We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Idylic Holiday Location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woolacombe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Just returned having spent a week at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park and I can only say what an absolutely wonderful time we had. The site itself is in a fantastic location with wonderful views over the bay towards Lundy Island. The site is well set out, beautifully maintained and all done tastefully and to a high standard. All of the accommodation and facilities are also fitted out to a very high standard and the staff are all genuine, friendly and extremely helpful. Unlike many sites the shop there is well stocked and all the goods inside are well priced. We would have been happy to stay and relax on the site all week, but we would have then missed the great beach in Woolacombe, which must be one of the best in the UK (and only a 10 minute walk), the tranquil beauty of Lynton and Lynmouth and the lovely pubs and pub food at Mortehoe and Georgeham. We will definitely be returning to this site, as many of the people we met there already do and it is easy to see why. Although we went as a group of friends I have not been to a site that caters better for young families.

Room Tip: There are a choice of Chalets or Caravans, all accommodation is of an excellent standard so just go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (933)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

591 - 597 of 933 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2014

I visited Woolacobe Sands with my family and parents, aged from 2 years to 60 years and we all had such a brilliant holiday. We stayed in a Waney Edge Chalet which is about a 10 minute walk down a pretty rural footpath from the main holiday park. The weather was glorious, so we spent most days on Woolacombe Beach, but we did use the children's park, outdoor pool, shop and we visited the evening entertainment on one night.
Our chalet was lovely - clean, tidy and well equipped, and in an incredibly quiet and peaceful area. It was plenty big enough for 4 adults and one small child, and it had parking for 2 cars right outside.
I was struck by how clean and tidy the park itself was, everything was in good condition and I didn't see a single piece of rubbish on the floor all week. The staff were very friendly, and the bar and food were reasonably priced.
The evening entertainment is ok, although we did think it was way too loud on the sound system (Pirates Illusion, and I'm in my 20's not 70's!) - we couldn't even hear each other to ask for drinks on our table, and the sound for the Caberet act was louder than the Disco, so sit well away from the speakers!
We had hired a beach hut on Woolacombe Beach for the week, and seeing as the parking down in the beach car park is £6 a day (not unreasonable, but adds up when the weather was so nice!) so we were able to leave our things down there and walk from Woolacombe Sands down the footpath to the beach most days which was great. The walk down is beautiful and is worth doing even if it's only once.
I would highly recommend Woolacombe Sands as a great all round holiday park, the best we have ever visited, and we will definitely be to returning again next year. Thank you very much for such a great week.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMM1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a week and would definitely recommend staying here. The views are stunning we had an ocean view gold caravan it was definitely worth the extra money didn't feel crowded with 2 adults and two boisterous boys aged 4 and 2.
There is an indoor and outdoor pool and a lovely playground area very much caters for younger children.
Woolacombe beach is gorgeous and we had many trips down there so clean great for kids and lovely to paddle.
Only slight niggle was noise from club house at night but it stopped at 11pm and young children can't walk to the beach it's too far and hilly. This wouldn't stop us staying here again and we definitely would if we didn't prefer to visit different places every year.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vickyst123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Booked as a sun holiday and was fantastic value for money. We stayed in caravan 10 which was spotlessly clean with all the bits and pieces we could need. Staff were helpful and our caravan was ready to check in when we arrived even though we were early. Playground and swimming pools were fantastic my little girl loved them. Shop is good value and full of everything you could think of. Clubhouse was great, staff friendly and helpful. Food was good and reasonable prices. Wished we made it to the children's club but my little one went to sleep. Loved it hopefully come back again. Location was great for woolacombe but not far to drive to Croyde or ilfracombe. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chantel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We wanted to try Woolacombe out this year with our young family so had a look on Tripadvisor & see the fantastic reviews this site had so decided to give it a try. First of all we only paid £129 for 4 nights for a beautiful new, clean 6 berth caravan direct through the website!
On arrival check in was easy & all the staff were really polite. The site & our caravan were spotless the cleanest we have ever visited. We did have a minor problem with our cooker so rang reception & someone was round to fix it within 5 mins! Staff were always around the park cutting grass, planting cleaning etc..You really notice the difference that this is a family run site, not a chain such as Haven & Park resorts.It really well looked after.
It is the closest caravan site to the beach in Woolacombe, but you do still have to walk about 10 mins down through a country path to reach it. This was the only downside for us with 3 young children trying to carry all the body boards bags etc..although the views from the caravan/park made up for it!
The kids loved going to the clubhouse every night & meeting Wooly Bear & the entertainers. They were all fantastic with the kids! The site also has a small outdoor & indoor pool which was fine for a quick swim, although we spent most of our time at the huge sandy beach down in Woolacombe. It also has a lovely safe park area/football pitch for the children.
Overall I would recommend this park to all & keep up the good work Woolacome Sands!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shel_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

This was our first time at Woolacombe Sands took the wife for her birthday and it was just perfect,the bonus was avin the path which took you down to sea front of in our case just a cut through the alley to Captain Jacks,but the walk was good.
The stay was enjoyable the staff were great and the views from the caravan
were spot on and we'll be going back soon it was well worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank staffy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Just come back from a week staying here.

We have stayed here now on a few occasions, but his time as we were away with my elderly parents so we stayed in a caravan. (we normally camp)

We stayed in an Ocean View Gold (4-6 people) and opted to hire their bed linen. The cost of the caravan was exceptionally well priced and so was the bed linen hire.

Right from check in to checking out all the staff were helpful and polite and friendly.

The Caravan was new and in lovely condition. It was also super clean.

We did not use the facilities on site i.e the swimming pool etc...... However we did go into the site club on the evening for a few drinks. We did not stay for the entertainment as my folks are a bit past staying out after 9pm.

The site is in such a beautiful location, and where your are situated on the site you have the most amazing view.

All in all a lovely place to stay and we are coming back again in August.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bunchies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
0.6 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
861 reviews
3.9 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,835 reviews
1 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
9.4 mi away
Beachside Holiday Park
Beachside Holiday Park
#1 of 9 in Westward Ho
454 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sunnymeade Country House
Sunnymeade Country House
#8 of 20 in Woolacombe
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park

Address: Beach Road, Woolacombe EX34 7AF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Woolacombe
Price Range: $5 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park offers you everything you could wish for from a Self-Catering family holiday. Set in the beautiful rolling coastal countryside with spectacular views overlooking the sea and Woolacombe's fabulous golden sands - one of the few beaches to achieve both the Blue Flag and Premier Resort awards - it's fun for all the family & we are the closest holiday park to the beach! Enjoy our indoor & outdoor heated swimming pools, or club with daily & nightly live entertainment, crazy golf, new children's park, football & basketball pitch, footpath to the beach & much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park Hotel Woolacombe
Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing