea View
Woolacombe Holiday Cottages Surf View Lounge With View Woolacombe Holiday Cottages Surf View Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Woolacombe Holiday Cottages Surf View Lounge With Sea View
Woolacombe Holiday Cottages Surf View Lounge With View
Woolacombe Holiday Cottages Surf View Lounge
Woolacombe Holiday Cottages Surf View Lounge To Bedroom
Woolacombe Holiday Cottages Surf View Entrance
Woolacombe Holiday Cottages Surf View Kitchen
Woolacombe Holiday Cottages Surf View Kitchen To Stairs
Woolacombe Holiday Cottages Surf View Bedroom Upstairs
Woolacombe Holiday Cottages Surf View Bedroom En Suite
Woolacombe Holiday Cottages Surf View Piano
Woolacombe Holiday Cottages Surf View Bunk Room
Woolacombe Holiday Cottages Surf View Pictures
Woolacombe Holiday Cottages Surf View Double Room
Woolacombe Holiday Cottages Surf View Double To Shower En Suite
Woolacombe Holiday Cottages Surf View Shared Bathroom
Woolacombe Holiday Cottages Surf View Block
Woolacombe Holiday Cottages Surf View Balcony
Woolacombe Holiday Cottages Surf View View From Balcony
Woolacombe Holiday Cottages Surf View Mortehoe
Woolacombe Holiday Cottages Surf View Coast
Woolacombe Holiday Cottages Surf View Coast Path
Woolacombe Holiday Cottages Surf View Red Barn
Woolacombe Holiday Cottages Surf View Village
Woolacombe Holiday Cottages Surf View Shops
Woolacombe Holiday Cottages Surf View Sunset Swimmers
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Woolacombe, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Go700721
1 review
“Great location, big spacious property”
Reviewed August 25, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The big selling point of this apartment is the location, you can be on the beach within minutes, which is particularly useful if the weather is changeable. The apartment is furnished with everything you need, some of the furnishings are a bit tired but it is very clean. The patio is a great place to sit with a glass of wine and watch the world go by. We come to Woolacombe every year and this is the best place we have stayed due to the fab location .

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue M
Woolacombe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Another lovely stay”
Reviewed October 27, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed at this property a couple of years ago and recently re-visited for the weekend. The property was as we remembered it- excellent if you have a group of friends and want to have enough space for everyone.
Overall this is a really great property, though I would mention that there is one less sofa in the property than is shown in the pictures on the ocean properties website. The property would benefit from free wifi as most of us had data on our contracts but the 3G coverage was poor. There is the option of BT openreach wifi but I think you have to pay for this. We brought speakers over to play music, which I would advise as we couldn't see any speakers, although I thought there were some last time we visited!
The tasty cake and milk already in the flat on our arrival was a lovely, much appreciated touch. Overall Surf view is a fab place to stay, I only mentioned the minor points as that was all we could find wrong with it! The views across the beach are amazing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and amazing views
Liked least: Lack of 1 sofa, wifi and speakers
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 28, 2015
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with Ocean Cottages again. Repeat customers are our reward!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnardo
Exeter, New Hampshire
2 reviews
“good location for beach & woolie”
Reviewed December 10, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

clean apartment great location no probs . only downside is limited parking but otherwise would happily stay again.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 29, 2013
So pleased you loved this beautiful holiday cottage - the views are simply the best in Croyde aren't they! Sitting right above the waves and looking out across the beach and Down End hillside! Perfect! Parking is difficult at busy times as there is only one dedicated parking space but there is visitors parking but if busy the other option is to park in the village or in the village car park leave one car there. Look forward to welcoming you back - we offer some very good weekend and off peak holidays and we all know Croyde is beautiful all year round!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue M
Woolacombe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great beach view accommodation for a large group”
Reviewed October 11, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Overall we had a lovely stay at the Surf View apartment. The kitchen was spacious as were the living areas. It was great having the stereo so we could plug in mp3 players, and a piano where various members of the group attempted to remember how to play! It was a slight surprise that although the accommodation is for up to 10 people there was not enough space on the sofas nor outside on the patio seating for us all to sit down together. The dining table did have enough room for 10. The double room and master suite were very nice and spacious, one friend mentioned that he couldn't get the room dark enough for his liking at night so if you don't sleep well maybe take an eye mask! The bunk room was roomy enough, however got very hot. Surprisingly the heating came on full blast early in the morning despite the fact we had not turned it on, making it rather uncomfortable for those sleeping by the radiators. One of the bathrooms smelt a bit strange but I think that is probably inevitable in a bathroom which doesn't have a window.
The beach view was magnificent and close proximity to the beach and shops/facilities of Woolacombe was great for our group. We had several cars but as it was after 1st October there was plenty of parking in the village.
Overall we had a wonderful stay, just a couple of small points which could have made it perfect!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amount of space and amazing view
Liked least: Needed one more sofa!
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2013
We are really pleased that you liked the apartment and enjoyed your stay in Woolacombe with Ocean Cottages. We have taken on board your comments regarding seating in the sitting room and outside patio and also will check the central heating settings! We look forward to welcoming you back to North Devon once again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atats
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing location and property”
Reviewed July 9, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Great beachside apartment...very clean and a fantastic location will definatly visit again
Beach was a short walk away. The apartment is right in the centre of wolacoombe so there are plenty of shops and restaurants near by

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2013
Hi There,

Thank you for your lovely review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your time at this beautiful property.

We hope to welcome you back in the future!

Kind Regards

Ocean Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndsey P
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly, immaculately presented and picturesque”
Reviewed June 15, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Steve greeted us as we arrived, waiting on the front steps with a friendly smile. Excellent local knowledge of pubs, restaurants and walks. We were made to feel relaxed and at home with use of the beautiful gardens which overlooked Woolacombe Bay. Breakfast was fantastic, a choice of options including a scrummy vegie fry up or scrambled eggs on toast. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if we were in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and laid back feel of the B&B
Liked least: Access road to the property
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 24, 2013
Hi There,

Thank you for your lovely review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your time at this beautiful property.

We hope to welcome you back in the future!

Kind Regards

Ocean Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 28, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness of the apartment for 10 adults
Liked least: The lack of sunshine!
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 30, 2012
Glad you had a wonderful time! Hope to see you again soon! Ocean Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing