We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning - The Montagu Steps Apartment”
Review of Lundy House Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woolacombe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lundy House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 21 Woolacombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning - The Montagu Steps Apartment”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This apartment is in a stunning location with fantastic views. It is one of the best we have stayed in, very clean, well equipped and comfortable. The balcony is lovely and the glass panels offer some protection from any wind, and allow uninterrupted views of the sea and being west facing, the beautiful sunsets (when available!). I think the sitting room is best suited for a maximum of four as it would be a bit cramped for six (and not enough seats anyway) but the bedrooms are spacious and the beds very comfortable. An observation, rather than a criticism, is that more crockery, cutlery and glassware would be useful if you want to use the dishwasher at full capacity as we found we were always running out of some items before we were ready to start the machine (there were four of us). Having surfers in the family, we probably would have liked an outside tap/water bucket to wash our feet/wetsuits before entering the hotel, as we didn't want to drag too much sand into the apartment. We would definitely return but my guess is once people know about it, availability might become an issue unless you are organised and book early!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruthley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LundyHouseOwner, Owner at Lundy House Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback on the apartment is so helpful; as you know it was our first year of letting it out, so it's useful to know what improvements we need to make. We hope to see you again in the future. Thanks once again, Tim and Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    27
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
47
91
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fremington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We visited this hotel for a short weekend break away from the kids...and what a break! The location is amazing,we only live less than an hour away yet we were blown away by the views...seeing seals outside our window was just one of the highlights.
The hotel is spotless and is decorated to a modern high standard ,the staff are welcoming and look after you well at breakfast!
Breakfast is great with a wide selection and taste great,bedrooms clean and modern.Bars an restaurants are within an easy walking distance and the beaches on your doorstop.
We will return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Very friendly staff with nothing too much trouble. Excellent breakfast. Hotel spotless would recommend to friends and family and visit again
Only one small grievance was the limited parking but not a major issue

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne5752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LundyHouseOwner, Owner at Lundy House Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Many thanks for your great review and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Parking is a bit of an issue probably because the hotel was built in the Georgian era and wasn't designed well for cars, but we try to organise the parking as best we can. We're pleased you enjoyed the breakfast and hope to see you again. FYI we will be extending the breakfast menu next year. Victoria and Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evesham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

we stayed here for 3 nights in august 2013. The room was lovely and clean with amazing views over to Lundy. The breakfast menu was varied and the food lovely. The service was good and the staff very pleasant. We would definitely love to visit again sometime. Only negative was that there is a small bar but it was lacking in stock!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evesham5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This place is fantastic. Great rooms with amazing sea views, the hotel sits right on the coastal path. Delicious, hearty breakfasts and friendly people who welcome adults, kids and dogs with equal enthusiasm - what more could you ask for?
We stayed in the Tibbets Room and there was plenty of space for the four of us - 2 adults, 2 children (8 & 10) and our little dog. The room really is a great size. The en suite bathroom is of equally generous proportions and the kids LOVED the finishing touches, like the tap that lights up!
The staff were really helpful and made us a brilliant breakfast every day. We had a lovely family holiday at the Lundy House Hotel - many thanks to them for giving us such a relaxing week.

Room Tip: We loved the sea view - but if that's not important to you the rooms without a view are a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2adults2kids1dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We found out about this hotel when we had cancelled another hotel in Woolacombe after reading the reviews.
We were desperate to find somewhere and when we read about Lundy House and the reviews it had received, we knew this was for us.
Our room (The Pondsbury) was tastefully furnished and the bathroom was lovely.
The shower was great.
The views from our window were superb!
The two mornings that we were there, the breakfast was delicious with a great choice.
The two young ladies who look after the place, are dong a great job and very sweet.
Well done.
We would thoroughly recommend this hotel and it made the end of our touring holiday special.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valsey49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed in the Montagu Steps Apartment. Oh woooow what a beautiful apartment, plenty of room and a good family sized bathroom. The Kitchen had everything you needed, all rooms were a very good size for a family of 4 or even 6. The Stunning views from the balcony just spoilt us every evening relaxing with a glass of wine. I can not say anything bad about this apartment or the owners of the B&B lovely couple and always around if you need them. It had everything you wanted in it and didn't need for anything. It made our holiday even nicer having somewhere so clean and well kept to come back to everyday. I would recommend this apartment and we have been totally spoilt by it and will hopefully be coming back next year, as don't feel anywhere else could match the accommodation and views with the price paid. Thank you for a beautiful and relaxing stay.

The Tarry Family

Room Tip: We used the sea view room as our main bedroom this had a double bed in it, but the bed wasn't as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
0.2 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
802 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
780 reviews
4.4 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
806 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Fortescue Arms
The Fortescue Arms
#3 of 4 in Woolacombe
105 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Smugglers Rest
The Smugglers Rest
#2 of 5 in Mortehoe
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lundy House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lundy House Hotel

Property: Lundy House Hotel
Address: Chapel Hill | Mortehoe, Woolacombe, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Woolacombe
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lundy House Hotel is set directly on the North Devon coastline, with views across to Lundy Island and placed midway between the quaint old village of Mortehoe and the seaside resort of Woolacombe in North Devon.The Lundy House Hotel is a small family run Bed and Breakfast where we aim to give our guests a comfortable, relaxing and truly memorable holiday in idyllic surroundings.The Lundy House Big Breakfast has earned us quite a reputation, especially the porridge served with Devon clotted cream! Vegetarians are always catered for. No need to leave behind the family dog – Pets are most welcome. Only a small charge! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lundy House Hotel Woolacombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing