We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location”
Review of Lundy House Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woolacombe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lundy House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 21 Woolacombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Being totally unfamiliar with this corner of England, the reviews on Tripadvisor were influential in persuading us to try out this hotel. It has an ideal setting on the cliff edge between Mortehoe and Woolacombe, far away enough from both to be blissfully quiet at night. Woolacombe has horrendous parking problems so it was a major bonus to be able to walk along the Coastal Path to the beach. Our room was immaculate, with a large comfortable bed, and a bath as well as a shower, which always earns good marks. Neither of us are big breakfast eaters but we could see the other guests tucking into huge and hearty breakfasts. The tariff was very reasonable for midsummer in a major resort. There seemed to be minimum supervision but it all ran like clockwork. My only regret was that the hotel enjoys sensational views but if one does not have a sea-view room one gets much less than the full benefit of them. We would definitely go back but would book early enough to get one of the sea-view rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    27
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
47
90
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed here 18 months ago after a recommendation - excellent. Have recommended to our families who again have had totally relaxing and enjoyable stays here. Would have been down this week but have had to cancel due to surgery being brought forward but will defiantly be down for our August booking.
1st class service, food, rooms and views
Thankyou

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We found the Lundy House Hotel an ideal place in which to stay for our holiday. We explored far west as Tintagel in Cornwall, as far east as Minehead in Somerset and as far south as Tarr Steps on Exmore. The excellent hotel breakfast set us up for the day and the hotel was a relaxing place to return to after the day's activities. The room was extremely comfortable, our Bernese Mountain dog found the local facilities to his entire satisfaction. The hotel staff were very welcoming and helpful and were a credit to the hotel. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel as a base for exploring this area of the country.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank don f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The "Tibbets" deluxe room was amazing, it had recently been refurbished we were told, and although there was only the two of us, it would offer a family plenty of space. We relaxed sat in the bay window, with the french doors open and were captivated by breathtaking views. The garden was well maintained and so private and sheltered. Our experience was enhanced by the friendly and helpful staff Abby and Sara, who went out of their way to be welcoming and friendly. Excellent breaktfast with the best 'EGGS BENEDICT' ever!!!

Room Tip: Tibbets deluxe room great for couples and plenty space for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welsh16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here for one night as we had a wedding close by.We were given a room with fantastic views over the national trust. The service was excellent and good value for money. The room was very clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly. Breakfast was BRILL!!!!! could not fault it. Would definitely recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: highly recommend the "Rat Island" family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Had a fantastic time staying here with 2 friends and the dog who made herself very much at home in the bar with Tim who kept us entertained on the 2 nights we stayed....room was very clean, breakfasts were excellent. Great location to walk into woolacome or up the hill to Mortoe.....would definitely come back

Room Tip: We stayed in 'rat island' slept 3 comfortably and had sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1970shazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We spent four nights at Lundy House immediately after our wedding and it was just what we'd hoped for - a quiet location away from the town centre, with beautiful sea views up and down the coast (perfect for sunset watching), a friendly welcome, a comfortable room, and really good food.

Apparently every room has its own character. We were on the first floor and our room was smart and clean, with a nice bathroom, King-size bed and French windows opening out towards the sea. We sampled different items on the breakfast menu every morning and each one was well presented and delicious. The service was very good and the owner gave us recommendations for places to eat out nearby.

The hotel also features pretty terraced gardens - very private and well maintained - leading down the hill to the coast path. In a few minutes you can be out on the open headland at Morte Point, with great views back down to Woolacombe Beach. Mortehoe is just a short walk up the road as well - a picturesque village with three decent pubs for evening meals and a great take-away place, as well as small shops, a historic church and a Post Office counter. The Ship Aground had a particularly warm and cozy atmosphere and great food (despite a long wait).

Room Tip: We had Marisco and found it very quiet and comfortable, with a great view, big comfy bed, double bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LundyHouseOwner, Owner at Lundy House Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Maybe we'll see you again for your anniversary! Kind regards, Victoria and Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
0.2 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,736 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Fortescue Arms
The Fortescue Arms
#3 of 4 in Woolacombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Smugglers Rest
The Smugglers Rest
#2 of 5 in Mortehoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lundy House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lundy House Hotel

Property: Lundy House Hotel
Address: Chapel Hill | Mortehoe, Woolacombe, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Woolacombe
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lundy House Hotel is set directly on the North Devon coastline, with views across to Lundy Island and placed midway between the quaint old village of Mortehoe and the seaside resort of Woolacombe in North Devon.The Lundy House Hotel is a small family run Bed and Breakfast where we aim to give our guests a comfortable, relaxing and truly memorable holiday in idyllic surroundings.The Lundy House Big Breakfast has earned us quite a reputation, especially the porridge served with Devon clotted cream! Vegetarians are always catered for. No need to leave behind the family dog – Pets are most welcome. Only a small charge! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lundy House Hotel Woolacombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing